ALEXIS is on hold!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ALEXIS is on hold!!

SASAMI (my primary development system) has suffered a catastrophic drive failure, which took ALL of my ALEXIS source code with it. The images and compiled program are still intact on the ALEXIS core (big whoop), but everything, and I mean EVERYTHING that meant anything to me for development, as well as a good deal of other stuff, is straight up GONE.

I'm in tears over this, since almost 80gb of data have been lost. I have learned a couple valuable lessons today. The first is that you should ALWAYS back up something important to you, no matter what the cost of the media. I will be purchasing an external shell for the new drive when the replacement comes (it's still under warranty) for backup purposes. The second is that DVD burners don't look quite so expensive when seen in light of something this disastrous. I have been an expert Windows user for years, and have never experienced a spontaneous drive failure until now. The experience has made me a true believer in the concept of having a room lined with CD shelves for backups.

So, as it is, until and unless I can get this drive recovered somehow, ALEXIS is shot right to hell in a handbasket. Trust me, I am willing to pay a couple hundred to recover anything I can so I can restart development, but until that can happen, I am out of the loop. I suppose I could start again from scratch, but oh my God, the thought boggles my mind. You kind folks have already contributed enough to my coding efforts that to attempt to recreate it would be very difficult indeed, especially in light of the fact that a few of the controls I relied upon to make things look sweet are no longer available.