Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Just a quick thread to confirm something...

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    15

    Just a quick thread to confirm something...

    I have setup my carputer software wise, installed everything I need in my car (screen, ran cables to trunk). The only thing I have yet to install is the power cable, I have an M1-ATX. It has 3 cables. I am just confirming that all I will need to buy is something like an amp cabling kit with a fuse right near the battery. I would attach that to the positive on the battery, run that back to the M1 and connect that to the power line on that. Then, run a ground wire from either the negative on my battery back to the ground on my M1 or to a sanded off piece of metal in the trunk (to ensure it is grounded). The third wire, the ignition wire, goes to the ignition line somewhere in my car (i'd just splice it in). I know I ramble, but would this all be correct? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,950
    You're on the ball, amigo.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    15
    One more quick question. I'm not experienced with wiring, so I'm not sure. Should I use 10 or 8 gauge? Also, the wire that comes from the M1 is very small, maybe 20 gauge. Should I solder them together? How shall I get the most effective amount of electricity flowing? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    238
    Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I think you fuse again. One side of the fuse holder will have the 10 or 8 gauge wire coming in and the other end will connect to the M1's 20 gauge wire. In the middle will obviously be the fuse.

    I believe if you soldered the two wires together (no fuse holder) then you run the risk of the wire overheating, melting and possibly starting a fire.

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    For the + wire from the battery fuse as close to the battery as possible....as if there is a short the wire running thru the car is going to be the big fire hazard.
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by Shamingo
    One more quick question. I'm not experienced with wiring, so I'm not sure. Should I use 10 or 8 gauge? Also, the wire that comes from the M1 is very small, maybe 20 gauge. Should I solder them together? How shall I get the most effective amount of electricity flowing? Thanks.
    10 gauge is good for 30 amps and 8 gauge is good for 40 amps (roughly..I'm trying to remember this off the top of my head). So, depending on how many amps the M1 is capabable of drawing, that's how you'll decide on what guage wire you need.

    Personally, I wouldn't get an amp kit. Just get a spool of 10 gauge (or whatever gauge) stranded wire.
    Take 2 - '03 Audi A4
    macmini with an 8" widescreen (in progress)

    My 2004 Ford Ranger:
    14" LCD w/ custom made aluminum bezel
    Completly custom computer case

    status: Totaled

  7. #7
    FLAC J187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,237
    Don't run a ground all the way through your car. You'd do fine just to grind down some paint in the trunk, and ground to there. After ground is in place, spray a rust inhibitor over the whole thing to stop rust. Much easier and more convinient. Its not a bad idea if you would like fuse on both ends, one closest to the batter and the other closest to the PSU. Also, I don't know if you have an AM head unit, but I personally have my PSU iginition wired to my remote turn on wire from my head unit. This allows me to shut down my computer from inside my car by simply turning off my radio if I need to, Eg, It freezes up and stops responding. ...
    Its not the cards you're dealt, its how you play the hand!

    Quote Originally Posted by ryuandwings View Post
    Where can I get a roll of tin foil?
    I been looking for that all over the net, but I can't find it.
    Please help.

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    54
    i thought it was bad to run multiple things off of your remote line w/out a relay b/c it's only supposed to draw a certain amount of mA and if it's over-powered, then you can fry your hu, and/or start a fire.

  9. #9
    Newbie Teranfirbt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oregon State U!
    Posts
    30
    Generally things don't use much power for the IGN "switch" power, so he should be ok...

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    15
    Ok, so I'm sorta getting crossed signals here from people. I know I need to run 1 wire back from the battery's positive to the M1's positive. I will need a 10-20 amp fuse close to the battery in the front and I can put another 10-20 amp near the M1 if I want. For the ground wire, I should be good just sanding off a piece of metal in my trunk and connecting it there. For the IGN wire, I will need to find the IGN wire in my car, I have a friend who works for a Mazda dealership in the parts/repair department and he said he can find the IGN wire for me, I will just splice into this wire and then run to the IGN on the M1. I should probably use about 8-10 gauge wire for this. Here is my only other question, there will be a size difference between the wires coming out of the M1 (it seems to look like 16-20 gauge wire) and the size of these other wires (the 8-10 gauge). How should I physically connect these wires of differing sizes together? Should I solder them? I'm pretty good at soldering. Anywho, that's the only real questions I have anymore. Thanks a bunch for the help guys, I'll definitely post pics after I'm done.
    -aaron

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Thread on Touchscreen Power rewire
    By 35ounces in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-13-2005, 04:52 PM
  2. Updated Bugs and Requests thread
    By GReeToZ in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 02:28 AM
  3. How about creating a Downloads thread
    By pirate_king00 in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-10-2005, 06:01 PM
  4. Regarding thread subject names
    By magnetik in forum Mp3car Forum Suggestions/Comments
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-24-2002, 04:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •