Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hardware Review: USB-SA Andrea External USB Soundcard & SuperBeam Microphone Bundle

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    115
    Blog Entries
    2

    Hardware Review: USB-SA Andrea External USB Soundcard & SuperBeam Microphone Bundle


    What is it?

    A USB based sound card with SoundMAX Superbeam array microphone.

    The Verdict:

    Most parts for any CarPC tend to run for a minimum of $50. With the bundle coming in at just less than $50, this is a value for anyone looking to add a sound card and microphone to a system. The microphone is clearly the more valuable part in the bundle and works very well in most environments. The straightforward installation and good sound with impressive microphone pickup make this a good buy.

    See this product on the mp3Car Store here.

    What’s in the box?

    PureAudio USB Sound Card
    Soundmax Microphone
    CD Driver(Mini CD – Won’t work in slot load CDRom)

    Description:

    This product is very basic, almost too basic. With only headphone and microphone jacks you are not able to add additional audio in connections. Because of this all testing of the sound card was done on a home PC, the microphone was attached to the internal sound card in my CarPC. This allowed for Audio IN and my HD Radio to continue to work. The cable on the microphone is long(~84”), this is very handy when connecting to a sound card that is in the trunk.

    The Positive:

    The microphone works very well, and the length of cable is very helpful. The install is also very easy once you download the software from their website (http://www.andreaelectronics.com). I tested voice commands with the top down on the convertible in a very loud garage and it recognized all the commands on first try. This is a drastic improvement over most microphones I have used.

    The Negative:

    The shape of the microphone is designed to sit on top of a monitor, but it does not come with any double sided tape or Velcro to keep it in place. The sound card works but without an Audio In, I am unable to connect external radio sources to my PC.

    The Verdict:

    Most parts for any CarPC tend to run for a minimum of $50. With the bundle coming in at just less than $50, this is a value for anyone looking to add a sound card and microphone to a system. The microphone is clearly the more valuable part in the bundle and works very well in most environments. The straightforward installation and good sound with impressive microphone pickup make this a good buy.

    <table border="1" bordercolor="#000000"><tbody><tr><th colspan="2" scope="row" align="center" height="61">SuperbeamArray Microphone Specifications </th></tr><tr><th scope="row" align="left">Acoustic</th><td>
    </td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Microphone Configuration</th><td>Two unidirectional microphones with

    individual channels to a stereo output</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Recommended operating distance</th><td>12” - 48” (Varies with application)</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Acoustic signal reduction @ 1 KHz and 180º</th><td>>10 dB</td></tr><tr><th scope="row" align="left">Electrical Characteristics</th><td>
    </td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Mic bias Supply Voltage for rated 4 VDC

    sensitivity</th><td>4 VDC</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Operating Mic bias Supply Voltage Range 2.5 to 5 VDC

    (with up to 3 dB sensitivity variation)</th><td>2.5 to 5 VDC</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Supply series resistor</th><td>2 KOhms +/- 0.5K</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Operating Current (each channel)</th><td>0.6 mA</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Output Impedance @ 1 KHz</th><td><200 Ohms</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Max SPL Input @ 1 KHz</th><td>115 dB (3% THD @ 3.7V)</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Max Output (THD <3% @ 1 KHz)</th><td>120 mV rms</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Sensitivity (Re: 1V @ 0.1 Pa)</th><td>-44 dB, +/- 4 dB</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Frequency Response</th><td>50 Hz - 8000 Hz</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Noise</th><td>20 uV</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Operating Temperature</th><td>0O C to + 70O C</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Connector</th><td>3.5 mm jack, left mic power and left audio

    on “tip”, right mic power and right audio on

    “ring”. Sleeve common ground.</td></tr><tr><th scope="row">Size</th><td>4.3” length x 1.7” width x 0.9” height</td></tr></tbody></table>



    See this product on the mp3Car Store here.

  2. #2
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    102
    Do you have to use the included USB sound card or can you use an onboard mic input?

  3. #3
    Raw Wave
    Auto Apps:loading...
    justchat_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, Ma or NY,NY
    Posts
    2,359
    Doesn't using your stock sound card bypass the echo cancellation abilities? (The main reason most people buy this setup)

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate Superduck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    296
    For what it's worth. My mobo came with the Superbeam, and when I got it, there was no Vista64 support, so I had to get a beta driver that didn't include the Soundmax Control Panel, thus no noise-cancel, but it still worked fine as a regular mic. Now, I've replaced my onboard sound with a Soundblaster (x-fi Music, I think) and I'm still using the Superbeam mic with it. It's working fine as a regular mic as well. Again, obviously no noise-cancelling still though.
    In digging, the reason some don't seem to work is because the mic is basically a stereo mic, and the plug has two different channels, whereas some sound cards make an internal connection, grounding the input of the two channels, or some such nonsense.

    Anyway, I know mine works fine with my desktop, I just wish I could use it in the carpc without having to buy the USB sound card.


    Cheers,

    Kris
    How Much Horsepower Can I have And Still Go To Heaven?

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    102
    Thanks for the replies,

    The reason I asked was because I had read somewhere that using both the usb sound card with the superbeam and onboard audio didn't quite work well. Also I remember this person stating that his onboard sound card sounded better than the usb stick.

    I guess I had assumed that the superbeam mic and the software was all that was needed for the echo cancellation. Can someone confirm that using the usb audio plug for mic in and using onboard sound card for sound will work alright?

    I REALLY want to buy this product but I am afraid to run into complications. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    351
    Blog Entries
    1
    My carpc uses the onboard audio for my 4 channel amp, and the andrea USB sound for stereo microphone in. Windows can handle this no problem, you just have to change the settings in the control panel. ie. Let windows know that computer generated voice and music will come out through the onboard audio, and microphone input will come from the other sound device.

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStealth View Post
    My carpc uses the onboard audio for my 4 channel amp, and the andrea USB sound for stereo microphone in. Windows can handle this no problem, you just have to change the settings in the control panel. ie. Let windows know that computer generated voice and music will come out through the onboard audio, and microphone input will come from the other sound device.
    Thank you BlackStealth, that's exactly what I wanted to know!

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate bratnetwork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Haledon, NJ
    Posts
    503
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStealth View Post
    My carpc uses the onboard audio for my 4 channel amp, and the andrea USB sound for stereo microphone in. Windows can handle this no problem, you just have to change the settings in the control panel. ie. Let windows know that computer generated voice and music will come out through the onboard audio, and microphone input will come from the other sound device.
    Does the echo cancellation still work with it set up like this? Like if you were to use for phone use?

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30
    IS it normal to hear yourself through this mic at all times ??

  10. #10
    Raw Wave
    Auto Apps:loading...
    justchat_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, Ma or NY,NY
    Posts
    2,359
    For echo cancellation to work you need the andrea usb dongle set as your microphone in and your audio out. This has been answered in dozens of threads on the forums.

Similar Threads

  1. Ultimate USB, Firewire, External Soundcard List
    By durwood in forum Car Audio FAQ
    Replies: 121
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 05:15 PM
  2. Andrea Superbeam SoundMAX Array Microphone
    By bir in forum MP3Car Products - store.mp3car.com
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-15-2008, 10:07 AM
  3. Hardware Review: SB Audigy2 NX External USB Sound Card
    By hari-bhari in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 03:55 PM
  4. Problem with ITPS / hibernation and External USB HD
    By veetid in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2006, 08:35 PM
  5. Storix External USB 2.0 DVD Review
    By VWTronics in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 06:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •