Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: G-force meter?

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    441

    G-force meter?

    Hey,

    http://www.motormate.com/gwhiz/index.php

    At first I just thought this little gimmicky thing was kinda funny. But then I thought it could be cool for a carputer. You could probably rig something to get the info into the computer, right? I dont know much about that part of the process. But once you have an input, a graphical display on the computer would be awesome. You could set warnings based on the weight of your car and the exact horizontal tolerance of your tires, it's easy enough to find that out. Of course, road conditions would be important, but if you were, say auto-x ing, info like that would be awesome.

    Anyone better with this sort of thing have any ideas how to get the info from the g-meter as an input into a computer?

    Does anything like this already exist? Quick Yahoo search reveals this: http://www.solos2.com/gtimer_faq.htm
    Could someone who is better at programming figure out a way to display the information in a cool meter kind of way?
    A car without turbo is a car with perpetual lag.

    My Ride
    My New Page

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    422
    Check out the products at http://www.race-technology.com they have output for external displays, I'm sure they could be interfaced.....
    Old setup
    Epia M10k, Cubid 2699R case, 512MB, 40GB 3.5" drive
    New setup
    Optiplex 260SX (2.8GHz P4, 512MB, 30GB, DVD)
    Xenarc 700IDT, USB hub, 802.11g, bluetooth, P2140, P5V

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    441
    Neat stuff they got there! I see they sell individual sensors as well as a full software package. Anyone getting any ideas how to get this stuff to display real-time?
    A car without turbo is a car with perpetual lag.

    My Ride
    My New Page

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    422
    Yea they have suspension position, steering angle, pedal position etc....Real time display of all that would be cool...

    I have Nissan Datascan for display of ecu sensors already...

    http://home.iprimus.com.au/tkolo/datascan.htm
    Old setup
    Epia M10k, Cubid 2699R case, 512MB, 40GB 3.5" drive
    New setup
    Optiplex 260SX (2.8GHz P4, 512MB, 30GB, DVD)
    Xenarc 700IDT, USB hub, 802.11g, bluetooth, P2140, P5V

  5. #5
    Maximum Bitrate zPilott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    509
    http://phidgets.com/index.php?module....171.32&IID=92

    I was this one a while ago, and thought I might check it out some time. it has two axes, so you could measure acceleration/braking an lateral g's

    |V1 Virtual Display|

    Hard work often pays off over time, laziness always pays off right now.

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    422
    Quote Originally Posted by zPilott
    http://phidgets.com/index.php?module....171.32&IID=92

    I was this one a while ago, and thought I might check it out some time. it has two axes, so you could measure acceleration/braking an lateral g's
    What are you driving, a jetcar ?? 10g

    2G version

    Looks promising....
    Old setup
    Epia M10k, Cubid 2699R case, 512MB, 40GB 3.5" drive
    New setup
    Optiplex 260SX (2.8GHz P4, 512MB, 30GB, DVD)
    Xenarc 700IDT, USB hub, 802.11g, bluetooth, P2140, P5V

  7. #7
    Maximum Bitrate zPilott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    509
    yeah, the 10g is more for bragging rights

    |V1 Virtual Display|

    Hard work often pays off over time, laziness always pays off right now.

  8. #8
    Banned P*ssed off B/F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by zPilott
    yeah, the 10g is more for bragging rights
    or for crashes!

  9. #9
    Raw Wave shotgunefx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,800
    Use an accelerometer like a Memsic Dual Axis Accelerometer and interface it to your pc through a basic stamp or PIC.

    Those particular models only do 2g, but you can get higher rated ones.

Similar Threads

  1. OBDII / Elm MPG meter. Almost working but not quite!
    By stevieg in forum Engine Management, OBD-II, Engine Diagnostics, etc.
    Replies: 105
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 03:24 AM
  2. voltage meter hack, maybe??
    By dim-8 in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2004, 05:20 PM
  3. SMK Force Feedback Touch Panel
    By e_z_street in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 06:01 PM
  4. Inductance meter?
    By Telek in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-28-2003, 02:35 AM
  5. volt meter
    By Dragyn in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2001, 12:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •