Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 35 of 35

Thread: Windows Internet Time Update?

  1. #31
    Newbie JW™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Posts
    45
    Yep, if a workstation is a member of a domain, it automatically gets its time from one of the domain controllers. Funny thing is, when I have my notebook off the network, the Internet Time tab is there. Windows' implementation of NTP sucks, though, since it only updates once a week. When you're on a domain, it updates it throughout the day. I have one PC at home (that runs my Beyond TV setup) and its clock is very inaccurate.

    You may have to be an admin (like me ) to see the tab. I know that unless there's a group policy in place to allow it, an ordinary user can't even change the time zone.

    Another edit - maybe it was added with SP2? I don't recall seeing it before I installed SP2.
    JW™
    Powered By Sarcasm

    Ranger: Just bought all my replacement goodies
    Expy: Kenwood KDC-X579 from the Ranger; unknown speakers/amp & 10" Earthquake sub, that all came with the truck

  2. #32
    I see dead kittens Quattro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,922
    I am the admin on the server, running server 2003, I believe sp1 and I don't see that tab.
    Installed
    Asus A7N8X-VM - AMD Mobile Athlon 2400
    512 Ram - 60GB HD - Opus 150w
    Lilliput 7" - Rikaline 6010
    [00000000000001100010-] 98% Completed

    Check Out My Install!!!

  3. #33
    Newbie JW™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Valencia, CA
    Posts
    45
    My 2003 server at home has SP1 and has the tab. But, it's not a DC.
    JW™
    Powered By Sarcasm

    Ranger: Just bought all my replacement goodies
    Expy: Kenwood KDC-X579 from the Ranger; unknown speakers/amp & 10" Earthquake sub, that all came with the truck

  4. #34
    I see dead kittens Quattro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,922
    Mine is a DC
    Installed
    Asus A7N8X-VM - AMD Mobile Athlon 2400
    512 Ram - 60GB HD - Opus 150w
    Lilliput 7" - Rikaline 6010
    [00000000000001100010-] 98% Completed

    Check Out My Install!!!

  5. #35
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,083
    time-c.timefreq.bldrdoc.gov works

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Similar Threads

  1. Super small XP install
    By knubile in forum WinNT Based
    Replies: 141
    Last Post: 04-26-2008, 02:44 PM
  2. How can I update without internet?
    By chevyunger in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 09:17 AM
  3. Installing RC3.1 Update without Internet
    By veetid in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-04-2006, 07:24 AM
  4. Windows Automotive(R) and Kenwood
    By vision in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-14-2006, 07:16 AM
  5. Windows 95-98 networking + Windows machine booting in dos mode every time...
    By SkinnyBoy in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 08-21-2001, 12:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •