Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Opinions: Best Soundcard (considering our application)?

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    242

    Post Opinions: Best Soundcard (considering our application)?

    Yep, I'm looking for opinions on the best PCI s/c. Something with good signal/noise ratio and freq response. Thanks.
    P4 2.4GHz, Intel mobo w/onboard sound & video, 128MB memory, 100GB Seagate Momentus laptop drive, Xenarc 700TSV 7" touchscreen, IRman using Girder, 150W Opus dc/dc psu, Alpine CDA-9835 h/u, MBQuart speakers, Infinity 15" sub, MTX amps.

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Charleston, WV USA
    Posts
    3

    Cool

    Well if you want to buy a digital decoder go with the SoundBlaster live, if not you can always turn the digital off, but you would be surprised how many sound cards sound good even cheap one

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    242

    Post

    I was just BSing with some techno freinds of mine and I think we all pretty much agreed that in a vehicular operation like what we're all doing here, a SB16 will be quite sufficient. Anything more than that is just plain overkill.
    P4 2.4GHz, Intel mobo w/onboard sound & video, 128MB memory, 100GB Seagate Momentus laptop drive, Xenarc 700TSV 7" touchscreen, IRman using Girder, 150W Opus dc/dc psu, Alpine CDA-9835 h/u, MBQuart speakers, Infinity 15" sub, MTX amps.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Charleston, WV USA
    Posts
    3

    Post

    i do agree

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    142

    Unhappy

    if you do as much miles on bumpy roads w/ as stiff suspension as i do u notice the jack socket on the sound card comes lose, thats why im opting for rca out on my next sound card when i can afford.

    Long term RCA is ognna be the best option
    John McLear - [email protected]
    http://www.205oc.co.uk
    UK Mp3car slapnut
    #mp3car - Efnet
    Carplayer and Mediaengine *****
    spank gemma.co.uk for holding my motherboard for so long. still no board, wood work nearly done :|
    [-----------(90%)----] Completed :)
    pics at: http://www.zcentric.com/~mitcht/gall...me=Convertable

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    242

    Post

    Actually, I -plan- on, if there's not too much crap around the jack housing, removing the jack housing and soldering the one end of the audio cable to the board. The other end will plug into the aux-in or RCA in, depending which new h/u I get. My Alpine 7521's display bit the dust a while a few months ago and now the button are sticking. Time to retire the old thing. I've had it for around 6-7 years without ONE problem except the two I just named. I'd like to get another Alpine but they don't make them with aux/rca in's in the back of the unit.
    P4 2.4GHz, Intel mobo w/onboard sound & video, 128MB memory, 100GB Seagate Momentus laptop drive, Xenarc 700TSV 7" touchscreen, IRman using Girder, 150W Opus dc/dc psu, Alpine CDA-9835 h/u, MBQuart speakers, Infinity 15" sub, MTX amps.

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    The Soundblaster AWE64 Gold has RCA outs on it and it eliminated the need for a noise filter in my application. I suppose quaility does matter.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  8. #8
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Saint Peter, Mn
    Posts
    90

    Post

    I'm using MAudio Audiophile 24/96. It has RCA/Digital In/Out...and no, it's not overkill..well for me anyway. I suppose the SB Live would work too. I use them in my other computers.

  9. #9
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC, United States
    Posts
    136

    Post

    The only think a SB16 wont do is voice. It can't "hear" a microphone and play music at the same time.
    Got started with computers on this board early in high school...now I run a web development company and am about to build my dream machine.

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    242

    Post

    Even with soundproofing your car, I don't think you'd hear the difference flying down the road between a SB16 and the high end cards. If you were playing games and had a quad or more setup then obviously the SB16 can't do that.
    P4 2.4GHz, Intel mobo w/onboard sound & video, 128MB memory, 100GB Seagate Momentus laptop drive, Xenarc 700TSV 7" touchscreen, IRman using Girder, 150W Opus dc/dc psu, Alpine CDA-9835 h/u, MBQuart speakers, Infinity 15" sub, MTX amps.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •