Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: P4 Mini-ITX review...

  1. #1
    Raw Wave Defiler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Temple Terrace, Fl.
    Posts
    2,647

    P4 Mini-ITX review...

    Well, someone finally did one. Here it is...

    http://www.silentpcreview.com/module...tid=111&page=1
    Aura MR62 (F and R)
    My Current MP3s
    IamDefiler.com

  2. #2
    Low Bitrate shadowlessman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by Defiler
    Well, someone finally did one. Here it is...

    http://www.silentpcreview.com/module...tid=111&page=1
    Notice the updated info on the Lippert board too.

    Thanks for the link - a definate must read.
    "Buckethead's this guy that was raised in a chicken coop and without the bucket on his head, he's helpless"

    - "Really? Oh my god..."

  3. #3
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803
    The combination of very small size but rather high heat and high computing power but low video power puts the Commell LV-670 Mini-ITX boards in a very small niche.

    I would not run it just based off of that. I'd stick to a via
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by hijinks21
    The combination of very small size but rather high heat and high computing power but low video power puts the Commell LV-670 Mini-ITX boards in a very small niche.

    I would not run it just based off of that. I'd stick to a via
    Still waiting for these to be released with either an AGP slot, or some sort of Geforce* go. These onboard video cards never really want to run 800x480...

    Quincy

  5. #5
    Raw Wave Defiler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Temple Terrace, Fl.
    Posts
    2,647
    Quote Originally Posted by shadowlessman
    Notice the updated info on the Lippert board too.

    Thanks for the link - a definate must read.
    Very true...http://www.lippert-at.com/miniitx.html
    Aura MR62 (F and R)
    My Current MP3s
    IamDefiler.com

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37
    I have the LV-670M Mini-ITX in my truck computer with the PW-70A for the power and the P4M 2.4 CPU. It works great.

  7. #7
    Constant Bitrate psyclobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    202
    What kind of case is it in? Hows the heat?

    -Jason

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37
    The case is extruded aluminum. I can't check the while in the OS because the board manufacturer doesn't supply such a program. The CPU I am using is the P4M 2.4 with a Thermal Guideline of 35.0W.. I am going to be removing the computer for my truck for some mods and then I'll have some pictures. I have restarted the PC to go to the bios, everything seems fine.

  9. #9
    Newbie b5b4you2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    San Jose CA
    Posts
    14
    ok ok, now how do i get this to work???

    from linked article:
    "This shot above clear shows the low height of the cooler. The LVDS TFT LCD Interface is also clearly visible in the forefront. Note too, the springs employed to achieve even pressure all around the physical heatsink / CPU interface. "

    do i need to investigate this? lol

    cool article though

  10. #10
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    485
    Great article, thanks..

    The more i read, the more i want to get something but VIA, a p4 sounds damn nice too. The only problem is the noise tradeoff. The last thing i want to hear in my car when im driving, is a droning noise of a damned cpu fan! =>

    On that noe... lars:

    How far is the case located from you and can you hear the fans?
    ----------------------
    VIA Epia II
    256MB 266DDR Ram
    90GB Wester Digital
    Bluetooth/Deluo GPS
    Lilliput 7" Touchscreen
    ----------------------
    Mazda 6 Carputter > Click Me!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •