View Poll Results: Which OS should i use?

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • Meego

    2 16.67%
  • Android

    4 33.33%
  • Ubuntu

    6 50.00%
  • Debian

    0 0%
  • Other (specify in post)

    0 0%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Choose my OS for the IGEPv2 review!

  1. #1
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,151
    Blog Entries
    51

    Choose my OS for the IGEPv2 review!

    Thanks to the people at mp3Car, I've been given the chance to do a product review for the IGEPv2 board. As some of you know, the IGEPv2 is pretty flexible and can run a variety of OS's. Simply put, I've been struggling to choose which one i should do the review with! So I turn to you guys... help me out and answer the poll.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  2. #2
    Admin. Linux loser.
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Bugbyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    7,364
    Blog Entries
    2
    W00t! Glad to see you with a igep!!! I vote for Ubuntu because it ought to allow you to run Open Mobile on it.

    Meego is not far enough along to be interesting beyond novelty.

    Also, I hope you know more about Linux than I do. Getting Poky linux off of that thing and putting Ubuntu on it was incredibly, unbelievably difficult for me. Upgrading it from 9.04 to 10 was actually impossible for me. Info on that odyssey is here.
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettocruzer View Post
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

  3. #3
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,151
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Bugbyte View Post
    W00t! Glad to see you with a igep!!! I vote for Ubuntu because it ought to allow you to run Open Mobile on it.

    Meego is not far enough along to be interesting beyond novelty.

    Also, I hope you know more about Linux than I do. Getting Poky linux off of that thing and putting Ubuntu on it was incredibly, unbelievably difficult for me. Info on that process is here.
    My linux knowledge is all from the old original Xbox and hacking it to run Gentoo ages ago.. and yes i'm pretty sure either way i go here its gonna be quite the challenge to get it running. It doesnt help that my host PC doesnt have working network drivers for ubuntu. But i'll manage it and make it through! My sacrifice to you guys! lol

    Thanks for the resource too.. i looked on the message board first but didnt find those posts.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate nasa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    721
    Seems like some efforts to place Ubuntu on the BeagleBoard already exist...


    http://elinux.org/BeagleBoardUbuntu

    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ARM/OMAPMaverickInstall

  5. #5
    licensed to kill - FKA kev000
    Auto Apps:loading...
    tripzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    16.40618, 120.61106
    Posts
    2,560
    I vote meego (handset ux). I haven't bothered with the IVI version yet because as Bugbyte said, it's not far enough along to do much with it.

    Whatever your choice, I'll be more than happy to offer my services as I've gotten both meego and ubuntu running. I've got a working kernel and I can build you some images of some distros if you need em.
    Former author of LinuxICE, nghost, nobdy.
    Current author of Automotive Message Broker (AMB).
    Works on Tizen IVI. Does not represent anyone or anything but himself.

  6. #6
    Raw Wave
    Auto Apps:loading...
    justchat_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, Ma or NY,NY
    Posts
    2,359
    +1 for ubuntu....you know my thoughts on meego.

    Quote Originally Posted by tripzero View Post
    I vote meego (handset ux). I haven't bothered with the IVI version yet because as Bugbyte said, it's not far enough along to do much with it.

    Whatever your choice, I'll be more than happy to offer my services as I've gotten both meego and ubuntu running. I've got a working kernel and I can build you some images of some distros if you need em.
    Any chance you'll consider doing a custom distro? something carPC optimized perhaps?

    edit:
    Ubuntu already offers:
    http://labs.igep.es/index.php/How_to...ick_Meerkat.29

  7. #7
    Admin. Linux loser.
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Bugbyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    7,364
    Blog Entries
    2
    Trip - if you do that, let's put it on the app store or something so everyone can get it.
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettocruzer View Post
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate DaveDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenacres, WA
    Posts
    606
    so why not a review based on multiple OS's? Seems like there is some division out there about how the future looks (except that Windows offers the most functionality) so maybe a review could show the weaknesses of some of the Os's (except of course windows).
    TruckPC - gutted, being used for test setup
    BoatPC - All in 1 in cuddy, N7 using VNC on dash, RR
    BlazerPC - Nexus 7 with Timur's USBROM

  9. #9
    Raw Wave
    Auto Apps:loading...
    justchat_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, Ma or NY,NY
    Posts
    2,359
    No one would be using pure debian on here so it comes down to meego, ubuntu or android. I think everyone knows what android can do, everyone knows meego isn't yet functional and anyone who knows linux has played with ubuntu. The better test would be showing how to install any os (pretty much the same procedure) and demonstrating what the board is capable of. Also, any driver issues or additional packages needed. After that we can see if anyone wants the same for android or meego (when its more feature complete).

  10. #10
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,151
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by justchat_1 View Post
    +1 for ubuntu....you know my thoughts on meego.

    Any chance you'll consider doing a custom distro? something carPC optimized perhaps?

    edit:
    Ubuntu already offers:
    http://labs.igep.es/index.php/How_to...ick_Meerkat.29
    Ok the time on the poll has run its course and i have started the process of installing ubuntu. I actually used this exact guide last night, got down to the last and seemingly easiest step (copy boot.scr to boot.ini) but i cant find a boot.scr anywhere on the system. Not in the rootfs or bootfs partitions, hell not even in the system folders. Each prior step worked flawlessly so what am i doing wrong?

    The only other portion of that guide that confuses me is it references a rootfs partition without it actually telling me i needed to set one up on the SD card prior to doing starting the install. I did create 2 partitions on my 8GB SD. Both are EXT4's.

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveDog View Post
    so why not a review based on multiple OS's? Seems like there is some division out there about how the future looks (except that Windows offers the most functionality) so maybe a review could show the weaknesses of some of the Os's (except of course windows).
    Because the review is based on the hardware and would become entirely too long if I tried to compare OS options within it. Maybe in the Blog Talk page that follows i can go into depths but the review will format will be the igep's potential as a car PC or secondary (specific use) support PC.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Review: Windows Vista as an OS choice?
    By Splash-X in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-24-2006, 11:58 AM
  2. The Os and The Car
    By SjLucky in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-24-2004, 02:09 PM
  3. A few observations in OS and why I'm now using Windows 2003...
    By Mastiff in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-21-2004, 09:11 AM
  4. my opinion as Linux as an OS for carputing
    By churnopol in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-05-2003, 12:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •