Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 59

Thread: Hardware Review: Mini Touch 700 7" Touchscreen Monitor

  1. #1
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    51

    Hardware Review: Mini Touch 700 7" Touchscreen Monitor


    What is it?

    The Mini Touch 700 is a first generation 7-inch touchscreen TFT VGA display.

    The Verdict:

    The Mini Touch 700 should definitely be considered when searching for a new 7" VGA display. This new screen packs in most all of the features found on Xenarc and Lilliput units, and goes a step above by ensuring that 800x480 native resolution is available without hassle.



    What's in the box?

    The Mini Touch 700 is boxed with everything you will find included with a Lilliput and more. Included is the 7" Touchscreen, VESA mount, home and car power supplies, cables for USB, VGA, and composite audio/video. Also included are the touchscreen driver cd (uses the same drivers as lillput/xenarcs do), stylus pen, and a nice headrest shroud that the monitor fits right into.


    Description:

    It is always nice when new items are produced that fit directly into the car PC realm, and the Mini Touch 700 is just that. The Mini Touch was designed specifically for use in a car. The creators made sure to include most all of the latest bells and whistles available on competing touchscreen units. The Mini Touch 700 has automatic power-on and automatic backup camera switching (it actually has two different options for auto-switching). It's missing the automatic brightness control via an ambient light sensor that the Xenarc 700TSV has, but there are plenty of software options which overcome this omission.


    Being that the Mini Touch is designed for car PC use, the designers put an emphasis on creating a clear and crisp display, and the Mini Touch shines here. The display uses a true 450 Nit LCD with LED backlight, and the Mini Touch 700 is definitely brighter than competing units.


    With a 500:1 contrast ratio, the screen is as beautiful as you will find in the car PC arena. The designers went above just having a clear display though. Another nod to the effort put into the screen being car PC friendly is the fact that it uses a video chip which allows a true native 800x480 resolution. If your video card drivers support 800x480, the Mini Touch will display in 800x480, no guesswork, no custom driver hacks needed.


    Now with most first-generation devices there are usually problems or bugs that present themselves over the course of time. In my extended testing, which covered roughly 6 months, I had no problems at all with the Mini Touch 700. There was no flickering, no image ghosting, and the unit seemed to have no problem with differences in temperature. My only real gripe with the Mini Touch 700 is the lack of DVI/HDMI. With VGA slowly phasing its way out of the market and more and more touchscreen devices including HDMI, I feel like a new product should factor those options in. Then again, if they included HDMI output in the first-generation, what's to look forward to in the second generation?

    The Positive:

    • Brightness and crisp display, about the best you'll find with analog video
    • Includes most all the features found in competing devices• Included headrest shroud makes it a breeze to fabricate into a dashboard
    • True 800x480 compatibility
    • New product from a new company. Car PCs arent all tablets yet!

    The Negative:

    • No HDMI input option
    • Potentially limited replacement part capability should the need exist.

    The Verdict:

    The Mini Touch 700 should definitely be considered when searching for a new 7" VGA display. This new screen pacts in most all of the features found on Xenarc and Lilliput units, and goes a step above by ensuring that 800x480 native resolution is available without hassle.

  2. #2
    Mod - iPad Forums RipplingHurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    2,176
    Best bit for me is the 800x480 resolution, but the 450nit numbers are great.

    How does it compare with the Xenarc 700 TSV s far as glare and sunlight readability go? About the same?

    Could you also say something comparing the viewing angles? I find the Xenarc 45degrees or so to be pretty poor, there's definitely a lot of color shifting and lower brightness from the driver's point of view (about 40 degrees).

    Does it save settings when it's powered off (power cut), like brightness contrast etc. Can you flip it vertically (and save the settings?). (Sorry about all the questions...I'm just curious so take your time)

    Thanks for the review, great job with the pictures.

  3. #3
    fka - Nextabyte_Matt ioi8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    126
    One questiom, where can we buy this?

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    LA County
    Posts
    23
    Overall good review. Few nitpicks: missing retail price, spelling error "pacts in".

  5. #5
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by RipplingHurst View Post
    Best bit for me is the 800x480 resolution, but the 450nit numbers are great.

    How does it compare with the Xenarc 700 TSV s far as glare and sunlight readability go? About the same?

    Could you also say something comparing the viewing angles? I find the Xenarc 45degrees or so to be pretty poor, there's definitely a lot of color shifting and lower brightness from the driver's point of view (about 40 degrees).

    Does it save settings when it's powered off (power cut), like brightness contrast etc. Can you flip it vertically (and save the settings?). (Sorry about all the questions...I'm just curious so take your time)

    Thanks for the review, great job with the pictures.
    The brightness of the display plays a large role in sunlight readability, but that being said i'm pretty sure the touchscreens are the exact same as you find on lilli's and xenarcs.

    I guess i'm spoiled in my little 2 door coupe cause i didn't even THINK of viewing angles being a factor. If the torrential down-poor stops tonight i'll take a look and take some pics. I know that all the settings are saved when its powered off. Dunno if it can be flipped vertically.. again i'll check that tonight

    Quote Originally Posted by ioi8 View Post
    One questiom, where can we buy this?
    The unit is available at mo-co-so. Click here, and btw... Thanks to Chris @ mo-co-so for allowing me to review.

    Quote Originally Posted by vat2010 View Post
    Overall good review. Few nitpicks: missing retail price, spelling error "pacts in".
    I avoid putting the price in my reviews for the most part because i'm not "selling" the products per say. Also, some of the items (like this one earlier one) did not have pricing available at the time i started reviewing.

    Thank you very much for the spell check though. I go over these things but every once in a while an error is bound to happen. I need an editor i spose lol
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    378
    How hard is it to get the screen in and out of the headrest surround?
    I was hoping to use this as an easily removable dash mount although I note that there is no button or catch to "eject" it and that there is no simple plug so you would still have to disconnect all the cords.

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by stretch4x4 View Post
    How hard is it to get the screen in and out of the headrest surround?
    I was hoping to use this as an easily removable dash mount although I note that there is no button or catch to "eject" it and that there is no simple plug so you would still have to disconnect all the cords.

    Cheers
    It's actually pretty snug when its in the shroud. The shroud has holes on the back that you're supposed to use to push the monitor out, but you can also slide a thin object into the top and pry it out that way if you wish. I WILL be using the shroud to do my install in my wife's minivan. It pretty much makes it so you dont have to open the monitor bezel to do an install. Huge plus!
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  8. #8
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    378
    Thanks for that.
    Do you have a thread for the minivan yet? If not can you post it when you do get around to it

    Cheers

  9. #9
    Mod - iPad Forums RipplingHurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    2,176
    Thanks for all the updated info, very informative.

  10. #10
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,161
    Blog Entries
    51
    Angled pics of the unit (dont pay any mind to the discoloration i was using quick-shot and my focus points were off). Screen wasn't too bad at any angle.. the pics dont really do it justice. The brightness of the display helps overcome some of the glare the angled shots.



    pic of the screen vertically flipped



    horizontally flipped


    and one more thing that i liked about the screen that really isnt relevant to car PC use. The mount for the screen is a real mount. It supports the weight of the monitor and doesnt tilt over like all the new lilliput mounts do without adhesive

    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: IBox In-dash Monitor
    By dyyzff in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 10:49 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 01:14 AM
  3. FAQ: Touchscreens explained
    By RedGTiVR6 in forum The FAQ Emporium
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 10:10 AM
  4. f/s: 7" Touch Screen VGA monitor
    By goomba in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 05:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •