Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: To upgrade or not to upgrade (PC)

  1. #1
    Low Bitrate BRow86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    63

    To upgrade or not to upgrade (PC)

    Well, I'm headed back to school soon, and I have a problem: my PC is getting sloooowwwwwww....

    So I want to upgrade but don't have too much money. I want to get on board with dual core (right now running single 3200+ 64 AMD @ 2.4ish). The only thing is this: Intel is good but MAD money. I only want to do a mobo + processor + ram upgrade for now. Should I, for the short term, get an AMD 6000 X2 and mobo for like 200$ and ram for another 100$ or should I get the Intel E6600 and get a P35 mobo that can support DDR3 (this option is closer to $500)? I plan to do a major upgrade later this coming year (around X-mas). I am just really torn about the whole oncoming DDR3. Do you think I'll save more money if I drop the cash on a DDR3 mobo? Also, if I wanted to drop in a quad core into a P35 later I could... ARGG I am so torn. What do you guys think?<br /><br />
    CarPC: 100%
    Software: 100%
    Amps/Subs: 0% (on hold)
    Fabrication: Need help!!! Someone in Boston area who can help me with this please send me a PM.

  2. #2
    Newbie paragraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Friggin' New Joysee! Sirius Station: 27 HardAttack
    Posts
    52
    /me thinks this;

    drop some more ram in there (unless you're maxed)

    defrag, defrag, defrag

    get rid of programs you don't need/want

    full virus scan
    full ad/malware scan

    if NONE of that helps

    backup files and programs
    reformat hard drive (NTFS)
    re-install windows

    try all of that before you dump money into a new computer (because basicly thats all you're doing when you upgrade the mobo/ram/cpu)
    '93 Camry - Work Log
    Progress (Slow and Steady)
    █████████
    Phase 1: Planning and Software Procurement
    Total Cost So Far: $75

    Free Laptop Parts (DVD ROM!)

  3. #3
    MySQL Error MatrixPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Beach City, Socal
    Posts
    4,053
    $hit, my home PC is still an Athlon 2500 with a cheap a$$ ECS mobo, and it still darn fast for my purpose. I only have programs that I need (and most of them are yesteryear version) and no other junk. I do system restore from a ghost image twice or 3 times a year. That is the key to keep the system run fast and clean.
    2004 Matrix XR A7N8X-VM/400 AMD XP-M 2500+, DS-ATX
    89 Supra Turbo P3 600E@750/Abit BE6 II, Alpine M-BUS Car2PC.
    Y2K Accord Dell GX150
    RoadRunner is the best FE PERIOD
    EmoRebellion is a SCAMMER

  4. #4
    Low Bitrate BRow86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    63
    @ Paragraph
    Will work in the short run, but for some oncoming games like Bioshock (which supposedly owns) I feel like my hardware will get owned. BTW I just reinstalled XP 64 and it still is kinda meh... I think I'm going to buy Bioshock and see how it runs. Also my friend's dad works with M$ and is going to get me Vista Ultimate for $50 (first...legit...windows...copy...EVER!) and I want to get that going ASAP. I pira...err...borrowed a Vista copy and tried it out and it was quite funny-> CPU at constant 50% which jumped to 100% when I had anything open.

    @ Martix
    I don't know how you do it, but then again, it all depends on whatcha do! I mean, if your just checkin' the internet/playing music/photos/etc you don't need lightning. I do need to have some power for graphics editing that I do and for the games that I try and find the time to play.

    Overall, I think I am just going to go for the Intel because I can eventually upgrade to quad core. Now that methinks about it, I'll get the cheapest dual core, and wait till winter and throw in a quad. How does that sound?
    CarPC: 100%
    Software: 100%
    Amps/Subs: 0% (on hold)
    Fabrication: Need help!!! Someone in Boston area who can help me with this please send me a PM.

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate BRow86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    63
    Ok, I priced it out, and for a good mobo w/DDR3 support and a cheapo dual core (which supposedly you can overclock a s**t load) it's about $360. Another thing, and I have to preface this:

    ************************************************** **************
    WARNING: IF YOU ARE A COMPUTER GEEK, THIS DEAL WILL MAKE YOUR FACE EXPLODE
    ************************************************** **************
    Two gigs of GOOD DDR2 for $66 shipped after rebate

    I almost fainted when I saw that price. And apparently people get the rebate (although it takes a few months). So that's not too bad. I will get everything in about 4 weeks and let you ppl know what's up. Let me know if you have any more recommendations.
    CarPC: 100%
    Software: 100%
    Amps/Subs: 0% (on hold)
    Fabrication: Need help!!! Someone in Boston area who can help me with this please send me a PM.

  6. #6
    Newbie paragraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Friggin' New Joysee! Sirius Station: 27 HardAttack
    Posts
    52
    Meh, i never liked patriot :\

    well, if you want to do that, then go ahead, vista ultimate sucks if your specs suck, and yours are pretty ok, but not good enough for ultimate as your os.

    what processor?
    '93 Camry - Work Log
    Progress (Slow and Steady)
    █████████
    Phase 1: Planning and Software Procurement
    Total Cost So Far: $75

    Free Laptop Parts (DVD ROM!)

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate BRow86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    63
    Well, f**k, seems Intel has new stuff coming in a few months. That's it, I'm just going for cheap ol' AMD for now for like $300ish and will go nuts around X-mas (plus I might be able to squeeze enough gift certificates to buy some things on Newegg). Sometimes, I hate how fast technology improves...

    Quote Originally Posted by paragraph View Post
    Vista ultimate sucks if your specs suck, and yours are pretty ok, but not good enough for ultimate as your os.
    what processor?
    I am going to either get 5200 X2 or 6000 X2. BTW I'm 99% sure the requirements for each Vista release are the same... Ultimate just has a few extra software things like Bitlocker, remote desktop, the media center stuff, etc. With the new proc and 2gb of ram I should be set till X-mas
    CarPC: 100%
    Software: 100%
    Amps/Subs: 0% (on hold)
    Fabrication: Need help!!! Someone in Boston area who can help me with this please send me a PM.

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    dundee, il
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by BRow86 View Post
    I am going to either get 5200 X2 or 6000 X2. BTW I'm 99% sure the requirements for each Vista release are the same... Ultimate just has a few extra software things like Bitlocker, remote desktop, the media center stuff, etc. With the new proc and 2gb of ram I should be set till X-mas
    i had a athlon 64x2 4400+ with 2gb ram and it ran ultimate perfectly, with a 5200 you'd be fine. the athlon x2 impressed me enough that i just bought a 3800+ x2 and mobo and a gig of ram for my carpc , i know its overkill, but my opus 250 should handle it, so why not. if you look on newegg, you could get a windsor core x2 (65w) and mobo combo cheap, mine was only about $100

    david

  9. #9
    Low Bitrate BRow86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by davidp View Post
    i had a athlon 64x2 4400+ with 2gb ram and it ran ultimate perfectly
    Well, it's official, you're CarPC kicks the s**t out of my home PC. I hate blowing all my money on my car and not having enough for the PC upgrades.... Doesn't help I just threw down $465 on a new high-output alternator today... My life is in shambles
    CarPC: 100%
    Software: 100%
    Amps/Subs: 0% (on hold)
    Fabrication: Need help!!! Someone in Boston area who can help me with this please send me a PM.

  10. #10
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    dundee, il
    Posts
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by BRow86 View Post
    Well, it's official, you're CarPC kicks the s**t out of my home PC. I hate blowing all my money on my car and not having enough for the PC upgrades.... Doesn't help I just threw down $465 on a new high-output alternator today... My life is in shambles
    sorry, i should have been more clear, the athlon x2 4400+ was my home pc (although my power supply committed suicide taking my mobo with it) my new car pc (being shipped now) is a athlon x2 3800+, the nice thing is, it takes only 65 watts vs. 89w for the non windsor core x2's. when i was building the carpc for the first time (the athlon will be rev. 4) i got the opus 250 because i figured i would eventually need the power, im glad i did like i said, newegg has some great combo deals for amd stuff, if you look around for the right deal, you won't need to upgrade the carpc for a long time.

    david

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VIA and Mini-box Announce First Sub-$300 Car PC Kit
    By Goofus in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 12:28 PM
  2. FS: CarPC 2.4 startup/shutdown controller
    By evilragu in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 05:28 PM
  3. first car pc project
    By machineshop in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-15-2005, 04:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •