Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Windows XP problem

  1. #1
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cazenovia New York
    Posts
    60

    Windows XP problem

    well here is a slap in the face for a dedicated linux user, asking for help fixing an XP machine. My girlfriend's father's machine all the sudden has deleted all of his user accounts on his machine. When the computer boots up there are no icons for anyone to log in. if I press control alt delete I can log on, but as soon as I try to add a user it says that it can't add a user because current user is not reconized. The Administrator account doesn't even work.

    The thing that really sucks is that linux commands don't work on windows.

    #adduser tom
    #passwd tom


    I guess when you are linux you stay that way.

    Please help me because my girlfriend is kicking my *** about it. Thanks guys.
    This post college life is a real drag

  2. #2
    Bowel movement jjh221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    not sure yet.
    Posts
    1,645
    so you cant creat another administrator account?
    I GIVE FREE HUGS!
    Buy Sell or Trade
    If my pm box is full, please feel free to call me any time. 440-328-3382
    Thank you
    Forex
    Rate Mp3car @ FXroot.com


  3. #3
    FLAC NiN^_^NiN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Australia, Melbourne
    Posts
    1,230
    So your accessing the pc through what? guest account?

    Give us a better idea of whats not happening?

    Does the administrator account give u a password error?
    CarPC Status:
    GPS: 99%
    Hardware: 99%
    Software: 92%
    Case Install: 99.9%
    Dash Install: 100%
    Car Install: 72%

  4. #4
    Raw Wave wizardPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    2,635
    Step 1: Boot to whax
    Step 2: Profit!

    Surely there is something on there that will crack the SAM.

    Oh, and have you tried a blank password for administrator? What account are you logged in with?
    Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
    Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
    I'M DEBT FREE!!
    I'm now a reasonably successful gunblogger.

  5. #5
    Para Laura thanatos106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Miami Beach,FL U.S.A
    Posts
    3,497
    Did you try booting to safe mode?? (you will log in under "ADMINISTRATOR") there you can see what is going on and also if need it copy the document and seting of each user)

    Thanatos.
    RexBruMet Skin for FrodoPlayer

    Nissan Aux-in MOD


    Quote Originally Posted by bgoodman
    We're an international forum, post in whatever langauge you like.

  6. #6
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,950
    Boot to the Windows logon screen where thre are no users listed.
    Press CTRL-ALT-DEL TWICE.
    You should get a username/password dialog box where you can plug in the Administrator user.

    Now for some preventive measures:
    1) Setup a stong password for the administrator user. It's common sense, but it's rarely ever done.
    2) To have Windows auto-logon as a user go to START > RUN > control userpasswords2 > OK. Select the user you want to auto-logon and uncheck the box near the top of the dialog. Click Apply and enter the pasword for that user (if any).
    3) Make certain anti-virus software is installed and up-to-date. Same thing with at least one quality spyware tool (SpybotS&D & Ad-Aware are my preferred tools). Run them both and get rid of any crap.
    4) If they're on broadband, get a router. It's $50 to protect the PC against 90% of hackers/trojans/worms.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cazenovia New York
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by thanatos106
    Did you try booting to safe mode?? (you will log in under "ADMINISTRATOR") there you can see what is going on and also if need it copy the document and seting of each user)

    Thanatos.

    The computer just seems to have no accounts on it, when I get in through hitting cnrl-alt-del I log in as tom, but it seems that once I try to get to the user control pannel it says "current user not recognized"

    To log in as "ADMINISTRATOR" does the name have to be in all caps??
    This post college life is a real drag

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate neon_eddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ham Lake, MN
    Posts
    598
    my father-in-laws computer did the same thing..

    it killed all normal account sand created some new ones.. I even ran a linux cd-distro to try and reset the passwords.. but no dice.. it was hopelessly lost.. load the HD in a new system, back the data up, then format.

    sorry,, I even searched a lot on it.. it was the only way
    Shawn



    Check out my web company Minneapolis Web Designer | MODx Web Design - Himmelberger Design


  9. #9
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,950
    Quote Originally Posted by mespork
    To log in as "ADMINISTRATOR" does the name have to be in all caps??
    No. Usernames aren't case-sensitive. Passwords are.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

  10. #10
    Raw Wave BoyNextDoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Walden, NY
    Posts
    2,115
    Quote Originally Posted by neon_eddy
    my father-in-laws computer did the same thing..

    it killed all normal account sand created some new ones.. I even ran a linux cd-distro to try and reset the passwords.. but no dice.. it was hopelessly lost.. load the HD in a new system, back the data up, then format.

    sorry,, I even searched a lot on it.. it was the only way
    This solution will yealsd a much faster result. By the time you figure out the problem, you prolly intalled XP 3-4 times already. So back up, and delet partition, let XP start from scratch...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. epia M 10000 AND WINDOWS XP PRO
    By Dluvr22 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 09:04 AM
  2. Wifi, windows XP, frodoplayer
    By omehegan in forum FrodoPlayer
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 06:14 PM
  3. windows 2000, xp and EPIA 800
    By samc in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-24-2003, 09:41 PM
  4. Hibernate - Windows XP v Windows ME
    By captain_jim1 in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-2003, 06:53 PM
  5. Windows XP
    By bjm2020 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-22-2003, 03:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •