Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: good review of lilliput

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate Cartunes's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    632

    good review of lilliput


  2. #2
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Overseas
    Posts
    64
    That's nice but look here

    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show...896#post297896

    by the people who use it!
    Squigg

    2002 Mustang GT
    xp2200,80gig,GF4MX4400,512ram,7inVGA Touchscreen, Side View Camera w/sound, USB GPS Mouse(computer hidden in LH Rear QP)

  3. #3
    Raw Wave Confused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    2,224
    Bad review of the Lilliput IMO.

    Yes, for the price, it is a reasonable unit. However, they fail to mention anywhere (not unsurprisingly) that the touchscreen is terrible, and is likely to die within 6 months, the glare when used anwhere where there is sunlight is terrible (it looks like it was reviewed by someone who hasn't seen the light of day for 6 years, or was reviewed at night), and doesn't compare it against any other models.

    Comparing it to the Xenarc for example will show that yes it is slightly brighter, but get some sun on it, and it washes out completely, unlike the Xenarc.

    The "justification" for the higher price than "other 7" models without touchscreen they said is the touchscreen. Wrong. The higher price than these other models is because this has VGA inputs, whereas these $100 screens they're comparing them to are composite input, and most likely have a 320x240 panel in them, unlike the 800x480 panel in this.

    I still recommend the Xenarc over the Lilliput, from using both. Not only because it's built and feels better, but because the display is better.


    Garry
    Co-Developer of A.I.M.E.E
    www.aimee.cc

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate PaCMaYNE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tx, USA
    Posts
    411
    Quote Originally Posted by Confused
    Bad review of the Lilliput IMO.

    Yes, for the price, it is a reasonable unit. However, they fail to mention anywhere (not unsurprisingly) that the touchscreen is terrible, and is likely to die within 6 months, the glare when used anwhere where there is sunlight is terrible (it looks like it was reviewed by someone who hasn't seen the light of day for 6 years, or was reviewed at night), and doesn't compare it against any other models.

    Comparing it to the Xenarc for example will show that yes it is slightly brighter, but get some sun on it, and it washes out completely, unlike the Xenarc.

    The "justification" for the higher price than "other 7" models without touchscreen they said is the touchscreen. Wrong. The higher price than these other models is because this has VGA inputs, whereas these $100 screens they're comparing them to are composite input, and most likely have a 320x240 panel in them, unlike the 800x480 panel in this.

    I still recommend the Xenarc over the Lilliput, from using both. Not only because it's built and feels better, but because the display is better.


    Garry
    your other post convinced me to REBUY a xenarc now that i have had 3 failed lillis


    could be the supplier though 8-(
    throw a moon

    heuvos vin chevos

  5. #5
    Raw Wave Confused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    2,224
    Quote Originally Posted by PaCMaYNE
    your other post convinced me to REBUY a xenarc now that i have had 3 failed lillis


    could be the supplier though 8-(
    I doubt it's the supplier, as they all buy exactly the same screens from the same manufacturer.

    I've got a new 7" screen which is from a manufacturer in Taiwan for evaluation, I shall be posting up a side-by-side comparison of it, the Lilliput and the Xenarc within the next couple of weeks with my findings.


    Garry
    Co-Developer of A.I.M.E.E
    www.aimee.cc

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate PaCMaYNE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tx, USA
    Posts
    411
    a new Lilliput or an all new brand? If so and its touchscreen please let me know,,im awaiting refund still and as soon as i get it im buying,, these damn lillis put me behind, i woulda been done 4 mos ago
    throw a moon

    heuvos vin chevos

  7. #7
    Raw Wave Confused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    2,224
    AFAIK, it's a completely new brand. I don't know the manufacturer of them, but it's in Taiwan, rather than China (where Lilliput is) so the QA should be much higher

    It is touchscreen too Don't worry, a review will be posted here as soon as it's done I've got 2 weeks with the screen before i have to send it back or pay for it, so there will be a thorough test


    Garry
    Co-Developer of A.I.M.E.E
    www.aimee.cc

  8. #8
    Variable Bitrate PaCMaYNE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tx, USA
    Posts
    411
    oh yay. hopefully some specs soon as well.. keep us posted,, bed time 5 am
    throw a moon

    heuvos vin chevos

  9. #9
    Variable Bitrate PaCMaYNE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tx, USA
    Posts
    411
    so whats the word on that screen?
    throw a moon

    heuvos vin chevos

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    46
    My 7" Lilliput still rocks after 5 months of use, and I have no problem with the touchscreen at all.

    Now have it in my Jeep, and yeah sure... ocassionally I have a bit of sun glare that makes the screen hard to see. BUT... it is no worse than what I have on my stock radio or the gauges in the dash. There are many times I have to cup my hands to block the sun and see the clock on the radio, or the mileage on my tripometer. Not too fair to expect more from another device in the car. Besides... It always seems to be dark when I'm in the car!

Similar Threads

  1. epia m10k + lilliput => gps blocker?
    By NaFooEsi in forum GPS
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 08:53 PM
  2. At last, a good use for your Lilliput "egg"
    By Confused in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2004, 11:02 AM
  3. FS: Parting out Lilliput
    By 047025n in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-26-2004, 07:52 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2004, 11:10 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2004, 11:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •