Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Hardware Review: OBDLink MX Bluetooth OBD-II Reader

  1. #1
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,114
    Blog Entries
    49

    Hardware Review: OBDLink MX Bluetooth OBD-II Reader


    What is it?

    The OBDLink MX is the smallest & fastest bluetooth capable OBD-II device available today

    The Verdict:

    The OBDLink MX makes it all too clear that there's a large difference in effectiveness between generic and high-end OBD-II adapters. It's fast, small, and installs in seconds to any OBD-II capable automobile. Fact is, the OBDLink MX is the best OBD-II option to date.

    What’s in the box?

    The OBDLink MX comes with the OBD-II adapter, start guides for windows and android applications, and a licensed copy of Scantool.net OBDWiz software.


    Description:

    In 2007, I ventured into the OBD-II adapter market in search of a simple device to read as much data as my car was capable of providing. There were many options, mainly of the USB variety, which did nothing in my opinion to differentiate themselves from a generic "cheap" reader. This idea in mind, I went on good old Ebay and purchased a generic ELM327 OBD-II module. To this day, it still works. It doesn't update any more than 3 sensors per second, is not compatible with my newer secondary vehicle, and isn't anything I'd show off at all, but it works. It wasn't until I got a hands-on demo of the new OBDLink MX that I realized the world of difference a high-quality OBD-II reader is capable of.


    The very first thing that jumped out at me is how small this device is. In my cramped Acura RSX cabin, the generic reader does its best job at poking my leg every time I go full throttle. With no heavy gauge wire protruding, and being just a smidgen over the size of the OBD-II connector itself, the OBDLink MX gives me no problems in this arena. I will note that the indicator LEDs (four of them, each a different color) on the device's face do somewhat light up the underside of my dash a bit at night, but the positioning of most OBD-II connectors will mitigate this small issue.


    Equally as impressive as the size of the OBDLink MX is just how fast it is. Despite my primary vehicle sporting the ancient ISO protocol, the OBDLink MX provides PID updates at a noticeably faster rate than my generic ELM module. It's not real-time, but the information i want from my OBD-II system comes at a rate that is 5 times greater than the generic device. When you consider that this increase comes over a bluetooth virtual serial port versus the higher bandwidth USB port of the generic unit, that's darn impressive. Connecting the OBDLink to my Android smartphone is equally as easy as installation with a windows PC, and seems to make the PIDs update even faster, though some of that may be software manipulation at work. Either way, the device provides OBD-II data at a far greater interval than the PLX Kiwi Wifi OBD-II device I reviewed some time ago.

    To attempt to truly gauge the speed and compatibility of the OBDLink MX, I borrowed a buddy's later model Mazda RX-8. Utilizing it's medium-speed CAN bus protocol, the OBDLink MX provides data in an absolute fury. This is the absolute manner in which I envisioned receiving OBD-II values back in 2007. Using the OBDLink over CAN bus appears real-time, indeed.

    On top of these benefits, the OBDLink creates a solution that several other OBD-II devices ignore. When connected, other OBD-II adapters will drain your battery while the car is parked. The OBDLink MX is programmed to automatically shut off if activity is not detected on the bus for 10 minutes. This is feature that should be considered invaluable to a person who wishes to install this device permanently but frequently leaves there car parked for days at a time. The device also has built-in encryption methods which deem it "unhackable" by its creators.


    It is hard to find a fault in a device which does what it intends to faster than it's competitors with a smaller footprint. The small quips I've encountered with the OBDLink MX include its current incompatibility with iPod devices, including the iPhone and iPad. I was unable to connect to and poll data from the MX despite using a variety of apps. The only other nitpick I discovered in testing isn't really a fault to the creator at all, but the Bluesoleil bluetooth stack. The device at times will have trouble reestablishing a connection after resume from hibernation. The windows bluetooth stack showed no problem what so ever however. Based on other experiences, I will chalk that up to a Bluesoleil problem.

    The Positive:

    • Fastest OBD-II device I've encountered, even with outdated protocols
    • Smallest bluetooth capable device on the market
    • Easy one-touch installation method
    • Fully compatible with PCs and android (without root)
    • OBD-II software included with visual gauge support and logging
    • Can be easily removed and swapped into any OBD-II vehicle
    • Battery saving technology built into the device
    • Hack-Proof encryption


    The Negative:

    • Resume issues with Bluesoleil stack
    • Not currently compatible with iPod product line
    • Bit of a light show in the driver foot well at night when connected



    The Verdict:

    The OBDLink MX makes it all too clear that there's a large difference in effectiveness between generic and high-end OBD-II adapters. It's fast, small, and installs in seconds to any OBDII capable automobile. Fact is, the OBDLink MX is the best OBD-II option to date.

  2. #2
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,114
    Blog Entries
    49
    This device is scheduled to be released to the public later this month. Any questions, comments, please feel free to send them my way.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonicxtacy02 View Post
    To attempt to truly gauge the speed and compatibility of the OBDLink MX, I borrowed a buddy's later model Mazda RX-8. Utilizing it's medium-speed CAN bus protocol, the OBDLink MX provides data in an absolute fury. This is the absolute manner in which I envisioned receiving OBD-II values back in 2007. Using the OBDLink over CAN bus appears real-time, indeed.
    Wondering what software have you used for this? OBDWiz supports Mazda extended PIDs or?

  4. #4
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,114
    Blog Entries
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by marlasr View Post
    Wondering what software have you used for this? OBDWiz supports Mazda extended PIDs or?
    I honestly only had interest in the speed of acquiring the standard PIDs. I know that extended PIDs vary widely between different models of cars, so I have enough of a sample to compare one to another.

    I tested the device with the included OBDWiz software, as well as my own software product which utilizes this C# OBD Wrapper. Is there a particular product you'd like me to test for the extended PIDs?
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonicxtacy02 View Post
    I honestly only had interest in the speed of acquiring the standard PIDs. I know that extended PIDs vary widely between different models of cars, so I have enough of a sample to compare one to another.
    So, you were querying Mazda's MS-CAN using standard PIDs? And got response?
    Or was it just passive CAN sniffing? I have little difficulties with understanding what you exactly did by "Utilizing (Mazda's) medium-speed CAN bus protocol". Maybe I am just wrong with thinking how this works... I was under impression OBDLink MX's MS CAN feature is for raw bus sniffing. That would involve listening to and collecting data, analyzing, reverse engineering, do some app to interpret the frames flying around...

  6. #6
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,114
    Blog Entries
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by marlasr View Post
    So, you were querying Mazda's MS-CAN using standard PIDs? And got response?
    Or was it just passive CAN sniffing? I have little difficulties with understanding what you exactly did by "Utilizing (Mazda's) medium-speed CAN bus protocol". Maybe I am just wrong with thinking how this works... I was under impression OBDLink MX's MS CAN feature is for raw bus sniffing. That would involve listening to and collecting data, analyzing, reverse engineering, do some app to interpret the frames flying around...
    The only thing i did to test was connect the unit, click auto-detect in the software and check for values, i was able to see RPM, Speed, and other values. It wasn't my car, so I wasnt interested in tinkering too much with the communication system i'm not too familiar with
    Last edited by Sonicxtacy02; 01-03-2012 at 03:39 PM.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    64
    Any word on pricing?

  8. #8
    North of the land of Hey Huns
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Westminster, MD
    Posts
    2,144
    Quote Originally Posted by CyberBill View Post
    Any word on pricing?
    http://www.scantool.net/scan-tools/p...bdlink-mx.html $200 :/. Quite the price tag, but it looks like it's well worth it.
    "stop with the REINSTALLS, what do you think we got some lame-o installer!!!" - mitchjs
    RevFE
    My Shop

  9. #9
    SuperMod - OBDII GPS Logger forum
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    929
    It's also worth noting that the build quality is perfect. You know how so many cheapie things about that big, you pick them up and they're really light... you squeeze them in the middle and they flex... the MX has none of that. It feels like a physically very high quality device. The sticker on the end for the LED indicators isn't just a vinyl sticker, it actually feels like one of those rigid sticky-backed things that will never, ever, peel off. It's the little things, you know?

    I also notice that it's blazing fast.

    The "unhackable" thing is genius, if you ask me. It's trivially simple, in that to pair it you need physical access to the device [to hit a button], while it's powered up. Other bluetooth OBDII dongles all sit there advertising themselves the whole time. This one doesn't. Such a simple thing but genius things always are, *after* someone else thinks of it

    On power, my OBDLink2 came with the power saving settings off by default [the ST commands for wakeup and sleep voltage], which meant I had to go in and tweak to make it not flatten my battery. It's worth noting that once I had, that thing hasn't flattened a car battery since, and I rarely drive my car anymore. This device does low power mode automatically out of the box, which I'm delighted with, and is otherwise the same chip internally [I believe].

    Finally, I'd note the size; one of the things that made me kinda-sorta slow my work on OBDII for a while was I simply don't have enough space under the seat of my bike to really get much stuff in. This is literally small enough that it can tuck back into the gap that the OBDII plug itself pulls out of. I'm getting something for nothing on space with this device, which... makes a really, really big difference.


    In conclusion: This is my new device-of-choice for all my OBDII needs. The OBDLink2 will probably keep living in the car, but this thing is infinitely more portable and better for the bike.

    Gary (-;
    OBDGPSLogger, for logging OBDII and/or GPS data
    OBDSim, an OBDII/ELM327 software simulator
    mp3car forums: obdgpslogger, obdsim

  10. #10
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,114
    Blog Entries
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by CyberBill View Post
    Any word on pricing?
    scantool.net has the device listed at $199.95

    Quote Originally Posted by chunkyks View Post
    It's also worth noting that the build quality is perfect. You know how so many cheapie things about that big, you pick them up and they're really light... you squeeze them in the middle and they flex... the MX has none of that. It feels like a physically very high quality device. The sticker on the end for the LED indicators isn't just a vinyl sticker, it actually feels like one of those rigid sticky-backed things that will never, ever, peel off. It's the little things, you know?

    I also notice that it's blazing fast.

    The "unhackable" thing is genius, if you ask me. It's trivially simple, in that to pair it you need physical access to the device [to hit a button], while it's powered up. Other bluetooth OBDII dongles all sit there advertising themselves the whole time. This one doesn't. Such a simple thing but genius things always are, *after* someone else thinks of it

    On power, my OBDLink2 came with the power saving settings off by default [the ST commands for wakeup and sleep voltage], which meant I had to go in and tweak to make it not flatten my battery. It's worth noting that once I had, that thing hasn't flattened a car battery since, and I rarely drive my car anymore. This device does low power mode automatically out of the box, which I'm delighted with, and is otherwise the same chip internally [I believe].

    Finally, I'd note the size; one of the things that made me kinda-sorta slow my work on OBDII for a while was I simply don't have enough space under the seat of my bike to really get much stuff in. This is literally small enough that it can tuck back into the gap that the OBDII plug itself pulls out of. I'm getting something for nothing on space with this device, which... makes a really, really big difference.


    In conclusion: This is my new device-of-choice for all my OBDII needs. The OBDLink2 will probably keep living in the car, but this thing is infinitely more portable and better for the bike.

    Gary (-;

    Always glad to hear someone else agrees with my sentiment. Using this device compared to my el-cheapo is like night and day. Top notch!
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi OBDLink review suggestions
    By Moysie in forum Engine Management, OBD-II, Engine Diagnostics, etc.
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 10:55 AM
  2. Hardware Review: OBDLink by Scantool.net
    By Moysie in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 01:15 PM
  3. OBDLink Review
    By Moysie in forum Engine Management, OBD-II, Engine Diagnostics, etc.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 09:50 AM
  4. OBDlink CI - Scantool.net Product Review
    By jusjake in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 01:55 PM
  5. Hardware review - scantool.net; OBDlink CI
    By jusjake in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 02:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •