Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Hardware Review: Rupel iVox102h HD SSD Driving Recorder

  1. #11
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,154
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Enforcer View Post
    That is a nasty mess
    agreed. One knock i forgot to mention in the review is that there are 4 separate connections at the device. There should probably be one proprietary connector at the base with a breakout cable downline somewhere. But when you consider that 3 of those connections are completely optional, i guess its not too bad
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  2. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Round Rock, Texas, United States
    Posts
    24
    I'm pretty interested in integrating this for SCCA Solo Autocross race run recording.

    You say it can't output recorded video to a typical 7" Car PC screen? That could be a deal killer. But I assume it could output live video as captured to the Video screen while it's taking them right ?
    08' WRX - lightly prepared for D-stock autocross
    1994 BMW M3/25is - Heavily prepared for SM class autocross
    OBD1 :( no carputer fo the Bimmer

  3. #13
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,154
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by murphyslaww View Post
    I'm pretty interested in integrating this for SCCA Solo Autocross race run recording.

    You say it can't output recorded video to a typical 7" Car PC screen? That could be a deal killer. But I assume it could output live video as captured to the Video screen while it's taking them right ?
    I said you can't play back the video through the software on a 7" screen because the software has a set resolution which is far beyond 800x600. You do have the option of watching the video in any video playback software like VLC (which is actually included on the hard drive).
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  4. #14
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    210
    I have one of these:

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/vehicle...-sd-card-48415

    Positives : Cheaper, smaller, memory upgradeable, settings can be changed, only needs one wire - power. Works in 0 lux (I.e, pitch black darkness). 105 degree wide angle lens. Can be used as legal evidence (A prostitute got into my car and sexually assaulted me - she's due in court and the video/audio captured will be used as evidence against her!)

    Negatives: No rearview camera, no tv out support. Data string is written on top in white which is impossible to see when it's cloudy outside! Can be quite picky about which memory card is used.

    For example, I have tried Micro-SD's but those overheat when recording and then fail to record any further. Low transfer speed cards stutter sometimes. I use a Sandisk Extreme 4Gb Class 10 SD card and it's been working fine.

    http://youtu.be/h9nlR-lLT88

    What I captured ^

  5. #15
    Maximum Bitrate stonestatue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Huntsville, AL (Atlanta, GA temporarily)
    Posts
    487
    I'm thinking of getting a dedicated police camera setup, those things you see police use in their cars. They are reliable but expensive as hell ($2,000+).
    Check out my GMC Savana worklog.

    Remaining tasks to facilitate vanputer installation codename "Enterprise":
    - Edit skin to liking.
    - Get compatible phone for mobilephone.net.
    - Facilitate HVAC control.

  6. #16
    Maximum Bitrate stonestatue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Huntsville, AL (Atlanta, GA temporarily)
    Posts
    487
    There might be a way to clean up all those wires, like perhaps split loom?
    Check out my GMC Savana worklog.

    Remaining tasks to facilitate vanputer installation codename "Enterprise":
    - Edit skin to liking.
    - Get compatible phone for mobilephone.net.
    - Facilitate HVAC control.

  7. #17
    Maximum Bitrate stonestatue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Huntsville, AL (Atlanta, GA temporarily)
    Posts
    487
    How did you acquire this camera? Did the company send it to you to beta test and/or as a promo? I'd like to get my hands on one.
    Check out my GMC Savana worklog.

    Remaining tasks to facilitate vanputer installation codename "Enterprise":
    - Edit skin to liking.
    - Get compatible phone for mobilephone.net.
    - Facilitate HVAC control.

  8. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    47
    i just bought one at first view ... the software suck's

    and i'm missing a image and the image are reverse...and the setting window are **** up...

    will try to see what the **** is happening and if you go on there site it's almost all in koreen

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 03:41 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 06:35 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 06:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •