Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 150

Thread: Llama's and Intuition's Techie Thread

  1. #61
    Variable Bitrate intuitionsys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    293
    I use KDevelop for linux projects as well. The only really annoying thing it does is collapse your class view every time you compile, but that's a minor pebble in my shoe. It does, as one might say, rock
    Silverwolf 2 is dead.
    Silverwolf 3...?

  2. #62
    FLAC TheLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    All over the world
    Posts
    970
    I just checked out KDevelop. It is very nice. I don't like all the bloat with automake though. I want to try it out some more, is there a VIM plugin that makes the integrated text editor act as VI? I still think that for any programming environment to be useful it has to have advanced text editing like the features included in VI or emacs. I usually use VisVim inside of VisualStudio when I have to do work on Windows.

    /Tangent

  3. #63
    Variable Bitrate intuitionsys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    293
    I don't know of one but I never bothered searching either since I don't like VI anyway. There are some nice things about the editor in VS 2003 I like that would make life a bit easier in the default KDevelop editor but there are always new goodies with every new (major) release.

    On a happier note I'm very very close to cracking the Xine nut finally. I've tried umpteen variations, some involving very complicated memory access, but it looks like the round-robin approach using a modified Xine driver fits the bill the best. I'm using a close callback in FMOD to signal the load of the next data file in the stream sequence (but haven't actually written the code for it; hopefully tomorrow). Tests I did with a simple test app (not in Silverwolf) worked very very well so that's the method I'm going to stick with even if it does seem a tad hokey I'll post the code this week or possibly next on swaesbb depending on how much life gets in the way...
    Silverwolf 2 is dead.
    Silverwolf 3...?

  4. #64
    FLAC TheLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    All over the world
    Posts
    970
    Quote Originally Posted by intuitionsys
    I'm using a close callback in FMOD to signal the load of the next data file in the stream sequence (but haven't actually written the code for it; hopefully tomorrow). Tests I did with a simple test app (not in Silverwolf) worked very very well so that's the method I'm going to stick with even if it does seem a tad hokey I'll post the code this week or possibly next on swaesbb depending on how much life gets in the way...
    Thats cool, I'm using basically the same technique to start playing the next song. But I actually have two Sounds. One for the current song and one for the next song, this lets the next song prebuffer or at least get the song info. Now skipping to the next track is a bit faster and I _could_ have a little "Next Song Info" notification come up as the current song is ending. Plus, I can easily implement crossfading with this technique.

    I do this by having a current and next pointer. When the song changes I stop the current sound and destroy it. Then I set the current pointer to the next pointer.Then the new current song can be started. Finally, I create a new sound for the next pointer.

    (So sort of like round robin, but simplified since there are only two items)

    I hope to have the source for my AudioSystem, Player, and Library released soon.

  5. #65
    Variable Bitrate intuitionsys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    293
    I'm having trouble getting FMOD to use my callbacks and it's really (*&$#ing me off Have you run into any problems in that area? I've tried using setFileSystem() and attachFileSystem() and neither one appear to do anything. I'm sure it's something retarded I'm doing but I thought I'd rant here real quick if anybody has any suggestions...
    Silverwolf 2 is dead.
    Silverwolf 3...?

  6. #66
    FLAC TheLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    All over the world
    Posts
    970
    I've used FMOD callbacks before, but not filesystem callbacks. Do you need to enable it somehow?

  7. #67
    Variable Bitrate intuitionsys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    293
    I just found a workaround that equates to the same thing. I'm using a thread to check the playing status rather than updating the status in a timer that fires the callback.

    I just got it working so the code won't be up on swaesbb for probably a day or two while I fine tune things. I'll post the xine audio driver mods there at the same time...

    Uggh finally!
    Silverwolf 2 is dead.
    Silverwolf 3...?

  8. #68
    Variable Bitrate intuitionsys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    293
    Holy moly! This makes no sense but it works; I've verified it several times - I ran into it totally by accident:

    keep the system, channel and sound pointers app global, then call Xine with a null audio driver, but keep updating the spectrum info - and it does. Why does this work? I haven't a clue. I need to do more testing to make sure I'm not blowing smoke though since this seems a bit too good to be true.
    Silverwolf 2 is dead.
    Silverwolf 3...?

  9. #69
    FLAC TheLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    All over the world
    Posts
    970
    Quote Originally Posted by intuitionsys
    Holy moly! This makes no sense but it works; I've verified it several times - I ran into it totally by accident:

    keep the system, channel and sound pointers app global, then call Xine with a null audio driver, but keep updating the spectrum info - and it does. Why does this work? I haven't a clue. I need to do more testing to make sure I'm not blowing smoke though since this seems a bit too good to be true.
    Perhaps FMOD reads the spectrum and waveform data off of ALSA and not FMOD's internal buffers. That would be really cool.

  10. #70
    FLAC TheLlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    All over the world
    Posts
    970
    Ugh... I've been struggling to get Savage 4 drivers working right on the unit. I need video for when I take the box inside. I had Framebuffer console running with normal vesa-tng drivers. Everything was working fine except nothing was output to the LCD. The chip has CRT and LCD outputs. The LCD output is hooked to a converter board which outputs Composite video and S-Video. So, my guess is nothing was running to the converter.

    I found a program, s3switch, that is supposed to enable/disable the various outputs. CRT and LCD were already enabled but I tried enabling only LCD, and my monitor lost signal but nothing showed up on the TV. Enabling both makes the monitor run at a lower refresh rate, I guess to match what the LCD output uses. When I enable only CRT the monitor goes to my normal refresh rate. I can tell the refresh rates are changing because CRT causes the screen to be drawn to my configuration and BOTH causes the screen to draw distorted.

    I wonder what is wrong... I hope it is just this converter and a new one will fix the problem. I was really hoping for TV-out.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •