Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Hardware Review: Habey USA BIS-6620 Ultra-Compact PC

  1. #1
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,153
    Blog Entries
    51

    Hardware Review: Habey USA BIS-6620 Ultra-Compact PC


    What is it?

    The Habey BIS-6620 is a SFF PC powered by an Intel Atom Z510 processor.

    The Verdict: The Habey USA BIS-6620 is an absolute marvel of a design. The manufacturer has created fully functioning PC cable of running the latest software in a form factor which can fit in the palm of your hand. Quite frankly, the BIS-6620 could be used at home, in the car, or as an embedded platform. Unfortunately it’s small size and power-sipping capabilities mean this PC would probably be a lot more comfortable with Windows Embedded than with Windows 7.

    The BIS-6620 is available now at the MP3Car store



    What's in the box:


    The BIS-6620 comes with the PC, a PS/2 Keyboard/Mouse splitter cable, 12v power brick, and driver and utilities installation disc. Also included are four long screws for VESA mount support.

    Description:

    Right out of the box the Habey USA BIS-6620 has a certain “wow” factor. Measuring at only 4.5 x 4.5 x 1.5”, it immediately has the potential to be everyone’s dream car PC. The BIS-6620 is also built with a completely fan-less design, making it silent in operation. It’s powered by a single-core Intel Z510 processor clocked at 1 GHz and is built to use up to 2 GHz of SODIMM (laptop) ram. Despite its size, the BIS-6620 is surprisingly flexible when it comes to drive storage. Internally, the 6620 accepts a 1.8” SATA hard drive. However, thanks to a bios setting which allows removable drives to be emulated as physical disks, you have the option to install and run your primary operating system from a compact flash card. There is also an SD card slot on the front of the PC just adjacent to the CF slot.

    The BIS-6620 is powered by a simple 12v power brick, further enhancing its potential to be used as a car PC. The computer is a true power-sipper, and can be run with less than 10w and 2amps. It’s hard to imagine that a PC that’s fully capable of running windows 7 can do so with less power than your average car speaker requires to play sound.

    Upon installing the components required to make the BIS-6620 power up, I connected a USB DVD-Rom and installed a fresh copy of windows 7 32-bit. Once installation was complete I was brought into the OS. I quickly noticed that the BIS-6620 doesn’t support Aero, or the transparent glass effects on a standard non-Aero windows 7 installation. Moving through windows dialogs seemed to occur with ample speed, but waiting for basic programs like Wndows Media Payer and Centrafuse 3 became quite the chore even at their most basic program settings. It’s clear that while there are many pros to the BIS-6620, the obvious setback is the 1 GHz processor. That said; the BIS-6620 handled MP3 playback with ease. It will even play 1080p videos with little to no skipping and video sync issues thanks to hardware decoding.


    Video is provided only via VGA or S-Video connections. There is no support for DVI or HDMI and based on the form factor of the BIS-6620 (Habey has different models that do have DVI & HDMI output in the same form factor), you probably won’t be adding a video card capable of such. There is a single audio output jack on the front, and a microphone input just next to that. The lack of a line-in jack means your radio and other input devices better have “audio over USB” support. There is a single LAN port, a total of 4 USB ports, and a single PS/2 which can provide both keyboard and mouse support with the enclosed splitter cable.


    The case of the BIS-6620 is a marvel in itself. The finned design on the top serves as a fully functioning heat-sink for the Intel processor. Because of this design the casing does run hotter than your average computer case, but never to the point where the case was simply too hot to touch. On the edges of the case are four holes which allow the BIS-6620 to be mounted on a VESA mount. All this allows for the BIS-6620 to truly be an ultra-compact, silent, and unseen fully functioning PC.

    The Positive:

    • Small design but capable fully functioning PC
    • Flexible storage options
    • Performance and reliability of the Intel Atom product
    • Energy efficient design ( <10w)
    • Flexible enough to be installed in the home, work, or car
    • Small form factor which allows for multiple mounting options
    • Inexpensive

    The Negative:

    • Sacrifices USB connectors for legacy ps/2 connectors
    • No DVI or HDMI display output (other Habey models have DVI and HDMI)
    • Only 2 channel Audio
    • The Z510 processor creates an obvious bottleneck for certain modern applications (other Habey models have Z530/ dual core 330/ Core 2 Duo / Celeron M)

    The Verdict:

    The Habey USA BIS-6620 is an absolute marvel of a design. The manufacturer has created fully functioning PC cable of running the latest software in a form factor which can fit in the palm of your hand. Quite frankly, the BIS-6620 could be used at home, in the car, or as an embedded platform. Unfortunately it’s small size and power-sipping capabilities mean this PC would probably be a lot more comfortable with Windows Embedded than with Windows 7.

  2. #2
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    being that you have it in your hands, you have become unlucky enough that i get to pick your brain a little

    do you think it is possible to mount this between a monitor and a wall mount? or would that limit cooling enough to overheat the computer?

    also, how is web browsing? does it seem to load pages/videos fine?

  3. #3
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,153
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by soundman98 View Post
    being that you have it in your hands, you have become unlucky enough that i get to pick your brain a little

    do you think it is possible to mount this between a monitor and a wall mount? or would that limit cooling enough to overheat the computer?

    also, how is web browsing? does it seem to load pages/videos fine?
    It fits behind my 50" LCD that i use as a primary monitor. I never tried to actually mount it but there was definitely enough clearance. I dont think mounting it close to a wall will overheat the computer because there's little to know radiating heat from the case. The case seems to distribute the heat evenly so there's no real "hot area" at the top where the PC would rest against the wall.

    As for web browsing, it works just fine for that. I was able to access youtube just fine and the video was just as sharp as it should be in HD mode. The system only seemed to stutter when it came to loading some of the heavier programs (like CF3) and during OS load. Keep in mind however some of that delay could have been from the fact i was running the OS from a small generic compact flash card. The only things i would say you absolutely WONT be doing successfully from this PC are video/image editing, and running win7 media center. It just doesn't have the horsepower for programs with heavy animation.

    If anyone would like to see the inside of the Habey, here are some pics of the motherboard, daughterboard, and some of the internal connectors. I intentionally left these out of the review because the review would be at least doubled in length lol.


    you can see the two points where the top of the case touch the mobo. The middle is the processor and the offset point is the chipset


    Motherboard layout from front to back. Notice the sata port to the top right. I have no idea how you'd fit a sata drive in there. I doubt even the sata cable could fit on the port while the top was on.


    Bottom of the motherboard. Shows how the ram is installed.


    daughterboard which houses the rear connectors and a 1.8" ata-6 hard drive port


    1.8" ATA-6 hard drive port


    Motherboard/daughterboard connector


    How the motherboard rests in the case. Its held up by the daughterboard connector and the metal "L" shaped beam just underneath the first USB port in the pic. To the right of that "L" beam is where the 1.8" drive is optionally mounted.

    any more questions.. shoot away
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate meryan00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    143
    any idea if the Jumper cables between the battery plug and the extra SATA plug are used for anything?

  5. #5
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,153
    Blog Entries
    51
    cant say for sure, but i would think at least one set of them would be for bios reset. The specifications here indicate there's an optional wifi component and 4 com ports but i really cant see how that'd work.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    115
    Blog Entries
    2
    Man would that ne nice in the space constraints or the convertible. Make sure you bring that to the next DC meetup I would really like to see it.

    Would still need to have things like USB to serial adapters for the HD Radio. You mentioned it fluttered some with CF3. Is that just on startup or when actually running?

  7. #7
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,153
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by obstacleman View Post
    Man would that ne nice in the space constraints or the convertible. Make sure you bring that to the next DC meetup I would really like to see it.

    Would still need to have things like USB to serial adapters for the HD Radio. You mentioned it fluttered some with CF3. Is that just on startup or when actually running?
    Unfortunately this is an item i'm only testing for Mp3car. I'll have to return it soon. I may be able to keep it long enough to show it off if we have our meet on the 22nd, but thats still up in the air at this point

    the only real trouble it had with CF3 seemed to be screen switching and the transitions. Its still quite usable however, even with destinator running provided you're using the low effect profile.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7
    when i had the computer botting up into windows xp took for ever it would sit on the welcome screen and doo nothing

  9. #9
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,153
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by vw_gti View Post
    when i had the computer botting up into windows xp took for ever it would sit on the welcome screen and doo nothing
    with XP? There's no reason a PC with 1ghz and 2GB would hang at the xp load screen without some sort of driver issue or something.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    7
    ya i loved the computer though it was insanely small. it was kinda weird having to work on something this small and compact and everything had a place

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: ByByte 'Black Box' Carputer Enclosure
    By blk02si in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 11:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •