Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need some Review

  1. #1
    Newbie patsfanwilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Central Kansas
    Posts
    13

    Red face Need some Review

    I have been on this forum for along time looking at everyone's setups. This is my first carputer install and im trying to make sure i have everything right (or close to it). I have attached a diagram of my setup. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Constant Bitrate Ramb0_Command0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NW Pennsylvania
    Posts
    117
    I'm assuming the blue box is a relay or something because you wouldn't want to supply your 12v+ to everything off of the ACC wire.

    For the monitors you might want to look into running a power wire from the computer's power supply for more regulated power.

    Also, don't forget about your signal wires, like monitor cables, speaker wires, etc.
    Car PC Project Status
    Audio......[====================] 100%
    Computer.[====================] 100%
    Car.........[====================] 30%
    <------ If my information is helpful, give me some rep! The scale thingy :)

  3. #3
    Newbie patsfanwilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Central Kansas
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramb0_Command0 View Post
    I'm assuming the blue box is a relay or something because you wouldn't want to supply your 12v+ to everything off of the ACC wire.

    For the monitors you might want to look into running a power wire from the computer's power supply for more regulated power.

    Also, don't forget about your signal wires, like monitor cables, speaker wires, etc.
    The blue box is a Relay. Sorry about that.

    If im assuming correct the power out of the pc's power supply turns off with the ignition. Correct me if im wrong. The only problem i could figure is i would like to leave the lilliput on without the pc being on. (To watch dvd's from the JVC DVD player)

    I have all the audio/video cables. Just didnt put them in the diagram.

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate Ramb0_Command0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NW Pennsylvania
    Posts
    117
    Yes, the power supply shuts off after a delay (u can usually set it) and would also shut off the power to your LCD, you are correct.

    I would look into a 12v regulator or something then, the monitors can handle higher and lower voltages, but if the backlight is CCFL then you run the risk of burning the backlight out prematurely if it gets over the recommended voltage. I don't know if you need to worry about this if its LED backlight.

    Also I'm just curious, what do you mean by JVC DVD player, like is it a regular indoor DVD player or is it a HU with video out or something?
    Car PC Project Status
    Audio......[====================] 100%
    Computer.[====================] 100%
    Car.........[====================] 30%
    <------ If my information is helpful, give me some rep! The scale thingy :)

  5. #5
    Newbie patsfanwilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Central Kansas
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramb0_Command0 View Post
    Yes, the power supply shuts off after a delay (u can usually set it) and would also shut off the power to your LCD, you are correct.

    I would look into a 12v regulator or something then, the monitors can handle higher and lower voltages, but if the backlight is CCFL then you run the risk of burning the backlight out prematurely if it gets over the recommended voltage. I don't know if you need to worry about this if its LED backlight.

    Also I'm just curious, what do you mean by JVC DVD player, like is it a regular indoor DVD player or is it a HU with video out or something?
    The DVD player is a JVC KD-DV5400. Its an indash cd/mp3/dvd player that has video out.

    Also the Lilliput 629GL is LED backlit.

  6. #6
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    i am not a big fan of those terminal blocks, esp. for the ign line-- you really don't even need to fuse it...

    i have hooked up my 629 to constant car power, and it will go into standby mode after the computer turns off, though i don't need to switch inputs, so not sure if it will work as you need--you will need to try it out your self.

    personally, i would move the switches around, and add a couple-- first, i would add one that would send a constant 12 volts to the relay, so that i can turn everything on while the car is off,

    then i would hook up one to the lilli, and carputer, with a diode for the lilli(to keep the jvc from turning on)
    then i would hook up another one for the jvc and lilli again with a diode(to keep the carputer from turning on)
    though i would keep the switch for the larger monitor, so that can stay off, unless needed.

    now that i think about it, i would probably keep another switch just for the lilli, so that i could turn it off if i just wanted the jvc, and large screen running...

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware review: GP83 DC-DC Intelligent ATX PSU
    By mrbean_phillip in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 04:54 PM
  2. Hardware Review: IBox In-dash Monitor
    By dyyzff in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 10:49 AM
  3. Review: M4-ATX 250 Watt Intelligent Power Supply
    By Bugbyte in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 08:52 AM
  4. XENARC 700 IDT Review and ...and I need help
    By hondamac in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 06:39 PM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •