Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: help me please... all opinions are welcomed

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation help me please... all opinions are welcomed

    hey guys im a newbie therefore i can post here correct????


    i just bought my in car pc off a guy i know for very good price and im super excited to get this thing going...

    i got an intel essential series with atom inside ... he gave me some software with it to that has gps with it

    so heres my question:

    for a screen i was looking at buying a double din off ebay probably one of these;

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Double-DIN-Lilli...item255725b11b

    is that ok monitor... looks pretty good with vga connector and all but then again i was looking at some other stuff to and just wondering if it was possible to use a base touch screen radio from any manufacture and use the video inputs for hook up???


    after that thought i figured if i couldnt use a monitor like that... is it possible to get am/fm radio on my pc without major changes???


    info needed dearly

    thanks mike

  2. #2
    Constant Bitrate Ramb0_Command0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NW Pennsylvania
    Posts
    117
    First Off, Welcome to mp3car.

    I would look around the reviews subforum for reviews on that monitor, I imagine there are some there since its a brand name monitor. The touchscreen from a nav unit idea has been done but it has to be from certain units, you can find more info in the LCD subforum.

    The AM/FM radio can be done fairly easily, you just need a computer controllable radio recevier, Visteon or Directed, I forget the exact models but search around for those makes and you should find info, Also the mp3car store is going to start selling a similar unit.

    Help this helps, Don't forget to SEARCH Good Luck
    Car PC Project Status
    Audio......[====================] 100%
    Computer.[====================] 100%
    Car.........[====================] 30%
    <------ If my information is helpful, give me some rep! The scale thingy :)

  3. #3
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,820
    It is possible to use a standard composite video input monitor, but the problem lies in the clarity of the video- for it to work, you need to use a VGA to composite adapter, and because computers output video at a hover resolution, the convertor will degrade the signal to get composite output- which will make the display fuzzy.

    Then there is the issue with touch screen- there is no simple or cheap or cost effective way to get anything other than a USB/serial conneted touch screen to work.

    It is possible to do, but usually you end up needing to reverse engineer the entire touch screen controller board, and possibly it's control output.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    ok thank for info guys....


    another question however.... ive been looking at radio seeing how some ppl who ride with me dont like my music some wat so i was wondering about the xm i got on street deck and seeing how im "cheap".... any one in canada who does this lol or is it easier to just buy a radio tuner??? if any around for under $100???

    thanks
    mike

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    another newbie question and i swear i searched up and down the boards and online...

    ok heres my question...

    i have a mini itx board with audio (5.1 audio hd channel) i think
    it has only one audio in line port and audio out port... i wondering if i can still use my subs as well as hook up my speakers.... 6.5" in the front doors equipped with tweeters(2" in the dash) and 6x9's in the rear... and then i got 4 12" alpine type r's which i would like to hook up as well...

    is it even do-able to hook the speakers and the subs up to this board?

    i need major help on this one because every body else with subs seem to have sub out put or something lol

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate sargeants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    232
    So you're planning on removing your headunit and just run your carpc. If that's the case you'll need to get some amps.
    typically a 4channel for the 'normal' speakers and then a powerful one(or 2) for the subs
    03 Hyundai Elantra GT {Worklog}
    HP TC4400; 250GB SATA, WiFi, BT, 12.1" touch
    RideRunner; w/ mobilephone.net, OBDMPG, mediaart, RRMedia, DFXVoice and more...
    cmdRR tall skin creator

    86 Pontiac Fiero SE 2m6
    possible carpc install

  7. #7
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,820
    um, not sure if your asking for xm, or just standard radio-- either way, i know that there are modules that are made for carputers for either (mp3cars xm box, radioshark, and mitches cable for hd radio boxes), but i have no idea how well any of them work, as i don't use any.

    for getting the audio to the speakers, it is really up to you, there are as many ways to do this as there are to install a carputer. but all options require at least a 2 channel amp-- like what sargeants said. heres the most common:

    1: run the carputer into the aux input of the head unit

    2. run the carputer into a eq/crossover

    3. run the carputer straight to the amps, and use their built in crossovers.

    4. use a active crossover to split up the signal, like the clarion mcd360

    5. use computer software to split up, and change the audio signal, and then send it to the amps.
    http://www.mp3car.com/wiki/index.php...g_via_Software

    the last one can be the most technical, time consuming, and feature packed (you can use any vst plugins you want- from 32 band eq's, to time delays, to reverb, you can add whatever you want, and are only limited by processor load and number of outputs)

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    thanks for info guys... yea i plan on running 2 amps seeing how i have major power in my trunk(4 apline type r's)

    um another question, with the clarion crossover do i need to split the wire 3 times for the inputs or will it feed through all of them if i just use the top one?

  9. #9
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,820
    there are switches for each input to allow you to use 1, 2, or 3 pairs of inputs.

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    ok kool thanks for the info appreciate it greatly

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. External Soundcard opinions
    By boomintrac in forum High End Solutions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-01-2009, 06:54 PM
  2. Innovatek/Protec/Redpower 993 3.5" Screen DVD Media Player Opinions
    By AstraSte in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 11:56 AM
  3. Opinions on Overclocking
    By kamikaze2112 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-27-2006, 03:09 AM
  4. need opinions on a mini-itx case
    By a17_track_350z in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 01:15 PM
  5. 2nd opinion(s) wanted
    By sablewagon in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2001, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •