wow, these guys are good.
I looked at the headers, and they say that they come from ebay.com, but if you lookup the IP addresses, the machines are in amsterdam and madrid.
anybody know where I can report a scam to ebay?
I've gotten 2 emails that appear to come from awconfirm@ebay.com, one with a title of "ebay Notification" and the other "eBay important account information"
I am suspicious because each email asks me to enter enough information to steal my ebay account. They claim that my information could not be verified "during our regular update and verification of accounts", then they ask me for my name, ebay ID & password, address, phone number, email address, etc.
If they couldnt verify my information for my account, then wouldnt they already have my ebayID and email address? All of this is put into a form inside the email, it's not a link to an Ebay site.
anybody heard of this being a scam? I'm not gonna do anything with it because if it is real, then they'll just delete my account (according to the email) and I dont use it that much.
Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
Total spent on wedding so far: $3885.79
Thanks to everyone for your support.
I'M DEBT FREE!!
wow, these guys are good.
I looked at the headers, and they say that they come from ebay.com, but if you lookup the IP addresses, the machines are in amsterdam and madrid.
anybody know where I can report a scam to ebay?
Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
Total spent on wedding so far: $3885.79
Thanks to everyone for your support.
I'M DEBT FREE!!
I've received dozens of these e-mails. Just foreward them to spoof@ebay.com . You may also get some from PayPal scammers.
It's called phishing http://www.antiphishing.org/
the paypal site does say the one way to know its a pay pal scam is that in the address line where it says lke Dear or something .... it will always be Dear FirstName LastName
1999 Camaro z28
-- Computer installed :) Phase 1
-- z28 302hp dynoed :( WAHH!!!!
When is there not an eBay/PayPal scam going around?
i get the same thing eccept its paypal, asks you to put in all your personal information and it links to a website that looks like paypal.com, but its different.
some link to that fake site that steals your login and the other wants you to download some attachment. its quite interesting
They always use the address spoofing trick
like www.mp3car.com@www.arbytech.com
But they'll convert the real address to ascii and use like %25%43%63 so you can't see it. I get these stupid things all of the time.
i've never gotten one of those, and i've had both a paypal account and ebay account for over a year
yea, me too, over a year though. maybe its a good thing we arent on those lists. haha.
Bookmarks