Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Desktop PC - Internet problem...?

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate Bimmerstyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    264

    Desktop PC - Internet problem...?

    Hi Guys,

    I'm having some problems with my desktop PC that maybe someone over here can help me with.

    Sometimes when surfing my internet explorer looses his internet connection. I get the "page cannot be displayed" screen. It doesn't matter on what site I am, it happens randomly. The strange thing about it is that I still have an internet connection. Active downloads keep on going and also my gadgets in the sidebar depending on the internet keep on updating. Also my mail keeps on going. Only the browser doesn't work anymore. I thought maybe Internet Explorer was causing it so I installed Firefox but the problem remains there. Disabeling firewalls, virusscanner, netlimiter,.. doesn't solve the problem. Repairing the network connection doesn't work. Only rebooting the PC seems to solve the problem at this time.

    Is there anyone who has an idea what this problem may be? I'm drawing a blank here.

    Thanks.
    BMW 525tds -Biostar I94GM-I4 -Celeron M44O 1,86GHz, M2-ATX, 1Gb, 320GB -HQCT RDS tuner -Creative Extigy -iBus controller -Lilliput 7" touchscreen -DLS Ultimate A7 amplifier -Focal 130K, 130V, 27V2 speakers

    Bezel Worklog-My Install -iDrive F01 RR Skin

  2. #2
    Bowel movement jjh221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    not sure yet.
    Posts
    1,645
    buy a real key for xp? no i dont know i get that too but i blame it on my poop internets.
    I GIVE FREE HUGS!
    Buy Sell or Trade
    If my pm box is full, please feel free to call me any time. 440-328-3382
    Thank you
    Forex
    Rate Mp3car @ FXroot.com


  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate Bimmerstyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    264
    It's Vista, and yes, I have an official version.
    BMW 525tds -Biostar I94GM-I4 -Celeron M44O 1,86GHz, M2-ATX, 1Gb, 320GB -HQCT RDS tuner -Creative Extigy -iBus controller -Lilliput 7" touchscreen -DLS Ultimate A7 amplifier -Focal 130K, 130V, 27V2 speakers

    Bezel Worklog-My Install -iDrive F01 RR Skin

  4. #4
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dartmouth, MA
    Posts
    914
    is QoS enabled?
    My Nearly Complete Car:
    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show...ed-car-pc.html

    Micro Control Center... Control Your Car Across the Internet
    http://www.mp3car.com/fusion-brain/1...-internet.html

    Website: (It's a work in progress, really. All my projects have taken me from ever really developing it.)
    http://paulfurtado.com/

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate Jebus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    312
    Check the network cable, possibly bad. Is the netcard blinking very fast all the time, even when not surfing? could be an ad bot, virus, ect...You didn't state what type of connection, dial up, dsl, cable?
    ...JJG
    RRVoice Version 1.1.0.10 BETA
    RRVCConfig Version 1.0.0.69 BETA
    RRMouseTrap Version 1.5 Beta
    RRPointer Version 1.0 BETA Update Soon
    RRTTS Testing
    RRScript Testing
    SerialSwitch In Development

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate Bimmerstyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    264
    @Jebus: I don't think it's the network cable. Traffic seems normal. No blinking and stuff when I'm not using the the PC. Also I don't loose internet completely. Only my webbrowser doesn't work anymore. All the other stuff (mail, downloads, gadgets,..) keep on functioning. I use a cable connection.

    @PaulF: I don't know...? What's QoS? Where do I find it?
    BMW 525tds -Biostar I94GM-I4 -Celeron M44O 1,86GHz, M2-ATX, 1Gb, 320GB -HQCT RDS tuner -Creative Extigy -iBus controller -Lilliput 7" touchscreen -DLS Ultimate A7 amplifier -Focal 130K, 130V, 27V2 speakers

    Bezel Worklog-My Install -iDrive F01 RR Skin

  7. #7
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084
    Put XP on it.

    Get rid of Vista.

    Most of your problems will go away.... IE7 is horrible....

    Rafster

  8. #8
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,049
    If it is just the browser going bad I would vote for definately spyware/trojan of some sort.

    See that there are no wacky processes running that shouldnt be.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    24
    Any way to check with a different computer to see if it happens there too? Do you have a router in your setup?

    If it's not the router/you dont have a router, then I'm leaning towards spyware or something as well. Try running a full check, see if anything comes up.

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate Bimmerstyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    264
    I have a 5 port switch in my setup. The other PC on it doesn't seem to have these problems however. There is also a Digital TV setop-box connected to it.

    So you guys think it's probably spyware of some sort? Do any of you know a decent spyware removal tool? I'm running Spyware Terminator now. It does regular scans but it doesn't really find much during these scans. So there are two possibilities: Or I have a very clean PC, or the program s*cks...
    BMW 525tds -Biostar I94GM-I4 -Celeron M44O 1,86GHz, M2-ATX, 1Gb, 320GB -HQCT RDS tuner -Creative Extigy -iBus controller -Lilliput 7" touchscreen -DLS Ultimate A7 amplifier -Focal 130K, 130V, 27V2 speakers

    Bezel Worklog-My Install -iDrive F01 RR Skin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Full size PC if space is not a problem?
    By popuptoaster in forum Newbie
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 11-26-2004, 06:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •