What's your favorite distro?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's your favorite distro?

I know someone already asked what your favorite car distro is. I'm just curious to see what everyone uses for their desktop. I'm a Gentoo zealot

OS X on the desk, Debian for MythTV, Buildroot for the car.

http://buildroot.uclibc.org/

Comment

Gentoo here for Car PC and servers (I'm a UNIX admin in real life, support a large site).

My desktop(s) I run Mac OS X (Powerbook, G5, etc.).
      My stagnant project

Comment

I 2nd gentoo. If your lazy and want the goodness of gentoo without the learning curve, go with vidalinux.
        Current projects: iGmod reloaded (Latest release) (put on hiatus indefinatly)

Unlimited Internet and gps tracking for $6 a month with boost mobile!

Carputer 2: www.lmaocar.com

Comment

running Ubuntu on my laptop and i love it. Not as many configuration options as others but the defaults work fine.
          System: AMD Duron 1200+ , 512 MB ram , usb sb mp3+ , Tview 7" touchscreen , M1-ATX PSU , Slot Load iMac DVD-Rom , 40 GB laptop HDD, netgear USB 802.11g

Progress: Installation: 90% Dash fabrication: 80%

Parts Needed: USB GPS

Comment

Using SuSE on the desktop and laptops. Although I'm using a stripped-down and modified SuSE 9.3 in the car, I would recommend Gentoo or other if I had it to do all over again.
            Silverwolf 2 is dead.
            Silverwolf 3...?

Comment

Ok, let's see...

Home:
              Debian testing for my desktop with a Windows XP VM for those apps like Quicken that I really need Windows for.

Work:
              Debian testing for my dev box, Windows for Outlook and Win32 compiling. RedHat Enterprise 4 64-bit for 64-bit tesing and as a fast build machine. Debian unstable in a VM for development/testing, OS X x86 in a VM for fun, Ubuntu in a VM for evaluation as my work dev box.

VM = virtual machine
              My worklog.