Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AHHH I'm going out of my mind!

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    224

    Post AHHH I'm going out of my mind!

    I was trying to fix some of the sizing of that website I was talking about before. www.bigdogcustomclubs.com

    Now it looks MESSED UP in netscape..... please help!!!!!!!!!
    -+[MP3PC]+-

  2. #2
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH USA
    Posts
    694

    Post

    Everything looks like crap in Netscape! LOL I know how you feel, I hate trying to design websites for IE, Netscape, and others. Designing for IE is no problem, but once you have it right for IE you look at it with Netscape and EWWWWWW!! I'm just glad that most people use IE! If I had Netscape I would look at it and help. Sorry.

    [ 08-30-2001: Message edited by: Maveric ]
    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/Maveric/ M.A.V.I.C. System
    Asus MB, PII 266, 192 MB Ram, 6.8" LCD, 6 Disk CD-ROM, 21 Gig HD, All-in-Wonder Video w/ TV Tuner, Irman, Windows ME, Winamp, Cobra III -- All in a custom acrylic case.

    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/listings/ MP3car Listings - Please add to it! :)

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate Raas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    626

    Post

    What software are you using to build the sites?

    Maybe you could use macromedia's dreamweaver to design your site's. I think it's the best to build a website.

    This way you're good to go on Netscap, IE, and the less popular.

    There is even an option in it to check wheter it's 'compatible' wit both Netscape and IE.

    Happy building..

    Greetz..
    Raas - The Netherlands
    ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
    GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

  4. #4
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Posts
    1,436

    Post

    ewww.... dreamweaver..... makes the code too bloated.... I prefer using Homesite 4.5 and building the pages the old fashioned way... by hand!

    Anyway I do alot of work with ASP/PHP so dreamweaver is no good for that anyway...
    Project - GAME OVER :(

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Pgh, PA
    Posts
    224

    Post

    I use a cross between FP 2000 and dreamweaver Ultradev. This is driving me crazy......
    -+[MP3PC]+-

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate Raas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    626

    Post

    Yeah, FP does add alot off Bull**** in the pages (which is comment).

    Magnetik, what do you mean by bloated ??
    It doesn't add extra junk to the source, does it ?

    In the beginning dreamweaver wasn't that easy to use, but I managed to learn, and it really does the job.
    BTW.. Homesite is also on the dreamweaver cd, you can use it In dreamweaver...

    At least you're safe you pages look the same way in Netscape as the did in IE .(with a little exeption.. the layers don't behave exactly like in IE, but hardly anyone notices that.)

    Greetz
    Raas - The Netherlands
    ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
    GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

  7. #7
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Posts
    1,436

    Post

    Originally posted by Raas:
    <STRONG>Magnetik, what do you mean by bloated ??
    It doesn't add extra junk to the source, does it ?</STRONG>
    any HTML editor that uses WYSIWYG is never going to give great HTML. you will always end up with funny table tags, style tags, etc.

    And also dreamweaver makes usage of layers in some areas.... if you trying to code for a cross section of browsers you DONT use layers!

    I think IE is a far better browser, microsoft did get it right and did win the browser war... for now. But ppl still use Netscape/Opera and other browsers.. either out of choice or since they run linux/another OS.

    Where I work we are continually developing a database driven web content management web site system.... it needs to function in basically every broswer and that means good quality - non-layered HTML...
    Project - GAME OVER :(

  8. #8
    Mark_Muyskens
    Guest

    Post

    i use alot of notepad. looks great in ie and netscape but a kick in the butt to use.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •