Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help hard resetting a 2Wire wireless gateway...

  1. #1
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084

    Help hard resetting a 2Wire wireless gateway...

    Hey guys,

    I'm trying to help my friend out. He got himself locked out of his wifi connection. He has ATT dsl and is using one of those 2wire Wireless gateway modems.

    He doesn't even remember the password to get in to the setup page.

    I've looked all over 2Wire's site and found nothing on how to do a hard reset, looked on Google, and well, call Att (but we all know how great Att is for support.... )

    Anyways, the only thing that I found, was pressing the reset button in the back for about 15sec. It didn't work.

    Does anyone know an actual way to just reset everything to factory?

    I know all the pppoe settings and stuff, just don't have the passwords to get in and help him get his wifi connection back.

    Thanks,

    Rafster

  2. #2
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,053
    Reset is what to do.

    Remove power, and push the reset button down for up to a minute. Some routers need 30s to restore to defaults, so maybe this needs a while too.

    If you leave power in, it might only do a soft reset.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  3. #3
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    110
    The router is supposed to be plugged in while resetting. Press and hold the reset button for about 12seconds. Some routers take up to 30secs. You can also check here http://support.2wire.com/index.php?p...ord&cat=&sort=

  4. #4
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,053
    Quote Originally Posted by f1ip View Post
    The router is supposed to be plugged in while resetting. Press and hold the reset button for about 12seconds. Some routers take up to 30secs. You can also check here http://support.2wire.com/index.php?p...ord&cat=&sort=
    Most are not to be plugged in to guarentee a reset.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    110
    not so for my Linksys and netgear. so do the Westells that VZ uses. (Did tech support for VZDSL for a while) So do Dlink's. haven't seen routers that will reset while powered off. I dont use 2wire since i dont use ATT DSL. But i've always assumed to do the same thing as other routers i've encoutnered with.

  6. #6
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084
    Got it working! Thanks!

    Rafster

Similar Threads

  1. Hard Drive Issues in a Vehicle Computer
    By DarquePervert in forum The FAQ Emporium
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 02-23-2008, 01:35 PM
  2. Boot from a external usb hard drive?
    By DjChrishim in forum Newbie
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 08:47 AM
  3. Hard drive shock / vibration thoughts
    By S11D336B in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 09-26-2006, 11:40 PM
  4. carputer hard drive died in 3 days
    By therussman2002 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 01:49 PM
  5. I found wireless Cards (15 buxs) and gateway (65 buxs) for cheap!
    By crazyshaxs in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-07-2002, 08:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •