Flame the n00b - GPS Receivers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flame the n00b - GPS Receivers

Okay, I've purchased a Mac Mini and it will be here this week. Up until now, I've been using a Via Epia-M10000 and I'm pretty comfortable with all the things you have to do with it.

The Mac, OTOH, at least for the car, I'm not. I can figure out the install and the software no problem. I'll figure out the GPS software by using VPC or Route 66. But the GPS RECEIVER, I've got no knowledge of.

Right now I've got a Royaltek Sapphire that I really like. USB cable with a USB to serial driver that routes the NMEA over to a Com port. No Mac drivers, as far as I can tell.

What receivers are folks using for their Mini? Is there a solution that would let me use my Royaltek or will I have to buy a new receiver.

Feel free to flame me. God know I've done it to other n00bs.

Sign me - excited to do the OSX shuffle in my V-dub.
    Originally posted by ghettocruzer
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

just get any usb gps receiver ... you should be able to just "plug it in and .... it works!"

right???? RIGHT???

sorry ... i'm bitter
    My JeepPC Install

"there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."

"it's been agreed the whole world stinks so no one's taking showers anymore"

Comment

Oh man, I'll try that and I hope like hell it works. That would be a banner-Mac day, wouldn't it! :-P
      I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
      Want to:

Comment

My money is on it working out of the box.
        Carputer status: [-*---------]