Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• custom linux HELP

hi there not sure if this is the best place to start asking but here goes:
    i am after setting up my mp3 player using a linux based operating system.
    the catch is : I DONT want to use a freely available distribution ( i clearly like causing myself pain and hastle) i want to make my own, more compact operating system so that i can run it HAPPILY off a TINY storage medium such as compact flash. now i have done a number of searches on this but i cant find out much at all and i was wonderign if any of u chaps ( and chapesses- i presume we must have at least one arround) can help me out here?
    basically i want it to boot and run an mp3 player ( only music but other types such as ogg would be handy too) be as small as possible and not be INCREDABLY difficult to get to terms with to build
    i have SOME limited linux experience ( i had gentoo installed on mp pc for a while) but i got highly frustrated with it cos i didnt have the time to learn to use it properly so the pc got XP :$ but i figuire if i built it myself i will know how it works myself

( a bit like how i started to build an electric guitar to learn how that worked and half re-built a car to find how THAT worked -- i must be mad :$)

cheers ppl

POD
    amd k6-2 450
    64 meg ram
    5 gig hdd
    all in an old bit of metal
    all for under 20

and now a 500watt inverter for 20
    thats 40 in total
    not too bad for a noob

look into "linux from scratch" I've made a 20 meg linux distro to boot and play mp3s
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

Comment

Or, you could volunteer to assist someone already working on something simlar.

http://amacdys.sourceforge.net/amacdys.html

Comment