Page 103 of 128 FirstFirst ... 35393949596979899100101102103104105106107108109110111112113 ... LastLast
Results 1,021 to 1,030 of 1272

Thread: HQCT Module (new thread following HU RDS/RDBS)

  1. #1021
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
    I have been playing around with impedance adapter for the antenna, it does make a difference.
    The module is expecting a 50 ohm antenna, all testing here is done using an open dipole outside on the roof of the building. Reception strength is good but some stations do have some static (shhh instead of s ...), an open dipole has an impedance of 75 ohms, an impedance adapter seems to do the trick.
    As you can see on the picture it is a simple thing, the black coax feeds the module, the white coax comes down from the roof antenna. the coil is 10 windings of 1.5 mm dia enamelled copper wire on a 6 mm dia core, the tapping is at 8 windings.

    The only drawback is a reduced AM signal, so we are working on that too.
    But for FM it is a good solution.

    Diogenes.
    I have the HQCT-e currently connected to my stock antenna via the antenna adapter cable. I believe that the stock antenna is already 50 ohms, so no impedance adapter is necessary.. Correct? Should purchase another antenna and give it a try or just try to make your adapter? I really do not want to cut up my antenna cables unless it's absolutly necessary.

    FrontierGuy

  2. #1022
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by FrontierGuy View Post
    I have the HQCT-e currently connected to my stock antenna via the antenna adapter cable. I believe that the stock antenna is already 50 ohms, so no impedance adapter is necessary.. Correct? Should purchase another antenna and give it a try or just try to make your adapter? I really do not want to cut up my antenna cables unless it's absolutly necessary.

    FrontierGuy
    I am not too sure about car antenna impedances, some antenna cables have a coiled inner conductor rather then a straight core. As far as i know, the impedance is not mentioned on car antenna leads.
    Mail me your address (mailto [email protected]), i will look into some adapter that you can fit without cutting up any cables. (If there is a coiled inner core you might have a very unpleasant surprise cutting off the connector, believe me, it happened to me...)

    Diogenes.

  3. #1023
    High Voltage blk02si's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Motorcity
    Posts
    2,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    SUCCESS! Well Im glad I did the research, my HQCT works absolutely flawless! As suggested in other posts I just have a 6 ft piece of wire for an antenna (untill i source the SMB connector) I ended up hand making a USB header to header cable and CD audio cable. I hooked it up tonight on my desktop and did some software config and I gotta say really nice unit guys, Lucs software slipstreamed right into RR! Sound quality is extremely good and I only have a wire antenna and about 60 - 70 signal strength but i picked up 26 strong presets by running the scan in RR. RDS works and updates every 3 seconds of so. I'm not sure why people are having so many problems with this as the wiring diagram is very straight forward and simple. Ill let you guys know how the carPC integration goes, hopefully its as successful as the desktop test! Here are some screen caps of my HQCT running strong, 1st one is my frontend running the module and then Lucs software running stand alone. Also RR works flawlass with muting the radio when switching sources and then unmutes it when you switch back to radio.

    Just a suggestion to the manufacturers, you may want to consider a SMA antenna connector for your US spec modules. Just throwing it out there but I've checked quite a few local car audio and electronics shops today and no sign of any SMB connector(s) but a ton of SMA stuff. I will probably just end up ordering your smb > moto adapter but I've got a few more stores to check out first

    Anyway just wanted to give some props to datalex and xtronic, this module is excellent. I cannot wait to get it in the car hooked up to my subwoofer. Just want to give credit where credit is due, and let everyone complaining about this hardware know that their errors are user related.

    Wish me luck on my embedded install

    -joe
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Build Things, it keeps your brain busy.

    AutoPC v1 (Retired) - AutoPC v2 (in progress) - www.shocknet.us

  4. #1024
    Constant Bitrate mikevsgeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Auburn Maine
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by blk02si View Post
    SUCCESS! Well Im glad I did the research, my HQCT works absolutely flawless! As suggested in other posts I just have a 6 ft piece of wire for an antenna (untill i source the SMB connector) I ended up hand making a USB header to header cable and CD audio cable. I hooked it up tonight on my desktop and did some software config and I gotta say really nice unit guys, Lucs software slipstreamed right into RR! Sound quality is extremely good and I only have a wire antenna and about 60 - 70 signal strength but i picked up 26 strong presets by running the scan in RR. RDS works and updates every 3 seconds of so. I'm not sure why people are having so many problems with this as the wiring diagram is very straight forward and simple. Ill let you guys know how the carPC integration goes, hopefully its as successful as the desktop test! Here are some screen caps of my HQCT running strong, 1st one is my frontend running the module and then Lucs software running stand alone. Also RR works flawlass with muting the radio when switching sources and then unmutes it when you switch back to radio.

    Just a suggestion to the manufacturers, you may want to consider a SMA antenna connector for your US spec modules. Just throwing it out there but I've checked quite a few local car audio and electronics shops today and no sign of any SMB connector(s) but a ton of SMA stuff. I will probably just end up ordering your smb > moto adapter but I've got a few more stores to check out first

    Anyway just wanted to give some props to datalex and xtronic, this module is excellent. I cannot wait to get it in the car hooked up to my subwoofer. Just want to give credit where credit is due, and let everyone complaining about this hardware know that their errors are user related.

    Wish me luck on my embedded install

    -joe
    Circuit City and the likes will have the adapter you need. the adapter is made by metra and the part number is 40-eu20. crutchfield.com should also have the connector


    http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Metra...oductDetail.do

  5. #1025
    High Voltage blk02si's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Motorcity
    Posts
    2,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for the Link, I was going to check circuit city today, checked the web and that part is in stock near me.
    Build Things, it keeps your brain busy.

    AutoPC v1 (Retired) - AutoPC v2 (in progress) - www.shocknet.us

  6. #1026
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3
    Hi..


    Anyone here knows if XTroniC is still in business?

    did an order for the HQCT-i 02 April and paid for it
    but they dont show it to be shiped on there website nor do they reply to e-mail


    Richard

  7. #1027
    High Voltage blk02si's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Motorcity
    Posts
    2,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well i finished the HQCT module integration into my car PC case. Everything works great, I bought the Metra adapter from the link above and it works really good, no static, tons of stations and the tuner program I have running on the flash drive. The stations change INSTANT, as soon as i click them on the touchscreen. I did modify the end of the metra cable *VERY* slightly, like 1/16" so it fit over the SMB connector without forcing it. The bass and treble sound amazing being pushed through my 2 amps. Funny thing I noticed, while making some changes to my C: (flash) drive, I have to disable my EWF (enhanced write filter) overlay (since i have an embedded OS install) Turning off the overlay is the only way to write my changes to the C drive. Anyway while the overlay was off i noticed mild static on some of the stations. When I enabled the EWF overlay (making the volume read only) I noticed the clarity of the stations increase. Basically I just wanted to let you guys know that I am getting a cleaner FM tune with the system and module running on the embedded OS.

    My question now is about the power scheme of the module. I usually do hard-offs with my system and the C: drive never gets corrupt because since my drive never gets written to there will never be any data loss. I want to know if doing a hard off while the hqct is running is bad for the module. So far all my components have been fine running this power scheme. Also if you completely kill the juice does the module remember any settings? Lastly should the hqct module stay muted untill the software takes control of it?

    Thanks again for all the help and I'm glad to say that my install turned out BADASS and I'm very happy with the hardware purchase. Very nice addition to my ever growing system.

    /Challenge Complete

    more pix (sorry phone camera again)
    Attached Images Attached Images     
    Build Things, it keeps your brain busy.

    AutoPC v1 (Retired) - AutoPC v2 (in progress) - www.shocknet.us

  8. #1028
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    154
    and the award for suckup of the year 2007 goes to......

  9. #1029
    Constant Bitrate ankur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    166
    Quote Originally Posted by SnackyKiller View Post
    Hi..


    Anyone here knows if XTroniC is still in business?

    did an order for the HQCT-i 02 April and paid for it
    but they dont show it to be shiped on there website nor do they reply to e-mail


    Richard
    Give it some time, its not a huge company with people manning the phones/emails etc. I ordered a HQCT-e on the 4th and i just received it yesterday, so they are still in business. They dont stock too many items so they will ship once they get more stock.

    cheers.

  10. #1030
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3
    ok thnx Ankur

Similar Threads

  1. [RELEASE - Public]GPSSecure - GPS Tracking
    By xBrady in forum GPSSecure
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 09:33 PM
  2. Hot Chicks Thread - NOT WORK SAFE
    By ODYSSEY in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2005, 10:38 PM
  3. Amp or HU dilemma
    By paul167 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 06:45 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2004, 12:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •