Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Start/Stop the engine with a button

  1. #1
    Tainted Love Cris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    4,651

    Start/Stop the engine with a button

    Some of the new Mercedes models have a very nice feature, that I'd like to have on my Escort: when you get within 1m of your car, the doors unlock. You get further away than 1m the doors lock. You enter the car, you press one button, the car starts, you press it again the car stops. Now, the trick is, you don't even have to get the remote out of your pocket.
    As I said, I'd like this feature on my Ford Escort, so is it doable? Now, if this community was able to put computers in cars, this should be pretty easy...

  2. #2
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    yeah its well easy. You just need some kind of transponder like those PC locks that unlock your PC when you are near but i would go with a standalone device. Don't that phigit place do rf tags things. you want something like that but longer range.

    One concern i would have though is that car makers probably go to great lengths to make sure they use an uncommon frequency range to prevent other devices opening your car and lots of code encryption. Also i would be concerned that if the battery went flat in the device in your pocket the engine cuts out at 100 on the motorway and you ar eleft with no power steering and no brake assist. You would have to do it so the engine doesnt need the imobiliser when running but it would be cool if you could have a sensor on the gear **** to check it is in neutral and on the hand brake to enable remote start form the keypad too for those quick getaway from one of your girlfriends when she finds out you have others!

  3. #3
    Tainted Love Cris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    4,651
    Yes, I'd like a stand alone device...not carputer related. I was thinking of using the transmiters from a car alarm. Those have jumping codes, and imobilisier.
    For example, my Megane doesn't have a key. It has a card. You place the card into a slot in the dash, push a button and the car starts. But it won't start unless you press the clutch.

  4. #4
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Cris
    But it won't start unless you press the clutch.
    leave a brick on it when you go to see your girlfriend

    shouldnt be too hard to make once you fnd the right transponder stuff. YOu could possibly use a paired bluetooth device with your phone. I got a broken bluetooth car that has a working bluetooth module on. just can't think of anything useful to do with it yet. maybe i should make my pug bluetooth controlled - shame it isnt an auto. i could drive it dwont he road to pick me up when its raining. hehe

  5. #5
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    here is a start cris:

    http://rswww.com/cgi-bin/bv/browse/M...tockNo=2831648

    They also have RF remotes with encrytion and learning codes etc quite cheap.

  6. #6
    FLAC edrex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Chestinghamshire, UK init!!
    Posts
    1,088
    Maybe some photoshopped pics of how all this might look on Cris's dash would be in order...
    Spent so far: $1,755
    Check Out My Work Log for Specs/Pics
    CarPC Progress[!!!!!!!!!!!!!!].....Installation[---------+].....Pastrami Progress[!!!!!!!!!!!!!!]
    Don't mess with Texas.
    It's not nice to pick on retards!

  7. #7
    MySQL Error jcdillin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    4,043
    I would think with a rf-id system that it would be really easy for the dock locking and unlocking. I am actually starting to plan it for my car. just have to convert my locks to electric.
    肚子笑痛了
    S60 Install

  8. #8
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by edrex
    Maybe some photoshopped pics of how all this might look on Cris's dash would be in order...
    Well i would but i don't think he has room next to those dials!

  9. #9
    Tainted Love Cris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    4,651
    Link doesn't work right Andy...

  10. #10
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    Quote Originally Posted by Cris
    Link doesn't work right Andy...
    oh well go to www.rswww.com and serch for transponder and also RF remote. They have some silly session timeout after abour 1 minute - gay!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Relocating computer power button
    By King_Xerxes in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 09:15 PM
  2. Noob Questions: Turning Off Media Engine
    By FiReToY in forum Media Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 07:36 AM
  3. Exit button
    By liquid_smoke in forum Media Engine
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2004, 09:29 PM
  4. Useing GPS with Media Engine and other Question
    By Twizted in forum ME Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-10-2004, 06:36 PM
  5. PC power button problem
    By BMp3W in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 02:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •