Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: need some opinions

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    289

    need some opinions

    Building my first carputer, and i have done alot of reading since i have joined this forum. I am very torn to witch direction i want to go.....what i mean is, should i build a pc with regular parts or should i get the mini MB? I know the mini's take less power but what about expandability? I want to install a SB X-FI sound card and some extra USB ports via PCI, but i cant do that with a mini MB can i? Some have one PC-i slot but i would like the option of being able to expand. Also cases are much easier to come by for regular systems.

    Whats everyones 2 cents on this? Thanks In advance

    cheers

  2. #2
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    mini-ITX is the way to go IMHO.

    Not only less power needed, but generally less heat needed as well.

    You have to consider being able to power a larger board with the avaliable PSUs.

    Why are you bent on the X-FI card? There are other cards out there that are just as good if not better...even in USB.

    Regarding the USB PCI card...use a powered hub....simple.

    Your comment about cases has be slightly worried...are you just planning on sitting a tower in your trunk?

    There are cases out there (Opus) that have 2 PCI slots anyways and include the 2 PCI slot riser card (1 PCI slot -> 2 PCI slots).
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    289
    Quote Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
    mini-ITX is the way to go IMHO.

    Not only less power needed, but generally less heat needed as well.

    You have to consider being able to power a larger board with the avaliable PSUs.

    Why are you bent on the X-FI card? There are other cards out there that are just as good if not better...even in USB.

    Regarding the USB PCI card...use a powered hub....simple.

    Your comment about cases has be slightly worried...are you just planning on sitting a tower in your trunk?

    There are cases out there (Opus) that have 2 PCI slots anyways and include the 2 PCI slot riser card (1 PCI slot -> 2 PCI slots).
    no i wouldnt dare put a tower in my car LOL i would love to hide it away thats why im going to do the mini ITX but im interested in seeing this riser card....is the case expensive do you know? thanks

  4. #4
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    the store here has the case. check there for pricing. there are two cases that might meet your needs.
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

Similar Threads

  1. Innovatek/Protec/Redpower 993 3.5" Screen DVD Media Player Opinions
    By AstraSte in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 11:56 AM
  2. Opinions on Overclocking
    By kamikaze2112 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-27-2006, 03:09 AM
  3. I want opinions
    By ebacherville in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 08:34 PM
  4. need opinions on a mini-itx case
    By a17_track_350z in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 01:15 PM
  5. 2nd opinion(s) wanted
    By sablewagon in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2001, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •