Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: 2 hard drives in 2 years...

  1. #11
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    292

    Post

    I'm getting pretty ****ed.

    I've had no HD or CPU problems. But first I had a BookPC which arrived with busted ethernet. I exchanged it. Got it back and it worked great for a while, then the tv-out died without explanation or warning but it worked fine otherwise.

    So I got an MS-6215. Works great for a month. Now windows gives serious msgrvfr rundll32 etc errors, and suggests I reinstall.
    Reformatting and reinstalling gives the same errors so it can't even do post-install setup.

    Disabling all onboard components that I can, same result.

    Really friggin tired of this.

    If I were just doing mp3s, at this point I'd just buy a damn empeg or something rather than dealing with flaky solid state circuitry. But I like CoPilot 2001 and haven't seen anything else, that's third party (i.e. doesn't come with car) that compares and I don't want to give it up.

    Argh.
    If I have to build a new system, I think it'll be with a fullsize mobo, and PCI cards for everything.

    I'm SICK of this crap.
    Player: Celeron II 633MHz, 256MB RAM, 20GB IBM 9mm 2.5" Laptop HD (180G/2ms), onboard ethernet/sound/video/tvout, 10"11"x3" case, MPBS1 70W DC-DC PS w/auto-shutdown controller, in-dash lighted switches, 7" NTSC TFT widescreen in-dash LCD, touchscreen, rear-window brake light installed Garmin GPS35 GPS, credit card sized IR remote w/IRMan, mini-wireless keyboard/mouse (sits under seat), PowerMate black knob, MP3s and GPS Navigation (Winamp, CoPilot, SA8.0).
    Car: 1993 Nissan Maxima, Black Emerald

  2. #12
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    Despite the size issues, I have to agree that cards and non intergrated motherboards are the way to go, after my bookpc fiasco.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  3. #13
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    292

    Post

    Alright, I found the problem. It was a DIMM starting to go bad.

    The DIMM used to be fine, I had made sure to reseat it in case it came lose.

    But it's behavior indicated some other problem, as it would always fail while probing for devices.

    But I tried installing Win2k and got a data corruption error on loading the setup program for Win2k, and then at a different point next try. The change in the times it happened and that it happened when so little of the machine was being used (no device probing being done), made me try putting in a new DIMM..

    and now it works

    *sigh*
    Player: Celeron II 633MHz, 256MB RAM, 20GB IBM 9mm 2.5" Laptop HD (180G/2ms), onboard ethernet/sound/video/tvout, 10"11"x3" case, MPBS1 70W DC-DC PS w/auto-shutdown controller, in-dash lighted switches, 7" NTSC TFT widescreen in-dash LCD, touchscreen, rear-window brake light installed Garmin GPS35 GPS, credit card sized IR remote w/IRMan, mini-wireless keyboard/mouse (sits under seat), PowerMate black knob, MP3s and GPS Navigation (Winamp, CoPilot, SA8.0).
    Car: 1993 Nissan Maxima, Black Emerald

  4. #14
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    At least memory is cheap.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  5. #15
    Retired Admin Aaron Cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,464

    Post

    Originally posted by Charles Enwesi:
    <STRONG>If mounted properly, NO HD should go back unless it is defective. Take it from me, if you do it correctly, it wont die.</STRONG>
    Then why have I had to replace 2 HDs before I got my laptop HD? Of course, I am assuming I mounted in correctly...
    Player: Pentium 166MMX, Amptron 598LMR MB w/onboard Sound, Video, LAN, 10.2 Gig Fujitsu Laptop HD, Arise 865 DC-DC Converter, Lexan Case, Custom Software w/Voice Interface, MS Access Based Playlists
    Car: 1986 Mazda RX-7 Turbo (highly modded), 1978 RX-7 Beater (Dead, parting out), 2001 Honda Insight
    "If one more body-kitted, cut-spring-lowered, farty-exhausted Civic revs on me at an intersection, I swear I'm going to get out of my car and cram their ridiculous double-decker aluminium wing firmly up their rump."

  6. #16
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
    Posts
    1,311

    Talking

    lol.... Like i said. Take a look at mine and u will see we both have two diff mounts for HD or what ever u want to call it. If you really understand mine and what i did, it will all make sense. Mind you that this is my 3rd box and I have never had my HD died on me. My mounting is based off my first prototype. It took 3 tries to and 2 DEAD HD to get it right. I will guarantee anyone out here if you do it like i did mine, it will NOT die on you. If it works in a Mustang, i see no reason why it shouldn't work on ANY car out there. On a side note, I too have a laptop HD that suddenly died not to mention that these things were built to take the beaten Can someone explain that to me and before someone says it was defective, nope.
    abcd-1
    Author of CobraI,II,III and now CobraIV.
    You can contact me on AOL instant messenger....nick is cenwesi or cenwesi3

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •