Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I wardrive?

Hi,

I've a Mac mini in car and a D-link Wifi adapter, how do i go about wardriving? Is there software for use with adapters? I'm a novice at this so need some pointers.

Thanks

Nick

Just download AMP, it's got it built in.. and is available from this forum.... Also not sure about the d-link, but you should have an internal wi fi card inside your mac mini.

Comment

Here ya go. Everything you ever wanted to know. Jeff's a good guy.

http://www.wardrive.net/wardriving/faq
      Failure is not an option....

It's installed by default on every version of Windows.

Comment

I've used both MacStumbler and Kismac. Kismac is more powerful, but MacStumbler works quite well, too.

Either way, you load them up and start getting audio notifications when you drive by an access point. One sound for encrypted, another sound for open access.

Kismac has a nice feature that passively listens for access points. This allows it to detect access points where people haven't named them and thus they don't usually show up in a scan. Also, your computer isn't registered as querying the access point. It's basically stealth mode. I discovered two other points near my house that I didn't know about previously when I used it.

Kismac also has some nice graphing features that show signal levels and such. It also lets you import a map and geo-reference it, then it records all of the access points on that map. If you want to map out a particular area, it's worth it.
        Originally posted by ghettocruzer
        I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
        Want to:
        -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
        -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment

Hey,