Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Box Size Dimension ? Lanzar not helping me !!

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    23

    Arrow Box Size Dimension ? Lanzar not helping me !!

    hi , ive tried 2 contact lanzar dealers
    quite a few times !
    they are eiter very busy or unable to help me!

    iv got the specs that came with the subs
    2x 12" Lanzar Dc 450W RMS subs

    now i wana build the box ..sealed = x abt of Db (2Cu box)
    vented = x +3 Db (4Cu box)
    but i dont quite have the space to put a 4cu box in ..
    i want 2 b able 2 c outa my rear window

    who has got some insight of what i can try
    also ,is is dangerous to put amps' in a sealed locatiuon ,ie make the instalation look nice
    If its 2 loud ur Old ,;-)

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4

    Post

    Well, don't be greedy??? Use one sub??? At the low frequencies, you don't really need 2 speakers, (left and right), because, you wouldn't even be able to hear the difference between the two..

  3. #3
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Posts
    1,436

    Post

    Originally posted by SkinnyBoy:
    <STRONG>Well, don't be greedy??? Use one sub??? At the low frequencies, you don't really need 2 speakers, (left and right), because, you wouldn't even be able to hear the difference between the two..</STRONG>
    your missing the point. 2 subs will push more air than one sub thus givin a greater "thump". X-treme, maybe try downloading a few of the good sub enclosure programs on the internet and plug in the figures of the subs..... see what volumes you come up with.

    I must admit its a huge problem in the car environment... my twin 10Inch JL's are in a very small enclosure smaller than the optimal volume but still within the the lower/upper volume that JL audio suggest.

    I used BlauBox to work out my sub volumes.... plug in the values, spits out the volume and the approx freq curve... if you cant find it on the net, send me an e-mail and I will forward it on....and
    Project - GAME OVER :(

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    183

    Post

    You could also use an isobaric enclosure. I don't have the calculations to work out the enclosure volume but I'm sure they are available on the net. An isobaric enclosure uses the two speakers as one (they are separated by a very small volume of air inside the box so they move as one) and will allow you to have about half the box volume required for a single speaker and still get the same frequency response. The down side is that it will be harder to build and it will cost you the 3dB of extra SPL you would have obtained by using two speakers in the normal sealed or ported enclosure. However using two speaker doubles the power that the you can use so I wouldnt worry about 3dB if space is tight.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4

    Post

    Yeah, thats another possibility, I didn't think of that one, but I know what your talking about..

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4

    Post

    I think you can have too loud... I went to an Australian electronics shop called Jaycar, and they had an isobaric speaker setup in a small room, (not in the main part of the shop), and they were demonstrating it to someone, and it was soooo loud, that I,(from about 20meters away, and in a different room), could hardly even hear what my dad was yelling to me.. I personally think that one good quality sub would be enough..
    If you wanna check one of these out, look at this...

    The website, if you want to buy one, (dare I suggest it), then go to www.jaycar.com.au and then search for part number .... It doesn't have a part number?? ohh well....

    The kit costs $560 Australian and comes with 2 subs, the box in knockdown form and a 65wrms amp, (a bit weak, I know, but for $120 more you can get the 150wrms amp.. The amps are the type that mount in the back of the case, so, there is already a hole in the back for it, so, this kit wouldn't be sutiably for in the car..

    [ 09-19-2001: Message edited by: SkinnyBoy ]

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    4

    Post

    Sorry for replying to my own posts, but I found an article in an Electronics Australia Mag about the isobarik kit sold by jaycar, I scanned the pictures, and have uploaded them, here they are...

    web page

    It seems good, and only uses cheapish subwoofers.. in my opinion.. What do you think??
    Sorry if the site takes a long time to load, its got 1meg of pictures.. not that bad??

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    23

    Thumbs up

    verry nice !!
    ive worked it out using blaubox
    ive got enough space to install a 2.5Cu
    sealed box , in my cab.. but im still looking 2 c wheteher i can maybe use a beter box enclosure !
    thnx alot 4 ur input isobaric box's
    im checkin it out !
    If its 2 loud ur Old ,;-)

  9. #9
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Sydney NSW Australia
    Posts
    581

    Post

    Originally posted by SkinnyBoy:
    <STRONG>I think you can have too loud... I went to an Australian electronics shop called Jaycar, and they had an isobaric speaker setup in a small room, (not in the main part of the shop), and they were demonstrating it to someone, and it was soooo loud, that I,(from about 20meters away, and in a different room), could hardly even hear what my dad was yelling to me.. I personally think that one good quality sub would be enough..
    If you wanna check one of these out, look at this...
    The website, if you want to buy one, (dare I suggest it), then go to www.jaycar.com.au and then search for part number .... It doesn't have a part number?? ohh well....

    The kit costs $560 Australian and comes with 2 subs, the box in knockdown form and a 65wrms amp, (a bit weak, I know, but for $120 more you can get the 150wrms amp.. The amps are the type that mount in the back of the case, so, there is already a hole in the back for it, so, this kit wouldn't be sutiably for in the car..

    [ 09-19-2001: Message edited by: SkinnyBoy ]</STRONG>
    Dude get a car first install a system then come and make comments about it!
    I just cant stand when people talk about something they have no idea about!
    Fosgate

    System Comp V3 - In progress.
    Low power MB with C7 CPU, DC-DC PSU, car ECU link, USB TV, GPS, 7" TFT, Wireless, Voice.

  10. #10
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Posts
    1,436

    Post

    Originally posted by Fosgate:
    <STRONG>
    Dude get a car first install a system then come and make comments about it!
    I just cant stand when people talk about something they have no idea about!</STRONG>
    I agree fully, im getting sick of his **** and "I need to throw in my opinion" attitude....., he is givin guys like you and me in Oz a bad name!



    X-treme, if this is your first subbox enclosure forget going for an isobaric as suggested..... stick with a sealed enclosure, since it will be smaller in size and less forgiving to dimensions.... screw up a ported/isobaric/bandpass enclosure and not only will it sound crappy but you may damage your subs due to incorrect air pressure around the subs.....

    i have always stuck to sealed enclosures with my installs and have been more than happy...... saves the heartache and stress of designing/building a more advanced box design....
    Project - GAME OVER :(

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •