What programming language?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What programming language?

Hi everyone. I've been a programmer for a few years, as a hobby. I mostly do PERL, and I'm pretty good with it. I'm not too good with OOP. I've learned some C++ in school. I learned some C++ out of school. I am proficient with C++, even though I use my book when programming with it. Also, anything I've needed to do in C++, I can do in Perl twice as fast, so I don't have alot of practice with it.

So my question is: What language should I learn? I want one that is robust enough to do low-level programming (IE parallel port), and still have easy to use GUI. I heard VB is good, but I've also heard it's like selling your sould to bill gates. :-/

Any thoughts?

Awesome VB replacement: Delphi. No need to use MS products
    And yes, you can do parallel port programming, and ASM code if you want. Also a great interface IMO

Delphi is basically object pascal

What I don't like about it: for every delphi example, there are like 20x VB examples
    PowerVoice v1 | NaviVoice Source
    GammaControl v2.4
    SKINbedder v3

1995 Lexus SC300

Comment

Personally, I would say stick with C++. Sounds like you've already got your foot in the door, and it will complement your PERL knowledge nicely (as their problem domains don't overlap all that much). C/C++ is in extremely widespread use, so even if you don't consider it your 'language of choice' it is a good one to know, and it will handle any low-level task you ever want to do with it.

That said, for GUIs it's only as good as the library you use (and most are pretty clunky). .NET (managed C++) does it pretty well (for Windows, of course), but then you're back to selling your soul to gates .

That's my $0.02 anyway. I'm sure others will differ.

Comment

Originally posted by mushin