DSL Linux ... Whoooa

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DSL Linux ... Whoooa

I have just been playing around with Damn Small Linux (DSL).
    It can either be run from a live CD (40mb business card even) or installed as a live system, or full system.
    It needs very little memory and it is VERY VERY FAST.
    I booted using the live CD with the "toram" function ( copies everything to ram) and it just smoked.
    I also have been using Suse 10 which is very bloated, and either Slax/Slampp/Slackware on an old 233mhz MMX for a server.
    I'll probably switch the server to run DSL.

I would recommend to everyone to check it out. You can run everything off the CD or Memory without disturbing your main system.

Don

Any links?? Sounds interesting

**Edit - scrub that - googled **

Comment

http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/

They also sell CarPC parts and hardware on the site.

Comment

ill second u on dsl im new to linux and ive been struggling with it however dsl seems simple even to me, i just did a frugal install to the hdd (like making the hdd the cd) this is perfect for use with cf cards or usb keys and the software is solid, theres also a full on support forum, Its so good iv replaced my suse 10 install with it 2.2b is the latest just get the iso image n burn that to cd. all installs can be done from the cd.

Comment

well i just crossed over the line to linux -- using suse10 i dl it a while back but never did anything till tonight --- rinning on a epia 800 with 640ram had some problems with windows loading so i said what the heck ill try this --- seems cool but im sure it will take a little time