Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Anyone ever put a HD in a PS2?

  1. #1
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Memphis - TN
    Posts
    1,272

    Anyone ever put a HD in a PS2?

    Before I begin let me state I am NOT talking about piracy!!!

    Im putting a HD in my PS2 because with GT4, Im sick of the load times.
    I purchased a Sony PS2 network adapter with the harddrive adapter, and I have a HD that will work. At this point Im kind of stuck. I keep hearing about this memory card exploit that will allow me to copy my games to the harddrive and play them, but Im stuck at that point. Ive seen some how-tos but they talk about the swapdisk. Is there a cd that I dont have to buy that I can make myself that will boot to do the mod myself? Id like to back up my own games, Ive bought too many that friends come over and play and scratch my disk all to hell. At $50 a pop, Id like to back up my games.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    2011 Nissan Frontier SL
    AMD X3 2.2 | M4-ATX | 16Gb SSD | 2GB DDR3-1333 | MSI GF615M-P33 MB
    OBDPROS USB | BU-303 GPS l LILLIPUT TS | Car2PC adapter | XM Direct | USB Dual band N with custom mag-mount antenna.

  2. #2
    Raw Wave tj!2k4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,294
    I don't know about the memory card exploit - I use the PS2 HDLoader. Google it, I'm not sure if they still make it - I believe there was a legal liability regarding some code that Sony claimed was theirs.

    But the PS2 HDLoader works great. The first time you run it and it sees that HD it prompts you to format it, and once that's complete you're ready to copy games to the hard drive. Thing is (and it shouldn't be a problem, since you'll be playing your games from the hd) that in order to access the hd, you have to boot from the HDLoader disc. I believe it was compatible with about 95% of the games. A worthwhile investment, and easier than a 26-wire solder PS2 modchip.

    An even better investment would have a (modded) Xbox, since you gain much more functionality, but that's just my $.02.

  3. #3
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Memphis - TN
    Posts
    1,272
    The only reason I have a Ps2 is cause of Gran Turismo. I bought the PS2 from a buddy for $40 and fixed it. I have bought a few games, but have been anticipating GT4 for a long time now. Now that I have it, load times are cutting down on my play times

    Can I burn the HDloader and boot from my own disk? Does it have to be CDR or DVDR?
    I have a V7 ps2 btw.
    2011 Nissan Frontier SL
    AMD X3 2.2 | M4-ATX | 16Gb SSD | 2GB DDR3-1333 | MSI GF615M-P33 MB
    OBDPROS USB | BU-303 GPS l LILLIPUT TS | Car2PC adapter | XM Direct | USB Dual band N with custom mag-mount antenna.

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate CJ8501's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Orland Park, IL
    Posts
    660

  5. #5
    Raw Wave tj!2k4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,294
    Quote Originally Posted by Custommx3
    The only reason I have a Ps2 is cause of Gran Turismo. I bought the PS2 from a buddy for $40 and fixed it. I have bought a few games, but have been anticipating GT4 for a long time now. Now that I have it, load times are cutting down on my play times

    Can I burn the HDloader and boot from my own disk? Does it have to be CDR or DVDR?
    I have a V7 ps2 btw.
    No, because without a modchip the PS2 can only read/boot from original media, the same way you can't just play a "backed up" game on DVDR without a modchip..

    Looks like HDadvance 2.0 is the new winner, supporting up to 200GB.. with HDLoader only the first 137GB were useable.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with ITPS / hibernation and External USB HD
    By veetid in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2006, 09:35 PM
  2. PS2 port powering
    By yunusyu in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2005, 03:03 PM
  3. epia m1000 nehmiah + laptop HD problems
    By chicochu in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-14-2004, 05:15 PM
  4. Need help with External USB Laptop HD
    By VWTronics in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2004, 01:58 PM
  5. Why does my HD stops???
    By nl4jy in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2004, 11:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •