Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 57

Thread: Official AppleTV MacCar Thread

  1. #21
    Admin. Linux loser.
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Bugbyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    7,359
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by nickmgray View Post
    ^ it would be great to have more USB posts on the ATV, but from the sounds of it, to hack it to boot from USB device you also need a keyboard

    "Booting from USB requires booting the Apple TV as nromal then holding ‘menu’ and ‘-’ keys on the remote to initiate a restore boot. From there it takes a bit of timing, Turbo explains, “If I hold down menu and - from poweron until the first screen flash, I believe that it does the equivalent of cmd-opt-p-r. I only got it to boot from USB by releasing it at that point, then hitting it again just before the screen flashes on the second reset.”
    The way I read that, you hold down those keys on the remote that comes with the AppleTV, not on a keyboard.
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettocruzer View Post
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

  2. #22
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Bugbyte View Post
    The way I read that, you hold down those keys on the remote that comes with the AppleTV, not on a keyboard.
    I 2nd that.

    For those looking to use AppleTV solely for media purposes in car, just a FYI...

    Can get this http://www.alpine-usa.com/US-en/prod...model=KCE-415i

    And use with VideoIPod.

    Does anyone know of a USB hub that has it's own power input? That could relieve some of the power/usb hub issues.... haven't heard of one.

  3. #23
    CarFrontEnd Creator iamgnat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NoVA
    Posts
    867
    Quote Originally Posted by krburrell View Post
    I used the Audio Authority 9A65 Component Video to RGB Converter to hook it up to the screen.
    Cool. Good to see something that works, how is the resolution on it?

    Ouch, that is a hefty price tag though (though it is better than the dvi->ldvs option I tought about)

    Quote Originally Posted by Omarvelous View Post
    Does anyone know of a USB hub that has it's own power input? That could relieve some of the power/usb hub issues.... haven't heard of one.
    There are a bunch out there. The trick is that many will still use power off the bus if their external power is disconnected. Mike has a thread about it on the Carnetix forums.

    The problems with these "bi-mode" hubs is that A) they continue to drain your battery and B) would still allow devices connected to it to wake your Mini when you don't want it woken up.

    -dave

    EDIT: Look. If I wanted it to be one post, i'd make it one post....What is up with this "Automerged Doublepost" stuff???
    My pathetic worklog.
    CarFrontEnd (now it's own sub-forum!!!!)

  4. #24
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    monroe/louisiana
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by krburrell View Post
    I'm planning on installing the apple tv in my car and I took a few photos of it hooked up to my navi screen. You can see the rest by clicking on My Photos.


    WOW... the text looks really hard to read. have you thought about using your nav video input? there's some way to hack it to have a RGB input

  5. #25
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    42
    fo those looking for a DVI input TFT, you could try this kit

    for HDMI, there is another one

  6. #26
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    monroe/louisiana
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by raxy View Post
    fo those looking for a DVI input TFT, you could try this kit

    for HDMI, there is another one
    What is this? I can't get it to show english

  7. #27
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    42
    these are controller boards with hdmi or dvi input (among other inputs).
    They do drive the accompanying TFTs as well as many other ones.

    These kits could be put to use in a car, they just need regulated 12V power supply.

    Resolutions (1024 for the 7", 1280 for the 10.4") are higher than current 7" liliput or hamis

  8. #28
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by CArringt View Post
    WOW... the text looks really hard to read. have you thought about using your nav video input? there's some way to hack it to have a RGB input
    You have to remember that you are taking something that was meant for a wide screen and shrinking it down to a small screen (7" in my case). The text is not hard to read except for the song time and number of songs which are displayed in a very small font size. I think it's more of the quality of my pics. I took them at night in my garge.

    I think the nav video input would give a worse picture quality since it is a composite signal. In my nav system that are RGB signals going from the nav ecu to the nav screen. You can hack the RGB input between the two with a 4PDT relay.

  9. #29
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    monroe/louisiana
    Posts
    168
    From what i've read, the rgb nav hack is the highest resolution that you can get on a screen with out a vga or other type of input. They say it's just as good as vga. You can check t out on the mac prius site

  10. #30
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    monroe/louisiana
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by raxy View Post
    these are controller boards with hdmi or dvi input (among other inputs).
    They do drive the accompanying TFTs as well as many other ones
    Resolutions (1024 for the 7", 1280 for the 10.4") are higher than current 7" liliput or hamis
    i can't use a screen like this a have to use an in-dash because of the way my hac controls are setup. I still don't really understand what this does. It just converts an hdmi or dvi signal?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Official 7th Gen Civic Thread
    By Maheriano in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-24-2007, 05:51 PM
  2. Freeway (CCFR) Official Thread
    By oeri in forum Freeway
    Replies: 586
    Last Post: 08-29-2006, 10:24 PM
  3. HaveThread tools, etc, at the bottom of thread
    By Rafster in forum Mp3car Forum Suggestions/Comments
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2006, 07:04 AM
  4. Official requests thread
    By coyote in forum MediaCar
    Replies: 224
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 12:09 AM
  5. Official Suck Up to Coyote Thread
    By SjLucky in forum MediaCar
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 02:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •