Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Hardware Review: OBDLink MX Bluetooth OBD-II Reader

  1. #11
    FLAC -zip-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    1,293
    Nice write up. I use the OBDII Link wired version, just purchased it last year. How long did you test it for? I found running the wired version for long periods of time 45 mins+ reading while at highway speed, there would be intances where the reader would hang (freeze). I would consider moving over to bluetooth once they do a fix for the Iphone, fix the freezing issue and lower the cost. I also had a very scary moment where it tripped my tire pressure sensors to always be ON. Nissan almost refused to reset the CPU, I convinced them to try it. It took several attempts but finally cleared. The Scantool guys were able to fix the problem but it was very scary and was shocked that a read only device could affect the sensors of my 350z.

    Another concern is the amount of bluetooth devices connected at the same time. Iphone, Mini Dinovo Keyboard. How many devices did you hook up?
    2008 350z GT Installed since April 22nd 2011 - Worklog
    2000 Protege Installed Since April 2, 2005 - Intel D201GLY|Fusion Brain|ODBPros ODBII|Engenius|GPS Rikaline|Powermate|Motorized Lilli
    Sound Stage
    Eclipse|MTX|Infinity

  2. #12
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,146
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by -zip- View Post
    Nice write up. I use the OBDII Link wired version, just purchased it last year. How long did you test it for? I found running the wired version for long periods of time 45 mins+ reading while at highway speed, there would be intances where the reader would hang (freeze). I would consider moving over to bluetooth once they do a fix for the Iphone, fix the freezing issue and lower the cost. I also had a very scary moment where it tripped my tire pressure sensors to always be ON. Nissan almost refused to reset the CPU, I convinced them to try it. It took several attempts but finally cleared. The Scantool guys were able to fix the problem but it was very scary and was shocked that a read only device could affect the sensors of my 350z.

    Another concern is the amount of bluetooth devices connected at the same time. Iphone, Mini Dinovo Keyboard. How many devices did you hook up?
    I had it running on a recent 3 hour roundtrip without issue. Perhaps that issue is solved, but i dont know exactly how long it'd take to make it freeze.

    As for bluetooth devices connected i've had as many as 3. The OBDLink, Android smartphone, and apple BT keyboard. No issues in that regard, and i'm using a 5 year old "el cheapo" dongle.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  3. #13
    Maximum Bitrate david69leonard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    521
    Will they be coming out with a USB version of this since USB has a higher bandwith? That I would be interested in purchasing...

  4. #14
    SuperMod - OBDII GPS Logger forum
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    929
    The USB version is out for a while: http://www.scantool.net/
    OBDLink is the main dongle, which comes in wifi/bluetooth/usb flavors. Lots of variants, such as the SX which is a lot smaller...

    They're all based on [I believe] this chip: http://www.scantool.net/stn1110.html

    [Until I got this one, I'd been using a bluetooth/USB OBDLink]. It's worth noting that in my limited testing so far, the bluetooth doesn't seem to have been the limiting factor; I think the limiting factor is the underlying bus in the car. Not entirely sure, though.

    Gary (-;
    OBDGPSLogger, for logging OBDII and/or GPS data
    OBDSim, an OBDII/ELM327 software simulator
    mp3car forums: obdgpslogger, obdsim

  5. #15
    Maximum Bitrate david69leonard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    521
    So the SX is just as responsive as this MX bluetooth version? I have a little bit of lag with the generic one I am currently using, however, since it is USB I dont have any connectivity issues during hibernation, it always works regardless. According to scantool.net the MX is 400 times faster than any of the competition.

  6. #16
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,146
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by david69leonard View Post
    So the SX is just as responsive as this MX bluetooth version? I have a little bit of lag with the generic one I am currently using, however, since it is USB I dont have any connectivity issues during hibernation, it always works regardless. According to scantool.net the MX is 400 times faster than any of the competition.
    pretty sure the "competition" would be other bluetooth modules. Like Chunkyks said, bluetooth is not the limiting factor here. Unless you have a high-speed CANbus network in your car the MX will work for your application.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  7. #17
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    70
    I got my MX already and the best part about it is the fact that it has Single Wire CAN and MS CAN. I have GM car and now I can send and receive messages on the SW CAN. This is where the fun stuff is at anyway.
    Hack your car's CAN BUS at www.canbushack.com

  8. #18
    VENDOR - ScanTool Vitaliy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by david69leonard View Post
    According to scantool.net the MX is 400 times faster than any of the competition.
    Correction: it says that OBDLink MX is "up to 400 percent faster", not "400 times". There is a difference.
    OBDLink MX: world's smallest, fastest, most advanced OBD/Bluetooth adapter with SW and MS CAN support. Read the review to learn more.
    — Need to look up a diagnostic trouble code? Try the most up-to-date, free DTCsearch.com!

    You cannot send me a private message using this forum. Use my email instead: vitaliy[@]scantool.net.

  9. #19
    licensed to kill - FKA kev000
    Auto Apps:loading...
    tripzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    16.40618, 120.61106
    Posts
    2,560
    I will echo Chunky and Sonic that this is an extremely well built device. Even the packaging wow'd me. I was able to modify my SWCAN code using the new "mx" command set and it worked on the first try and I was very impressed at the speed and the responsiveness to sending commands on the CAN bus.

    It's not working out of the box with malcom's libobd library which is what my software uses for OBD-II stuff and I'm trying to figure out why... Maybe I need to manually set it to one of the OBD-II protocols using the MX ST commands... AT SP 0 didn't do the trick.

    The range on the device isn't great. Advertised range is 30ft (iirc). I parked about 15 ft away from my apartment and sat on my couch next to the window and couldn't connect to it. This may actually be a good thing for security reasons IMO.

    The SW and MS CAN features are awesome. This was the primary feature that motivated my purchase.

    One thing that I would suggest for future versions is to use bluetooth 4's BLE feature for low energy. This feature may help with power consumption when the vehicle is off and bluetooth isn't connected http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluetooth_low_energy .

    A special read/write mode would be nice as well. This would allow you to read and write messages without potentially missing a beat.

    Great and exciting product.
    -tripzero
    Former author of LinuxICE, nghost, nobdy.
    Current author of Automotive Message Broker (AMB).
    Works on Tizen IVI. Does not represent anyone or anything but himself.

  10. #20
    North of the land of Hey Huns
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Westminster, MD
    Posts
    2,144
    Quote Originally Posted by tripzero View Post
    It's not working out of the box with malcom's libobd library which is what my software uses for OBD-II stuff and I'm trying to figure out why... Maybe I need to manually set it to one of the OBD-II protocols using the MX ST commands... AT SP 0 didn't do the trick
    I wish I could afford one, I'd be able to get it working fairly quickly, but I'm sure working with tripzero, we'll be able to figure it out
    "stop with the REINSTALLS, what do you think we got some lame-o installer!!!" - mitchjs
    RevFE
    My Shop

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi OBDLink review suggestions
    By Moysie in forum Engine Management, OBD-II, Engine Diagnostics, etc.
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 10:55 AM
  2. Hardware Review: OBDLink by Scantool.net
    By Moysie in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 01:15 PM
  3. OBDLink Review
    By Moysie in forum Engine Management, OBD-II, Engine Diagnostics, etc.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 09:50 AM
  4. OBDlink CI - Scantool.net Product Review
    By jusjake in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 01:55 PM
  5. Hardware review - scantool.net; OBDlink CI
    By jusjake in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 02:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •