0-60 time, 1/4 mile and such -meter on your carPC

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 0-60 time, 1/4 mile and such -meter on your carPC

ok, did a little search, didn't find anything useful, so decided to post here:
    there seems to be a lot of software for carpc for different purposes (GPS , ME, etc.) except one (at least i couldn't find any).
    Why not write software that would take readings from OBD/OBD2 (using www.obd2.com's soft for example) and give you your 0-60 time, 1/4 and such? I'm pretty sure it's possible, just record the time when you started going, then when you reach 60 mph and so on.
    So what do you guys think about it? Does this kind of software exist? If not, why not write one? Since I'm only beginning to program im not much of a help, but the effort and the idea is what counts, right?
    Current Status: For Sale

Specs
    - 1.5Ghz Toshiba Laptop (available - no screen)
    - Indash Motorized 7" VGA TS
    - DeLorme GPS (sold)
    - Power Inverter (sold)
    - Pioneer HU (sold)

obd-ii update rate is about once a second. Your performance time will most likely be inaccurate.
    NEW complete and updated My project with 100+ pics on 7-4-03
    If you have a Shuttle FV24 motherboard in perfect working condition for sale, please PM me.

Comment

Well, if it updates once per second and then interpolated between them, I'm sure it could be accurate enough for showing to your friend in the passenger seat.

I think the problem is that not many of us are connected to the ODB-II's, so you may want to try learning to program that stuff yourself

Comment

sorry dude, im not a programmer
        NEW complete and updated My project with 100+ pics on 7-4-03
        If you have a Shuttle FV24 motherboard in perfect working condition for sale, please PM me.

Comment