Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Opinions

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    42

    Opinions

    First off I would like to say Hello. I'm new to the forum; the name is Joey. I've never installed a PC into a car before, yet I'm not new to Computers by a long shot. I've been working on them since i was 10 years old (13 years now).

    My first question for you all is this... Does anyone here see any reason whatsoever in having a carputer faster than 500 Mhz? From what I have read in the forums, DVDs, MP3's GPS, WebCams, XM, Radio, etc. are the main uses everyone exploits, and a decent 500 Mhz machine is plenty good enough to run those apps. Unless I'm missing somthing, anything more than that would seem a little like overkill.

    -Joey

  2. #2
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,173
    Blog Entries
    53
    dvd+gps running thru a front end with basic support apps are gonna run a 500mhz to death

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    42

    eh

    yeah true, however GPS won't be included with my system... no need for it really. just your basics with 16bit console Emu's.

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate stapan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    129
    welcome. how much processor you need depends on what you're planning to do with the system and how long you're going to keep it. the main advantages of a faster system are boot up time, multitasking, and flexibility.

    for the first two.. if you're just going for basics, with no real multitasking, 500mhz should be more than enough. however I dont know anything of 16 bit emulators so you might want to check recommended system specs for those. you'll either have to live with a long boot up time or go through some serious measures to make it shorter. people have had great success with lightened versions of linux and win 98 on systems slower than 500 mhz.

    for flexibility I prefer having a faster pc because this is one of those projects you never know where you'll end up with it. what if you want gps in the future? what if someone comes out with a cheap way to control your doors, windows, air conditioning etc from the pc? or a pc-based alarm system? or something none of us have even thought of yet? what if you want to run something usb 2.0 based and your pc doesnt support it? ask your self these questions and plan ahead to avoid regrets down the road.

    lastly you should check the power consumption to make sure its not a power hog and that your power setup can handle it. you sound pretty mature for a 13 year old, good luck to you.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    42

    Question 13?

    lol.. I've been working on PCs for 13 years... i'm not 13... I'm 23 :-p

    As far as the 16 bit emus go, I've had no problems running SNES, NES, and Gameboy Emus on a P233 system.

    For now, I'm just going for the basics as cheap as I can. I can always stick in a new MOBO and Processor later. I'm currently a full time student so cash flow is a little tight.

    Windows 98 installed with minimal components and a front end won't take long to boot at all. I've already tested it, just needing the parts to make the custom case and the LCD before I'm ready to install it.

  6. #6
    FLAC SnyperBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,162
    Quote Originally Posted by j03y
    My first question for you all is this... Does anyone here see any reason whatsoever in having a carputer faster than 500 Mhz? From what I have read in the forums, DVDs, MP3's GPS, WebCams, XM, Radio, etc. are the main uses everyone exploits, and a decent 500 Mhz machine is plenty good enough to run those apps.

    -Joey
    Hey man, welcome to the forums. Preceeding the following I must say that I'm a little tipsy. Had to work 3rd shift on New Years, off tonight and celebrating. Anyway, 500 MHz is too slow for today's demands.

    Everything you listed above is pretty much the norm today, but no, a 500 MHz machine can't really handle what you listed. If you don't believe me try it out and see for yourself. My first carputer was a 400 MHz eMachine and it barely made the cut. That was over three years ago, back when Cobra was the front end of choice.

    Most of the newer versions of front ends are bloated, use .NET, flash, etc... and can't run very well on a 500 MHz machine. Add in everything that you want to run in the backround (like GPS, port splitters, etc, ) and you are pretty much tapped out. What operating system are you planning on running? Typically, as you should know, if you are running a 500 MHz machine, the other hardware on the mobo is slower. Ram is a major issue. Slower ram and you can really tell when you are trying to watch a movie/DVD and track GPS in the background.

    There's nothing against a 500MHz machine, but once you get it configured with all the modern day software, you will see why the Epia 800 MHz is the are minimum these days for a system. I suppose if you just ran Winamp and ran everything from explorer or my computer, that would work. But once your old *** machine starts taking dumps from heavy shocks in the car, you'll want an upgrade. This happened to me with my 400 MHz with brand new hard drive.

    Ah, just looked and saw you talking about Windows 98. Sweet. Like you said, you'll be throwing in a new mobo and processor in the near future so I'd say just try out the 500 MHz with Win98.

    Please take above with a grain of salt, lotsa jack and coke. Good luck on your system and you can check out my original one at mobile-effects.oom.
    I'm the Ford Aspire listed in the image gallery under Mobile Effects Installations

    Hapy New Yea.r
    www.mobile-effects.com

    Free file hosting, picture gallery hosting for installs, PM me.

    Internet's first Front End Skin browser, featured installs, downloads, links, informative articles - all free to registered users.

  7. #7
    The Last Good Gremlin GizmoQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    St Louis
    Posts
    2,348
    Quote Originally Posted by j03y
    My first question for you all is this... Does anyone here see any reason whatsoever in having a carputer faster than 500 Mhz? From what I have read in the forums, DVDs, MP3's GPS, WebCams, XM, Radio, etc. are the main uses everyone exploits, and a decent 500 Mhz machine is plenty good enough to run those apps. Unless I'm missing somthing, anything more than that would seem a little like overkill.

    -Joey
    I do all that and more.

    And yes, sometimes things slow down a bit but this hobby is all about tradeoffs. I run full blown XP Pro, have only (2) USB 1.1 ports with (7) devices connected, PCMCIA, mic in, stereo out.

    I CHOSE to go with this for the last 6 years cause I want to configure 1 computer and use it in 3 different cars. Works great for me. And until the TabletPC manufacturers quit kissing Bill Gates *** and start making passive touchscreens again, I'll probably keep this for another 5 years or until I see something on this forum that I just can't live without that won't work with my current system.

    Sonicxtacy02 dvd+gps running thru a front end works just fine for me, but I had to tweak my system considerably to acheive it. No I don't run my webcam 24/7 but on occasion I have run it for the three hour trip to Kansas City with Music videos playing through Winamp, GPS, WhereIsMyGPS, and internet (watching my progress online using Googlemaps). So it can be done.

    That said, j03y DON'T DO IT!!! I run a 3Ghz machine for my audio/video editing, home control, and home server; several 1.9GHZ notebooks throughout the house; and three of these newfangled Black Friday WalMart HP Laptops running 1.6Ghz(what dogs). And believe me, you will regret and very soon I suspect not getting the most processor and memory you can afford... and if 500Mhz is all you can afford don't bother.

    From experience I can tell you, everytime you decide to add a new feature or hardware, it's a major (and I mean major) undertaking to get everything to work together with reasonable speed and reliability. Adding software is easy, just buy a big harddrive, but interoperability and multitasking, like SnyperBob said will quickly slow the machine to a crawl (especially large flash objects). If I weren't retired with nothing better to do, I wouldn't. As a young college student, you don't have the time, patience, or desire to make this work (at least I didn't).

    Lastly, I assume you're going to get a touchscreen monitor or at least a monitor of some type. These are not cheap. Why spend $200-600 on a monitor and run 500Mhz? That's like driving a MaClaren SLR with a go-cart motor.
    HARDWARE: Fujitsu Stylistic ST5111w/WiFi and dock, internal Hitachi 500G HD, external 1TB HD, Sierra Wireless Aircard 550, DVD-RW, BoomzBox HD radio, XM Commander, Delorme GPS, Saitek X-52 Pro joystick, BluSoleil Bluetooth, TPMS, FB, Elm327

  8. #8
    Variable Bitrate 84RegalRider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    427
    speed. wait time.
    Core duo
    1tb harddrive
    256 ddr
    8 lilliput
    bu-353

    still installing...

  9. #9
    Low Bitrate scfountain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Southeast Texas
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by j03y

    My first question for you all is this... Does anyone here see any reason whatsoever in having a carputer faster than 500 Mhz? From what I have read in the forums, DVDs, MP3's GPS, WebCams, XM, Radio, etc. are the main uses everyone exploits, and a decent 500 Mhz machine is plenty good enough to run those apps. Unless I'm missing somthing, anything more than that would seem a little like overkill.

    -Joey
    Do you remember using an old 500MHz laptop? If so, have you also used a newer 1.0GHz or faster laptop? With that comparison in mind, that's the difference your carputer will have. Not to mention, you will probably be doing more with this carputer than you ever would with a 500MHz laptop. Now to specify on what you said, yea you can watch a DVD on a 500MHz machine, and you can listen to MP3's, and use GPS, but trying to do all of that at the same time...probably not going to be a good experience. Just like those old laptops man you're going to be waiting a while for those apps to load.

    Bottom line, get what you can afford up front. Don't try to cut corners to save a buck, your either going to be dissatisfied with your system and end up rebuilding it, or you'll just be stuck with something your not happy with.

  10. #10
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,173
    Blog Entries
    53
    You should definitely chose a motherboard with the power to push MORE than what you require. Despite whatcha feel about it now, you WILL add more stuff to your setup just as we all do. Picking a better motherboard/processor combo now means ur ready for the improvements and upgrades as they come. Waiting til ur down the line means finding a new combo, new psu, reinstalling windows and all your personalized front end and program choices... which can truly be a pain in the *** considering it never works the way it should the second time around.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. I want opinions
    By ebacherville in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 09:34 PM
  2. Any opinions on the Phillips Aurillium external sound card?
    By UMM in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2004, 04:39 PM
  3. need opinions on a mini-itx case
    By a17_track_350z in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 02:15 PM
  4. my design for a PSU, need opinions.
    By PASware in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-23-2003, 08:10 PM
  5. 2nd opinion(s) wanted
    By sablewagon in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2001, 08:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •