Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Hardware Review: Car/Droid Double Din All In One Car Multimedia System

  1. #21
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    HiJackZX1


    DOnt most phones have HDMI or some adapter to give it an HDMI port. My EVO has a mini HDMI.
    this is true however i'm thinking of how i would install my setup, i would rather dock the phone and have media and charging, clean and simple as possible, otherwise you have to hook in HDMI cable and charger every time you get into your car....just more of a mess.

    customgadz is actually taking payment for the setups now, however the picture says pre-order so im not sure if it's released or what the time frame might be.

    on another note my streak setup is driving me nuts, i originally had it docked all the time with the dock plugged into the accessory wiring so that my unit screen would come on and shut off with the key, however i would always wake up to my tablet being dead due to something that drained it over night, causeing my to pull my dash off and power it back on manually all the time. i just rewired it to constant 12v power but need to find a trigger to wake up and shut off the screen....for the life of me i don't know what to use, i have 3 bluetooth devices in my truck that i can pair with but none of them i can connect too and use as triggers. i could use the accelerometer i guess but i wouldn't have a way to shut it down once i left. i've heard of people using text message triggers but my device isn't active to any network. if i could find a way to make my unit boot on external power i'd be set.

  2. #22
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    aaannnndddd i just bit the bullet on a 620 ca-fi unit, haven't gotten a shipping confirmation on it yet but hopefully won't be too long. i'll be sure to throw together a in depth review when i recieve it.

  3. #23
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,169
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by zr2ee View Post
    aaannnndddd i just bit the bullet on a 620 ca-fi unit, haven't gotten a shipping confirmation on it yet but hopefully won't be too long. i'll be sure to throw together a in depth review when i recieve it.
    sounds good. Very interested in how it works out for you!
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  4. #24
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    60
    Im looking for a Android car stereo solution too.
    Does anyone have the Ca-Fi 701200? What is the cost and where to buy? Seems as the specs have improved.

    Is the Bybyte unit acutally produced by this company? And their newer model has Android 2.3 on it
    However the deal breaker for me on this unit is the company says it is not Dual Zone, so you cannot use the Navigation and play music at the sametime?! Which is odd because Android 2.3 on a phone does this fine.?!
    Can anyone confirm this?

    Have a look at this unit from Foryou
    Looks pretty good, and the Youtube video make it look like it has decent screen performance. But where the hell do you buy it from? No availablity or pricing on this thing.

  5. #25
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by jabz View Post
    Im looking for a Android car stereo solution too.
    Does anyone have the Ca-Fi 701200? What is the cost and where to buy? Seems as the specs have improved.

    Is the Bybyte unit acutally produced by this company? And their newer model has Android 2.3 on it
    However the deal breaker for me on this unit is the company says it is not Dual Zone, so you cannot use the Navigation and play music at the sametime?! Which is odd because Android 2.3 on a phone does this fine.?!
    Can anyone confirm this?

    Have a look at this unit from Foryou
    Looks pretty good, and the Youtube video make it look like it has decent screen performance. But where the hell do you buy it from? No availablity or pricing on this thing.
    Dual zone means you can not have a screen in the front and one in the rear seats doing their own thing. Everyone is stuck doing the same thing.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  6. #26
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    60
    Ok they confirmed it has the multitasking ability and you can listen to Radio + Gps Navigation too.
    So maybe this Erisin ES777A isnt too bad with a 1GHz CPU, 512MB RAM and Android 2.3 it puts it on par with the Ca-Fi 701200
    and is $450 cheaper than the current Ca-Fi model, the 701200 will be even more I suspect.

  7. #27
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,169
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by jabz View Post
    Im looking for a Android car stereo solution too.
    Does anyone have the Ca-Fi 701200? What is the cost and where to buy? Seems as the specs have improved.

    Is the Bybyte unit acutally produced by this company? And their newer model has Android 2.3 on it
    However the deal breaker for me on this unit is the company says it is not Dual Zone, so you cannot use the Navigation and play music at the sametime?! Which is odd because Android 2.3 on a phone does this fine.?!
    Can anyone confirm this?

    Have a look at this unit from Foryou
    Looks pretty good, and the Youtube video make it look like it has decent screen performance. But where the hell do you buy it from? No availablity or pricing on this thing.
    Looks like maybe a new generation. Hardware looks the same from the outside, but the unit i reviewed did not have a camera and this one appears to. If you really want an android 2 DIN the ca-fi was the best available one i saw at CES. However, Parrot has the Asteroid 2DIN android head unit coming out soon and that absolutely blows every other system i've seen out of the water.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  8. #28
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    there was definately a large push into the automotive market this year at CES with multiple simulations of digital dashboards, gauge clusters and heads up displays. there was a lot of android integration into everything this year and a few headunit diplays. I agree with sonicxtacy that the parrot display was intriquing and it will likely be a popular choice, however some may not like the heavy customization and reliance on independant API's they have integrated. the hardware however is very clean and powerful.

    i myself have a ca-fi unit but only the 620 model as the 701 model wont be available until sometime this spring, i haven't had much time to play around with the unit yet as i haven't had a chance to install it but overall i don't have any complaints. you are going to have to do some customizing to get some of your favorite features on there such as the android market, voice search, gestures, custom keyboard etc. biggest setback right now is that i can't view any video's due to the park feature and the harness that's supposed to have a park wire does not. i'm working to get the issue figured out as well as how to set up the steering wheel controls.

    as for the bybyte unit it's a great idea but horriible implimentation. from the demo it looks like it's running a emulated version of android on top of windows CE which is more that likely why it's horribly choppy not to mention i wouldn't trust the hardware. hopefully there will be some improvements in the future.

    here are all the android headunit options i have found available to coming available lately.


  9. #29
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    I'm curious if this model, or the updated model will play video while in motion. Can anyone verify this please?

  10. #30
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    I'll be super-interested in this unit as soon as I someone tells me that I can run CyanogenMod can run on the tablet. Or, if I can swap a faster CM-compatible tablet for the one provided with the unit.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: Connect2Car Anywhere G2 vehicle security system
    By Sonicxtacy02 in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 09:17 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 12:59 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 06:17 PM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •