Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Choices and opinions

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6

    Choices and opinions

    I've been searching the forums for a few days now trying to absorb as much info as I can, but I figured it would be best to ask the veterans about their opinion. I have a 2000 M5 and I can't decide weather to piece together my own carputer, or the infill g4. Money isn't much an option but performance, ascetics, ease of use and installation. Any advice and or opinions are appreciated.

  2. #2
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,049
    "Money isnt much of an option" means you have big budget right?

    Well the G4 is the easiest for aesthetics and ease of installation. It may not be the best, for aesthetics, or performance, or ease of use (I dont have one), but it sure is the easiest, and as such is marketed as one.

    With that said, there is very little you can do to improve it, or expand it. It is low power both on consumption and performance, but it works.

    If you arent good with fabrication or cant get someone to fab a screen into your dash, then a double din solution may be best. You may want to follow the double din case thread, because it is sort of a "roll your own" G4.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  3. #3
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    depends how many hours you want to spend installing too, a g4 is a one day deal where a custom install will take much much longer, how long depends on you, but months is not uncommon to really complete an install. really depending on your goals, skills & resources...

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6
    Months you say, then the custom setup isn't for me, just got the car back after 4 months in the shop due to an accident. My current unit is shot, buttons don't work so I can't do anything but change thru 6 preset stations with my steering wheel. So the capability of the G4 far exceeds what I have now. My wants and needs aren't that intense as to be on top of the ball 24/7, and my friends and family don't have anything but stock units. I just can't justify $1600+ for a new stock unit when I can spend a bit more and get so much more. The budget isn't an issue, so for what I want, the G4 sounds like the way to go.

    Getting a bezel made that I will be happy with will be a bit tricky most likely, I'm very particular about specifics.... That and a few other things I read up on such as reshaping the air vent so it allows the whole double din to fit, and splicing RCA's so that the head unit won't disrupt the stock crossovers in the speakers. If there is anything else missing that you can think of please let me know, I want to know whatever I need before I start to make this a clean and speedy install

  5. #5
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,049
    It doesnt take everyone a month. It took me about a month to buy all my components but I was bargain basement shopping mostly on eBay! The actual initial install took about 5 hours. A year and a half later, I have gone through 2 different setups, and 4-6 different install locations and varieties of neatness.

    To get a CarPC working is not very hard. To get a CarPC working perfectly is an unending adventure, and the G4 is not without its problems. It has its own subforum for problems. Dont expect it to just "work". It will work, but with in its own little way.

    As far as what you need to install the G4... A double din slot, 30 minutes, and $2k.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    6
    Well from what I can see and tell, the music library and navigation are pretty straight forward and a lot of the kinks have been worked out. As long as thats the case, I don't mind tweaking with the system as needed, gives me something to do in my free time I'm extremely tired of using my iPod and radio adapter, the static isn't cutting it!

Similar Threads

  1. VIA Opinions - EN15000G vs EX15000G
    By Mazdaspeed in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-19-2007, 09:06 AM
  2. Too many choices!
    By psyrex in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 03:47 AM
  3. opinions: 1 set or 2?
    By Song0330 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-12-2005, 11:40 AM
  4. Mobo and processor choices
    By quickshot56 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-20-2004, 07:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •