Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Opinions on this...

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate Psychobiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    545

    Opinions on this...

    Hi,

    Just ordered this : http://www.haicom.com.tw/gps204III.shtml
    It has the SiRF III chipset, very sensitive. Also nice magnetic base, should be useful. I want to mount it on just a little ledge before my bonnet (my roof is alu) but I think it'll go 'missing' lol. Anyone else got one of thses?

    L
    1996 Volvo 850 T5 CD - Eventually I'll start....

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    Don't have that particular unit but I've got another one with SiRF III and it works just fine inside the car so I'd say you'd be fine finding a spot to hid it inside your suv near a window or something.
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate Psychobiker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    545
    I have heated front windscreen tho...
    1996 Volvo 850 T5 CD - Eventually I'll start....

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    Hmmm.... hopefully someone with a little more knowledge of the effects of that will chime in. With mine as long as on relatively open road (not under tree cover or in between tall city buildings) then it will get a decent lock anywhere in the car.

    Just found this: http://www.mytomtomgo.com/special_autos.php
    Someone posted about the Range Rover w/ a heated windshield and said their TomTom worked well there, and I'm probably willing to bet this unit has just as good, if not better reception than the TomTom.
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

Similar Threads

  1. I want opinions
    By ebacherville in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 08:34 PM
  2. Alpine (Green) opinions
    By more mods in forum MediaCar
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2004, 01:06 PM
  3. need opinions on a mini-itx case
    By a17_track_350z in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 01:15 PM
  4. I have 1k to spend. Need opinions
    By druidlord in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2001, 06:35 PM
  5. 2nd opinion(s) wanted
    By sablewagon in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2001, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •