Simple Droid car PC?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Simple Droid car PC?

So what if I only want Mp3 playback and GPS (and phone of course)? Can a Droid handle this? I'm a smart phone newb so I'm not sure thier capabilities. I read a couple threads where people have taken the audio out and jacked into thier amp. That works for me.

I've used my Droid for mp3 playback while my carpc was out of commission, to be honest it's way too small and there aren't really any car-friendly apps out there to make it worth using full time.
    "stop with the REINSTALLS, what do you think we got some lame-o installer!!!" - mitchjs
    RevFE
    My Shop

Comment

I'm with malcom on this one. It's not a fun device for a simple CarPC replacement. Navigating thru music on such a small screen while driving is sure to cause you some grief.
      Tidder

Try RevFE
      The best resurrected frontend I've ever used, period.

I Wish I could ban people

Comment

If you don't change music while driving it works ok (set a playlist before you go)...otherwise like everyone else said-you'll end up in a tree trying to change songs.
        openMobile - An open source C# Front End (why choose openMobile?)
        - Always Recruiting Developers -
        Like what you see? Donations are always welcome

Comment

Go for Archos 5 Android. It has 5 inch good screen and can be mounted. Come with SD 32 GB or HD 500 GB. Enoough for 90% of CarPC usage (GPS, DVB-T add-on, FM Radio, all video format, also HD, all music etc.)

Comment

It's not really the screen that's the issue. It's the interface itself. There aren't any good apps that are Car friendly to allow you to keep your attention on the road.
            Tidder

Try RevFE

Comment

There are now!
              The Nexus One has a bespoke car mode that gives you music phone and gps, plus for a (fairly extortionate) fee you can buy the google car dock.