Just bought a Mac Mini

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just bought a Mac Mini

I just ordered a refurb MacMini from Apple. I plan to initially run Boot Camp with XP until a comprehensive frontend is available for Mac.

My needs for a carPC are:

1) GPS (will probably use MS Streets & Trips 2007 since I already have a copy)
    2) Music (I have a great stereo so I will feeding all audio via RCA input to HU)
    3) DVD watching for passengers
    4) Onboard diagnosis
    5) Internet browsing for passengers (want to use my Sprint phone as modem with pdaNet)

I think everything should be straight forward with XP as the OS and RR as the frontend. Are there things I should be aware of or anything that looks like it will be a problem? I have buil many PCs and did all the audio install in my truck, but I am still new to the carPC world.

I am really looking forward to a good FE for Mac so I can realize the full benefits of the Mac Mini. BTW, I got it for $429 from Apple.

Just a little FYI, better douoble check your state and local laws about dvd in you vehicle...most states that the screen has to be behind the drivers field of view, or require the vehicle to be in park with the emergency brake applied...tickets are best to be avoided....
    Status of Mini Install: Ordering parts and working on docking station.

Comment

meaning you'll have to turn your monitor off, or have a dual screen setup...

2006 Mazda 3
      Behringer DCX-2496
      JL300/4 Focal 6W4311B Focal TN52
      JL500/1 JL10w6v2

Comment

Not a problem. I already have two DVD players in the back seat of my truck. The carPC screen would rarely be used for movie watching, and then only by the front passenger. Maybe I will make a mount that swivels.

Comment