Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DNS Server?

  1. #1
    Newbie JoeCanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    16

    DNS Server?

    Is it possible to run a DNS server under Windows 2000 Pro, or do I need to upgrade to Server to do that?

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Just North of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    384
    i dont know, but you might have better response at forum.pcmech.com
    Project AutoBoxen: Coming along, almost ready to hook up in the car.
    Celeron 500, 192mb ram, 8gb hdd, other stuff.
    '91 Mazda 626: Its free, so ill use it.

  3. #3
    FLAC Gutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Casina, Italy
    Posts
    901
    There are many free windows DNS servers that you can use. Search google and tucows.com. You don't need to upgrade to Server.

  4. #4
    Jay
    Jay is offline
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    75
    Just run in on Linux. You can get away with a 486 if you want.

  5. #5
    Retired Admin Aaron Cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,464
    Originally posted by Jay
    Just run in on Linux. You can get away with a 486 if you want.
    Of course, the question was not "can I run a DNS server on Linux"....

    There are many free DNS servers for Windows. A quick search on Download.com should turn up several.
    Player: Pentium 166MMX, Amptron 598LMR MB w/onboard Sound, Video, LAN, 10.2 Gig Fujitsu Laptop HD, Arise 865 DC-DC Converter, Lexan Case, Custom Software w/Voice Interface, MS Access Based Playlists
    Car: 1986 Mazda RX-7 Turbo (highly modded), 1978 RX-7 Beater (Dead, parting out), 2001 Honda Insight
    "If one more body-kitted, cut-spring-lowered, farty-exhausted Civic revs on me at an intersection, I swear I'm going to get out of my car and cram their ridiculous double-decker aluminium wing firmly up their rump."

  6. #6
    FLAC MP3DUB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicagoland, IL
    Posts
    1,782
    Originally posted by Aaron Cake
    Of course, the question was not "can I run a DNS server on Linux"....

    There are many free DNS servers for Windows. A quick search on Download.com should turn up several.
    Yeah, but this is mp3car we dont answer questions, we just tell people to search, or tell them what they really should do *runs for the hills*
    -Nick

    _____________________________
    Since when is insanity a bad thing?
    Monthly MP3Car Chicago Meets
    www.mp3vw.com Last updated: 07/07/2008

  7. #7
    Newbie JoeCanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    16
    Originally posted by Jay
    Just run in on Linux. You can get away with a 486 if you want.
    I'd certainly prefer that, no question. But I'm new to the world of domain hosting, and I know windows well enough that using it to start is the best way to learn how DNS works.

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490
    Check this out...

    http://www.zoneedit.com/
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •