Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 83

Thread: OMFG now I see why people hate vista so much

  1. #1
    Raw Wave wizardPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    2,635

    OMFG now I see why people hate vista so much

    I had some hardware failure on my 5 year old server, so I decided that it was time to get a new machine. I found an Intel Core 2 Quad with 4GB of RAM and a 750gb hard drive, preinstalled with Vista Home Premium, for $750. So I bought it.

    Anyway, omg what a pain. My antivirus software? Oh, that's not vista compatible.
    Every USB 802.11 card I had in the house? Oh, that's not vista compatible.
    You want remote desktop? Oh, that's not vista compatible. (well, it's in Business and Ultimate, which I can upgrade to for $150)

    So I went and bought a vista compatible card, downloaded AVG vista compatible antivirus, and installed VMWare so that I could have a machine to remote desktop into. Guess what? VMWare on Vista breaks your optical drives. I had to reinstall after less than 24 hours from opening the box.

    So I spent about 3 hours slipstreaming the correct SATA drivers into a WinXP Pro ISO and getting that burned, since my only working burner in the house is on the new Vista box. I'm currently in the process of throwing that on.

    It's a shame, too, since Vista is so darn pretty. This box gets like a 5.8 on the "Windows Experience" thingamabob. Oooh maybe I'l put Vista on a VM....but I bet VMWare Tools aren't Vista compatible...

    Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
    Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
    I'M DEBT FREE!!
    I'm now a reasonably successful gunblogger.

  2. #2
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,052
    For antivirus, you can try to run it in XP mode with that stupid file manager off. It sometimes works.

    I feel your pain. But if you have to get Vista you have to get Ultimate. It is such crap how they sectioned things off like they did.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate Jistari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    243
    BTW OMG will suffice
    PDP1170/TRS80/Atari800XL/Amiga500/286/486/P2/P4/C2D/i7 still a newb (but an old newb, been doing this a while) working my way up to "Complete Newb"

  4. #4
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,114
    Blog Entries
    49
    just wait til u plug in a thumb drive and spend 10 mins looking for drivers for it lol (just search the system32 folder as vista wont do it for you)
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  5. #5
    FLAC Sal R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sun Diego
    Posts
    1,448
    I hate vista.
    Pico-ITX / XP Home with EWF-HORM / RR v12/02/2009 / Winamp v5.13 / RRMedia v1.2.2

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,736
    No problem with Vista x64 since day one.

  7. #7
    FLAC WuNgUn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,351
    Use Avast AV and UltraVNC for your remote desktop...

  8. #8
    Takes it in the Rear kevinlekiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Where the penguins and polar bears live.
    Posts
    687
    Lots of my hardware didn't work with vista x64 so I installed that microsoft virtual PC 2007 to use XP, but it doesn't support USB. So then I bought vmware to run xp to install drivers that don't work in vista. Then I ran into the trouble of latency problems ( audio ) clicking and popping in sound and stuff ( sound recording through USB ). Anyways I put in another hard drive and installed xp. No more troubles.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,736
    Quote Originally Posted by kevinlekiller View Post
    Lots of my hardware didn't work with vista x64 so I installed that microsoft virtual PC 2007 to use XP, but it doesn't support USB. So then I bought vmware to run xp to install drivers that don't work in vista. Then I ran into the trouble of latency problems ( audio ) clicking and popping in sound and stuff ( sound recording through USB ). Anyways I put in another hard drive and installed xp. No more troubles.
    Lots of HW? like what?

    Vista got lots of drivers built in, much more than the XP.

    You would certainly have problems if your HWs are outdated and unbranded.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,736
    Quote Originally Posted by wizardPC View Post
    I had some hardware failure on my 5 year old server, so I decided that it was time to get a new machine. I found an Intel Core 2 Quad with 4GB of RAM and a 750gb hard drive, preinstalled with Vista Home Premium, for $750. So I bought it.

    Anyway, omg what a pain. My antivirus software? Oh, that's not vista compatible.
    Every USB 802.11 card I had in the house? Oh, that's not vista compatible.
    You want remote desktop? Oh, that's not vista compatible. (well, it's in Business and Ultimate, which I can upgrade to for $150)

    So I went and bought a vista compatible card, downloaded AVG vista compatible antivirus, and installed VMWare so that I could have a machine to remote desktop into. Guess what? VMWare on Vista breaks your optical drives. I had to reinstall after less than 24 hours from opening the box.

    So I spent about 3 hours slipstreaming the correct SATA drivers into a WinXP Pro ISO and getting that burned, since my only working burner in the house is on the new Vista box. I'm currently in the process of throwing that on.

    It's a shame, too, since Vista is so darn pretty. This box gets like a 5.8 on the "Windows Experience" thingamabob. Oooh maybe I'l put Vista on a VM....but I bet VMWare Tools aren't Vista compatible...

    Your machine deserve a good OS, try and get the vista working. For the AV I use Symantec AV v10.2.

    The only problem I have with vista was when installing it, it BSOD during install LOL . I had to turn off the memory remap in the BIOS during the install, this is because of the 4GB I have in the machine or maybe the dual CPUs setup, dunno I never found out. Im sure the vista SP1 would work straight out of the box.

Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-23-2007, 08:12 PM
  2. What's up with Vista?
    By Artificial in forum StreetDeck
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-29-2007, 10:19 AM
  3. I hate my garmen, hate hate hate
    By Will Albers in forum GPS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 10:14 AM
  4. I hate my life
    By lstrunk in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 10-17-2003, 09:08 AM
  5. Dont you hate when people mees with your stuff!
    By gizmomkr in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 06-17-2001, 09:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •