Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: MII-12000 opinions wanted

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    153

    MII-12000 opinions wanted

    Is anyone running the MII-12000 yet? If so, what case/powersupply are you running? Are there any reasons not to go with this board?

    http://www.mini-itx.com/store/default.asp?c=2#p1614

    Which are some of the better US based online mini-itx stores? Thanks

  2. #2
    Constant Bitrate chewiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    128

    Cases

    Just make sure you don't get the C134 case, as I did... it does not fit in it, unless u remove the PCMCIA daughterboard!

    I believe there is a c136 case... but you'll have to google it!

    Mine has been running in the house fine for that last few months... could do with a monitor and a psu to get it in the car, but I have already bloated the hd with 20gb of mp3s.

    I've been looking at upgrading the hd... 60gb looks to be the best size atm.

    hth

    Chewiee

    VW Mk2 Golf GTI 16V:
    Kenwood KDC-W6527 HU
    Silver Travla C134, Slot Loading DVD/CDRW,
    256MB, VIA Epia MII 12000, Carnetix 60W, Xenarc VGA/Composite TS and a GPS Mouse

  3. #3
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    165
    I have an MII10000 and love it. Having the PCMCIA slot is great for a wi-fi card.

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate Curly_cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ipswich, UK
    Posts
    310
    I'm currently using the MII-12000 in a Cubid 3688 Case and the Carnetix CN-P1260.

    It works great.

    : Jetway J7F2 1.5Ghz Mainboard : Cubid 3688 : CarNetix CNX-P1260 :
    : Netgear 802.11g PCMCIA : 2 x LinITX 7" Screens :
    : BU353 USB GPS Mouse : Panasonic UJ845 DVDRW :

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    153
    Is this the only board with a 1.2ghz cpu? I am not interested in the pcmcia slot (it takes up space, and forces Via to cheapen out on other components such as the nic), I just want to future proof my system a little, so I was hoping to get the MII12000 performance.

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate jpelzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    173
    Based on this epiacenter review, I ended up going with the MII-10000 rather than the MII-12000... Strangely, even with the higher-clocked processor, the 12k actually finished behind in many of the benchmarks. Of course, for some others, it's faster. It's a good read, and it was the only good benchmark against a regular Intel chip that I found:

    http://www.epiacenter.com/modules.ph...howpage&pid=41
    Bush: Proof that humans really did evolve from apes.

  7. #7
    FLAC Spaghetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Spagcave, in da UK Today's phrase: J'aime Alizee
    Posts
    1,716
    IS pcmcia the same as 'cardbus' then?

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    153
    cardbus is the 32bit version of the PCMCIA slots (most new laptops come with them), they are also backward compatible I believe, but someone correct me if I am wrong.

  9. #9
    FLAC Spaghetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Spagcave, in da UK Today's phrase: J'aime Alizee
    Posts
    1,716
    I was just wondering since Vodafone now do a gprs/3G pcmciadata card. Could be quite useful for that

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate choyak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Buena Park, CA
    Posts
    326
    I happen to have the MII12000 and a C134 case, and everything does fit in there eventually after dremeling the port panel because alot of the ports do not fit. Also had to relocate the laptop HDD and drill a hole for the fan relocation. The C134 is made for the M10000 I think
    Carputer currently 'ghettoed' into car!!!

    EPIA MII-12000
    Ampie Case with rigged extra USB
    Hitachi 60GB
    Holux GPS mouse with iGuidance 2.0
    Lilliput 7" touchscreen
    Netgear WG121 USB WiFi
    Carnetix P1260

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VIA Epia MII 12000 Nehemiah Mainboard
    By RobIles in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 08:04 AM
  2. epia MII 12000 shipping problems?
    By theheel in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-01-2004, 08:13 PM
  3. Opinions Wanted Which Monotor to get ?
    By belezeebub in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-01-2004, 02:58 PM
  4. "Ultrabright" opinions wanted...
    By Lag117 in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2003, 07:02 PM
  5. 2nd opinion(s) wanted
    By sablewagon in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2001, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •