Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Novell Login...

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    391

    Novell Login...

    I purchased a used laptop of ebay and the guy I bought it from did not reformat the harddrive, but there is a Novell Login screen that I cannot get past. I contacted him about it and he says he doesn't know either of the passcodes. I tried to reboot in safe mode, but then evidently there is a windows password. I am stuck. I was going to use the laptop as a backup carputer. Please help
    2005 Black Chevy Impala
    Current Status: Installed in Vehicle/Testing 75%

  2. #2
    FLAC PatO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Afton MN
    Posts
    1,120
    Novell sucks.... We're FINALLY getting rid of it at work. It had it's time, but has become nothing more than an inconvenience.

    Did the guy give you the original driver disks? If yes, format and reinstall.
    If no, search online and d/l all of the drivers. Make sure you get ALL of them. Then format.
    http://www.jeepmp3.com/
    CarPC Stolen. Starting over.
    Ne1 recognize the avatar?

  3. #3
    FLAC shakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    1,064
    Oi! You heathen!! Novell certainly does not suck. It does take more than a drunk monkey to administer it (unlike M$ systems) though. I had to reboot by novell servers once a year at the MOST for patching and whatnot. Now that we are on AD, I have to patch and of course reboot every other week! Call it job security if you want, but I call it a crappy server OS.

    Anyway ... Shelbrian ... you will need to make sure the 'Workstation Only' checkbox is checked. This will bypass the Novell Login and allow you to log in with your Windows username and password.

    Of course you'll still need the windows login information. Try Administrator with a blank password. You'd be surprised how many people do that.

    If the guy you bought it from doesn't know what the password is it sounds to me like it's stolen.

    Anyway, there are a number of different programs available to reset windows passwords, search google.

    Your best bet will be to reload it from scratch though.
    My JeepPC Install

    "there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."

    "it's been agreed the whole world stinks so no one's taking showers anymore"

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    391
    No luck using those methods...the laptop only came with a floppy drive, not the CD drive, so I guess I am SOL because I only have OEM Dell CD that came from my main pc.
    2005 Black Chevy Impala
    Current Status: Installed in Vehicle/Testing 75%

  5. #5
    FLAC shakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    1,064
    sounds like somebody got a hot laptop.

    search google ... the windows password crack disk i'm thinking of comes in a floppy version and a cd version ... and it's free. I've used it many times.
    My JeepPC Install

    "there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."

    "it's been agreed the whole world stinks so no one's taking showers anymore"

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    391
    hmmm...I wonder why the seller is no longer a registered user...
    2005 Black Chevy Impala
    Current Status: Installed in Vehicle/Testing 75%

  7. #7
    Raw Wave RoyN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    3,534
    ur lucky its in your hands tho!

    I just hope the laptopt doesnt have some of that anti-robber software that stays in the bios or whatnot and sends your position/ip whatever whenever u connect to the net!

  8. #8
    FLAC PatO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Afton MN
    Posts
    1,120
    Doesn't matter much now. He has it, can't return it... The worst the cops would do (assuming it's stolen, and it's traced) is confiscuate it - ya, shelbrain would be out the bucks, but he's innocent of any wrongdoing.

    And Novell sucks because it's an ADDITIONAL logon step. Windows must authenticate, that's 10sec minimum, as well as Novell, another 10 sec's. As a user, (my admin days are over) having to wait to use my computer is a nusance. Oh, and don't forget the often experienced Windows-Novell password sync problems! God forbid something should get screwed up while I change my password (every 3 months), then I'm forced to deal with logging in TWICE!

    Now, I must admit, it's not that I'm necesarily against Novell. I'm against the incompatibilities between Windoze and Novell. At one time, they were happy bedfellows. Nowadays, they don't play well together.
    http://www.jeepmp3.com/
    CarPC Stolen. Starting over.
    Ne1 recognize the avatar?

  9. #9
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodstock, GA
    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by PatO
    Doesn't matter much now. He has it, can't return it... The worst the cops would do (assuming it's stolen, and it's traced) is confiscuate it - ya, shelbrain would be out the bucks, but he's innocent of any wrongdoing.
    Ever heard of theft by recieving?

    Why not use a dos bood disk in the floppy drive and format that way? bypass windows altogether
    Is this where the witty comment goes?
    97 Black pearl Mazda Miata MX-5 Carpc V2? maybee..

  10. #10
    Raw Wave
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    On the beach
    Posts
    2,223
    Get hold of a copy of Winternals Emergency Boot Disk, this will allow you to access the hard drive by booting from CD-ROM and should also allow you to change the administrators password. Alternatively, I'd take the drive out of the laptop, connect it to an adapter and format in a desktop.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Login Screen how to get rid of it
    By HummDinger in forum WinNT Based
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 04:12 PM
  2. Linux Login, UPS and Linux Touch Screen
    By polc1410 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-11-2005, 11:43 AM
  3. Touchscreen does not work at login.
    By fluffy2097 in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2003, 11:19 AM
  4. Login question
    By Dex4now in forum Mp3car Forum Suggestions/Comments
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-03-2002, 09:19 PM
  5. PHP..Im getting a bogus login prompt
    By PoBoy in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-02-2002, 08:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •