Starting Front End From Scratch

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting Front End From Scratch

I'm very new to the linux system but I understand how the file system works and other absolute basics. I've decided that I'm going to program a complete front end from scratch as a project for myself. Don't worry - I have lots of time on my hands to complete it.

What I'm having major difficulties in understanding at the moment is how to go about making the front end GUI. I will/have been learning C at uni so i know enopugh of that to write a "hello world" script at the moment. Preferrebly would like to program in C as its more familiar to me than other things like perl and python. Is it possible to make a frontend GUI without running a nix desktop program like GNOME or X or whatever its called.

What suggestions for distro and language do you have??? Any links to places that can help me decide for myself? No information i've come across makes sense to a newbie like myself.

I basically want the front end to just be able to play mp3's and have a media library - no movie playback - no GPS etc etc - although i'd like to possibly update it late with power window controls etc etc

Any help is greatly appreciated

Spuzzdawg

Good luck man - sounds like you're going to have a ton or learning and growing to do as a programmer. I've done a super small amount of programming in Linux, so I can't offer any suggestions.

I just wanted to wish you well - and can't wait to see some results.
    www.mobile-effects.com

Free file hosting, picture gallery hosting for installs, PM me.

Internet's first Front End Skin browser, featured installs, downloads, links, informative articles - all free to registered users.

Comment

Check out DirectFB (www.directfb.org) for GUI without X. It is a C API, so that will fit right in with your desired language.

--m

Comment