Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: 2.0 review

  1. #11
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803
    Skippman, thats pretty much how it is. you set what time you want the day and night time skins to change. like daytime is at 8am and night is at 9pm so from 8am-9pm its the day skin.. other its the night
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

  2. #12
    The Vauxhall Vectra Project ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Morecambe, Lancs, UK ( Just For The Moment )
    Posts
    2,680
    PS - Day Night on some kind of timer would be good.... Homeseer does that... ( x10 Software ) [/B]
    I thought about that how ever what if like at the moment here 2100 its daylight but in the winter its night time.....

    I think some thing like homeseers system where it knows ( some how ) the time night time falls is better but I bet its hard to do... ( No offence every one but getting that data would be hard any way ). Any one follow that ?

    I would perfer a manual mode and a way to activate it ? ( Like play, rr, ff etc )

    Terran

  3. #13
    Maximum Bitrate MikeHunt79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cambridge & Bristol, UK
    Posts
    707
    Maybe there could be a winamp style skin browser? Then different skins could be made to come on automatically at preset times, or they could be picked manually... Maybe I'm making things over complicated here.

  4. #14
    Low Bitrate Maxis24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Rolla, MO
    Posts
    90
    Originally posted by ccsnet
    I thought about that how ever what if like at the moment here 2100 its daylight but in the winter its night time.....

    I think some thing like homeseers system where it knows ( some how ) the time night time falls is better but I bet its hard to do... ( No offence every one but getting that data would be hard any way ). Any one follow that ?
    I know that my Handspring Visor can calculate what time sunrise and sunset is. The times for sunrise and sunset can be calculated through equations (I have not seen them, but they MUST exist in order for my Handspring to do this work). The problems that arise when using this is that it does not account for exact positioning (once GPS is enabled for MediaEngine, it may be possible), cloud/atmospheric conditions.

    The best way I can think of really quickly, would be to purchase a photosensor and adapt it to use one of the com/serial ports and tie it in some way. This way, the lighting could be variable. EX: Driving down a dark road, the screen would use the darker skin whereas if you are under the lights in a well lit parking lot it would switch to the lighter skin. The system could even be programmed so that the photosensor could be used at a user-specified amount of light. Allowing for "perfect" lighting every time. The ideas are almost endless with this (software screen dimming with lighting, etc).

  5. #15
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    aychamo land
    Posts
    92

    Re: 2.0 review

    Originally posted by hijinks21
    - THE OSK is great. I couldn't remember which beatles CD had a song I wanted to listen to. So i did a search and it poped right up.
    You don't have this kind of information memorized? Shame on you! What song was it!!

  6. #16
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803

    Re: Re: 2.0 review

    Originally posted by Bobby_Aychamo
    You don't have this kind of information memorized? Shame on you! What song was it!!
    rocky racoon.. its a beatles song. I have like 12 beatles albums and i wasn't sure which one it was in.
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

  7. #17
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803
    I just got my hands on RC1.. for all you non-programming people that is release canidate 1. So it looks like they are getting very close to a stable release.
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

  8. #18
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    aychamo land
    Posts
    92

    Re: Re: Re: 2.0 review

    Originally posted by hijinks21
    rocky racoon.. its a beatles song. I have like 12 beatles albums and i wasn't sure which one it was in.
    I meant you don't have all the Beatles songs and albums memorized? Rocky Racoon, from the album "The Bealtes", commonly refered to as the White Album. A goofy western sounding ballad by Paul.

    What a damn good album That and Abbey Road are my favorites.

  9. #19
    "Speaker of the Truth" veedubya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    265
    Hijinks: Did you have any difficulties playing video files? I get an error that closes ME.

    "Error in MSDXM.OCX"

    Could be a WindowsME issue. I have yet to really search for a solution if it is indeed an OS issue for me.
    "Geeks dont need girlfriends we can ping ourselves"

    Sony Vaio 2Ghz 40G HHD, Routis 2004 GPS, 7" VGA TS Lilliput, BackUp Camera running RoadRunner with Simplistique Skin.

  10. #20
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803
    veedubya: i've only tried divx and dvd's so far and they both worked.
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •