Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Wanted:RF remote w/o a million buttons!!

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate tom2112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sharon, PA
    Posts
    507

    Wanted:RF remote w/o a million buttons!!

    Does anyone know of an RF (NOT IR) remote that doesn't have a million buttons, but can still control some basic windows functions - actually WinAmp functions, like play, stop, next, prev, vol up, vol down???

    I'm working on a special project - not the car PC, and need something simple for a remote.

    Thanks,
    Tom
    So far:
    M10000 Nehemiah, 1Gb RAM, Opus 90w PS, Buffalo Tech WLI2-USB2-G54, 160 Gb HDD, GlobalSat BU-353 GPS, iGuidance, Zippy EL-610, Panasonic CW8123B Slim Slot CDRW/DVD, 10" Lilliput, Sony XA-300, Sony CDX-MP30 Head, OBD-II

  2. #2
    Constant Bitrate Troy McClure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    157
    I ran across this one http://www.keyspan.com/products/usb/remote/ which seemed pretty neat but lacks mouse functions other than up, down, left,right.

    This one however has some very basic functionality when it comes to volume control, next, prev mute but has a d-pad for controlling the mouse.
    http://www.keyspan.com/products/usb/presentationremote/

    I have tried the secomd one and with the D-pad it gives you ok functionality for mouse movement but I would not use this as a replaceent for a mouse or trackball. On an HTPC, it could be good enough to get by?

    Troy
    Done!

    If you're into fishing, checkout my website! http://www.pennsylvaniaanglers.com

  3. #3
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    the little madcatz PS2 one is nice. double sided with suitable mouse buttons on one side and media buttons on the other. search on here for it.

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate tom2112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sharon, PA
    Posts
    507
    Thanks guys, but those won't work. Those are all IR remotes, except the one keyspan. And it's only got 2 buttons. I gotta have RF because the PC will be in a separate room from the remote. And I've got to have at least 6 buttons (vol up, vol dn, next, prev, play, and stop). Extra buttons are no big deal, but I don't want a ton of them to confuse the end user (like on the ATI remote).

    Any
    So far:
    M10000 Nehemiah, 1Gb RAM, Opus 90w PS, Buffalo Tech WLI2-USB2-G54, 160 Gb HDD, GlobalSat BU-353 GPS, iGuidance, Zippy EL-610, Panasonic CW8123B Slim Slot CDRW/DVD, 10" Lilliput, Sony XA-300, Sony CDX-MP30 Head, OBD-II

  5. #5
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    oops, missed the RF bit! Make one

Similar Threads

  1. How-To: Relocating Screen Buttons
    By Altimat in forum Fabrication
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 03:48 PM
  2. How to use MC with remote (via keyboard buttons)
    By MatthijsNL in forum MediaCar
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-26-2004, 06:46 AM
  3. Controlling screen w/o buttons
    By geo1317 in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2004, 10:01 AM
  4. Automotive Security
    By Maeveth in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 01:33 AM
  5. ME 2.0 Official Bug Reports
    By phat_bastard in forum ME Archive
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 01-31-2004, 06:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •